Find companies:
University of Alabama
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
103 reviews

University of Alabama Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work.
Tutor (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALMay 7, 2013
Nice place to work. Easy schedule at the CAS. Hourly wage isn't great, but you have quite a few no-shows, so you can study while being paid a little.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-Time Assistant
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALApril 22, 2013
Part-time work as a research assistant. Interesting work that provided a small living for college without being too time demanding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful environment especially because of the residents
Desk Assistant (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALApril 15, 2013
Pros: great college job
Cons: no cons
Working as a Desk Assistant was fun because I provided freshman residents with resources.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Assistant
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALApril 12, 2013
This opportunity helped me to learn research tools for my PhD.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a job while in school
Program Assistant (Current Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALApril 11, 2013
Good flexible job for while a student is in school, minimal pay, good for extra cash for weekends
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Director of Photography (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALApril 8, 2013
I learned so much and enjoyed my experience there. I wouldn't have traded it for anything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Event Staff (Former Employee), ALApril 1, 2013
Pros: get in games free
Cons: short breaks
securing the game field was the most fun i had working meeting players, i learned alot about security and the mangers where helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Program Assistant (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALMarch 26, 2013
Loved working here it was a great place to work however they went out of business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Landscaper (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALMarch 21, 2013
Gave me the experiene of working in a warehouse and using different equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work.
Assistant (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALMarch 16, 2013
I enjoyed working at The University of Alabama. I love working in a higher education environment because every day there is something new and different happening. I enjoy interacting with students and administrators on a daily basis. The hardest part of the jobs comes during the busiest periods of the school year, which can be a little stressful but – more... it is never unbearable. The best part is the job environment because there is never a dull moment working with students so you will not get bored. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment with great people. Easy to learn and grow.
Strength and Conditioning Intern/Coach (Current Employee), Tuscaloosa, AlMarch 7, 2013
This is a great place to learn strength and conditioning. They have a master strength coach on staff to learn from which is a great opportunity in itself. Just enjoying the team atmosphere, staff and the players.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers and appreciative supervisors
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: good salary for that time and i had faculty status
Cons: this was a temporary position
I really liked this job because I was able to use all of my skills, especially organizational skills. I also felt that my contributions were valuable to project.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work enviornment depends...Pay is awful
Office Associate II (Current Employee), TuscaloosaFebruary 27, 2013
Pros: job security. after 6 month trial period, it is almost impossible to get fired.
Cons: pay and insurance benefits and you have to pay to park.
I work at the main campus as an Office Associate. The pay is awful. You have to pay to park. Retirement is good but they take out 7.5% of your already low salary. Prescription drugs are expensive.

It depends who you work for and in what department for your work enviornment. Some professors can be very cruel. Think Sheldon Cooper. However, some professors – more... can be wonderful to work for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a very fun place to work!
Stock Room Assistant (Current Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALJanuary 22, 2013
Working in the stockroom is very enjoyable. The most enjoyable part is the fact that I'm able to meet new people everyday. My co-workers are also very sweet people. I feel like my supervisor has a very open relationship with her employees and insures us that we can talk to her about anything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice, modern equipment
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALJanuary 9, 2013
I worked with concrete samples containing carbon nanotubes or various types of flyash. I mixed the samples and tested them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational Job
Student Research Assistant (Current Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALJanuary 4, 2013
Worked in a lab producing copper insoles for reaserch. I learned how to work alone and troubleshoot problems that I encountered.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Analyst Review
Research Analyst, Writer (Current Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALDecember 24, 2012
Weelky meetings with faculty sponsor discussing orders of business
Learned how to manage multiple responsibilities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Energetic Workplace
Desk Assistant - Paty Hall (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALDecember 13, 2012
A great place to work with people of all ages and backgrounds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment, constantly in need of reports and data
Business Object Developer/Lead (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALNovember 21, 2012
This environment was extremely fast paced. My team and I were constantly generating reports and data.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for composite materials research
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALNovember 1, 2012
Very relaxed environment with a complete freedom to conduct your research. Excellent faculty in composite materials field conducting cutting edge research.

About University of Alabama

The University of Alabama (UA) is a public research university located in Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA, and the flagship of the University – Read more