Find companies:
University of Alabama
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
104 reviews

University of Alabama Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and helpful environment for postdocs
Postdoctoral Researcher (Current Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALSeptember 11, 2014
I have enjoyed my work at the university. The faculty and staff that I work with are very supportive and helpful. I have been exposed to many research and teaching opportunities, which are very important for my career development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and collaborative culture
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALAugust 14, 2014
The University seeks to further scholarship and promote an atmosphere of learning inside and outside the classroom.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but rewarding
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALAugust 5, 2014
Pros: flexible work hours
Cons: nothing major
Graduate school has been a challenging feat but it has also been rather rewarding. The hardest part of my job was establishing a work/life balance. Overall, I truly have enjoyed my graduate school experiences. By pursuing a doctoral degree, I was finally able to devote my effort towards a subject that has really been interesting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Easy Job
Computer Technical Support (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALAugust 1, 2014
I was required to sit at my desk and answer the phone as teachers would find problems with their computers or projectors. I would then troubleshoot with them and try to get it working or go to the room myself and take a look in extreme cases. I was also responsible for checking equipment in all of the rooms during the summers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Computer Lab Monitor (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALJuly 15, 2014
wipe down a few desk, help a few people, finish your homework for pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment
Volunteer Assistant Soccer Coach (Current Employee), TuscaloosaMay 14, 2014
Overall, the learning experience has been very beneficial and has given me tools to work anywhere. The staff were always available and gave continuous guidance to enhance my knowledge and experiences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Research Student (Current Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALMay 14, 2014
Loved my job. Great people. Learned a lot about engineering. Fantastic experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Job
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALMay 6, 2014
• Delivered and installed office furniture to various buildings in the Tuscaloosa area
• Read blueprints and installed furniture for entire new school building projects
• Worked with a team to accomplish jobs and tasks over a course of different projects
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture
Assistant Community Director (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALApril 22, 2014
Pros: great benefits, great culture, beautiful campus
Great university culture. Students are generally great. Staff was great in Housing and cared about work/life balance. As a graduate assistant, I really knew my supervisor and others cared about my education and allowed me a flexible schedule to make sure all academics were first.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Please see my other review of UA
Part-time Teaching Instructor (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALApril 18, 2014
If you have to be a grad. assistant somewhere, UA is a great place to be one!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
IAC Center Coordinator (Current Employee), Mechanical Engineering DepartmentApril 15, 2014
Conduct planning, organizing, scheduling for energy audits at industrial manufacturing facilities in accordance with U.S. Department of Energy regulations. Attend on site assessments and oversee student workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I've learned alot
Bulk Mail Specialist (Current Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALApril 8, 2014
I have for sure learned a lot while working at the UA. Co workers are great. Management is awful mainly the reason I'm seeking a new job. The job is not hard it does require heavy lifting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job
Adjunct Professor - Journalism (Current Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALApril 3, 2014
Pros: a typical day at work, what you learned management, your co-workers the hardest part of the job the most enjoyable part of the job
Cons: a typical day at work, what you learned management, your co-workers the hardest part of the job the most enjoyable part of the job
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to pay for textbooks and build your resume
Community Fellow (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALMarch 30, 2014
Pros: free fun events, flexible hours
Cons: low pay
Fun place to work, but student positions do not pay much financially speaking. You are mainly paid via resume building.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent student job.
Financial Associate (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALMarch 11, 2014
Loved it as a student.
Loved my co-workers.
Gameday activities on the quad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing workplace
Desk Assistant (Current Employee), Huntsville, ALMarch 6, 2014
Pros: flexible hours.
Cons: no job security
Time at work depended on shift but overall the experience was what you made it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
university
Research Site Coordinator (Former Employee), tuscaloosa, alMarch 6, 2014
Completed research study with care givers and recipients aged 60+
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience!
Faculty Assistant, Assistant Curator (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALMarch 5, 2014
Pros: working with the professor.
Cons: low pay.
You get to work closely with a professor and learn the basics of your field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University a decent place to work
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALFebruary 24, 2014
The University of Alabama Physics Department was a decent place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work where there is never a dull moment
Football Student Manager (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALFebruary 18, 2014
Being a football student manager is the best job one can have while attending college. Yes, it does fill up your schedule. It also does not leave much free time while in-season, but it is very enjoyable and interesting for anyone who loves sports. Although our work went unnoticed by most, it was a privilege to be able to work with such an outstanding – more... organization. I was able to develop strong friendships with many of my diverse co-workers, and we always found ways to have a good time while remaining hard at work. I guess one of the hardest parts of the job was not getting to go home as much as other students, and remaining on campus over several of the breaks. Although, I will admit this was a fair trade while winning championships. I would say that one of my personal favorite parts of the job was being able to travel with the team to various college towns and experience differing game day atmospheres. I would definitely recommend this job for anyone that has a passion for college football. Roll Tide! – less

1 2 3 4 5

About University of Alabama

The University of Alabama (UA) is a public research university located in Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA, and the flagship of the University – Read more