University of Alabama Employee Reviews

Showing all 234 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALJune 19, 2017
Very simple and laidback. Customers were sweet here and there! Co-workers was easy to get along with. Nice workplace had all different kinds of fun things to sell! Very low salary
Pros
Bring own drinking water
Cons
Standing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviroment to work part time as a student
Student Video Editor/Writer (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALJune 16, 2017
Manage is nice in Shipping and Receiving

Not a real demanding job except when its time to check inventory

Flexible hours for students

Can move up and switch departments
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for any student
Call Center Representative (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALJune 16, 2017
Great job for any undergrad student looking to make some extra money. Flexible with work hours and gives you opportunity to have some extra study time if it a slow night.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great educational opportunity and place of employment
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALJune 16, 2017
I enjoyed both taking classes and working for the American Studies department at the university of Alabama. The faculty were outstanding and the work environment was positive.
Pros
Opportunity to teach college courses
Cons
temporary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardest Job
Clinical Faculty (Current Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALJune 14, 2017
Because one works semester by semester, there is some gap between sessions in which you have to get ready for the next semester. There is never enough time and the expectations are often unreasonable. Low pay. New management - let's see.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work
Lead Radiation Therapist (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJune 5, 2017
Good. Staff worked together to get all pt's treated in a timely manner. However, upper management was focused on pt through put rather than quality and safety.
Pros
Good
Cons
Good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of opportunities
College Fair Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALMay 29, 2017
4 year public university with hundreds of different positions. Good place to work. Typical college campus experience no matter the job you end up working.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive staff
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALMay 23, 2017
There are many resources at The University of Alabama available in order to support the staff. The guidelines are very clear, and employees are expected to follow them. Any questions or need for support are answered immediately.
Pros
Lots of support available
Cons
Healthcare, salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment but not ,much room to move up.
CS Grader (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALMay 19, 2017
I loved working here for the time I did. It was really fun work and I loved the people I worked with. However, there was little to no room to move up and you took work home with you every day.
Pros
people, work environment
Cons
take work home, benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning experience
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALMay 18, 2017
Alabama's Biology department is very good and well balanced. My adviser was great and really cared about what her students were learning in the lab, as well as making sure projects were done on time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Resident Advisor (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALMay 16, 2017
It was a job while I was in school and I enjoyed my time. The staff is fun to work with and you will make great friends. As with anything, there were seriously lacking areas of efficiency.
Pros
free housing
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Teacher Assitant (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALMay 12, 2017
As a Grad student, this was the perfect place for me to learn and earn money. I enjoyed working with the professors and learning from them. Being allowed the opportunity to lead class discussions allowed me to understand the undergraduate experience better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic University
Athletic Training Student (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALMay 11, 2017
Great school for both students and staff members. Professors were awesome and the campus is absolutely gorgeous. The athletics atmosphere helps put it all over the top.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the most inviting environment
Psychology Intern (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALMay 9, 2017
With responsibilities that were limited to research assistant and intern, advancement was not possible. Ideas were shot down and my role was relegated to merely clerical efforts. However, as an intern, I believe this to be an intrinsic aspect of the job. The experience in the academic setting was invaluable as a student, however.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Major Research University
Engineering Instructor (Current Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALMay 9, 2017
Southern culture, killer athletics and a beautify up to date campus. Expected to provide a service component in addition to full time teaching load. Mandatory annual training from HR for issues like conformance to federal employment and non-discrimination laws.
Pros
Championship Football
Cons
Cannot think of one.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University of Alabama
Information Systems Specialist I (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMay 3, 2017
Typical day at work: support and programming
what you learned:Lots of new things on about computer repairs
management: Good
workplace culture: well organized place, individual offices
Hardest job-lifting computers
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun way to keep learning
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALApril 27, 2017
Being a TA, you are able to brush up on some old skills, improve your public speaking, and get a feel for teaching. Definitely recommend for anyone that wants to teach later in life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A flexible and friendly environment
Math Tutor (Current Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALApril 27, 2017
The job was really flexible with my school schedule and gave me a decent amount of hours. If you wanted less or more hours, just talk to the manager and they will see what they can do for you.
Pros
Nice environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student employee
Assistant Building Representative (Current Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALApril 24, 2017
i like working here, but i was a student so that was my first priority. Student employees get paid the same thing and can only work a certain amount of hours per week. Just something to do with my time and make extra money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Convenient place to work for students.
Computer Lab Monitor (Current Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALApril 17, 2017
I have enjoyed each setting I have worked in at The University of Alabama. The hours are good and the employers are usually willing to work around students' schedules.
Pros
School Holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Alabama. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 234 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.1
Culture
4.2