University of Alaska Employee Reviews

Showing all 29 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to give back to nursing
Adjunct Nursing Professor (Current Employee) –  Anchorage, AKMarch 9, 2017
Working as adjunct has allowed me to work full-time but also give back to the nursing profession by teaching new students. Excellent university to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee) –  onlineMarch 7, 2017
I worked as an adjunct professor for five years teaching courses online. Management was very supportive and accommodated my work/life balance. I recommend the University of Alaska.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Clients
UAF Term Instructor (Former Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKFebruary 8, 2017
Enjoyed overall my experiences and the students were great. I would accept an opportunity to work there again. Also there are an endless amount of on campus activities.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive administration, opportunity to advance, ethical and culturally diverse.
Adjunct Faculty (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 17, 2016
It is a privilege to have the opportunity to teach in Alaska. Administration has always been supportive and appreciative. The chance to assist students in their educational endeavors is indeed an honor and one I take very seriously. My colleagues and my students are from diverse backgrounds and it is exciting to have the opportunity to learn along with them and is one of the enjoyable parts of the job. I dislike having to be in the awkward position of giving a student a poor grade but I always try to work with the student to avoid that situation if possible.
Pros
I work with great people who are intent on learning.
Cons
Not anything worth mentioning.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Live where you work, work you live.
Student Caller (Former Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKJuly 9, 2016
Depending on the job, you can find yourself very happy, very stressed, or a mix of both.

As a student caller, I worked later in the evenings for five days out of the week. This fit my class schedule well, and hours were flexible; I simply chose to work every day I could. My boss was personable, my coworkers well-adjusted, and the job manageable. Some nights would be like a rock concert, callers picking up donations left and right, while other times it would be slower than a snail in molasses. Those days get rough, but the management never put too much pressure on us, and was always friendly.

With Residence Life as a Resident Assistant, I found myself overwhelmed. It's a make or break situation, and it all depends on your RD. If you're looking to work here within the next couple of years, and the RD's haven't changed too much, get Erica Hunt as your supervisor. Request her specifically. She is a bubbly, fantastic woman to work with, extremely supportive emotionally and very real. The major issue I had working there was the level of moral policing that some of my coworker's chose to enforce, to a point where a college experience was borderline impossible for some other residents. Alongside that, living where you work, and working where you live can be extremely stressful. There feels like there's no real place to escape it.
Pros
Majority of people are friendly, free food
Cons
Stress, Negative authority figures at times
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uas
Computing Help Desk Technician (Former Employee) –  Juneau, AKJune 6, 2016
Great working environment. The office culture is great and the work balance is almost perfect. Wages are competitive with great benefits. .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mis-informed
Fiscal Professional 2 (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKSeptember 16, 2015
Relocated to another State, given impression I could tele-commute then when date came, HR, Supervisor agreed, however Director refused.
Pros
Flexible schedule, independence
Cons
Ethics of Management
Was this review helpful?Yes13No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional place to work with great helpful and inspiring people.
Research Assistant/Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKJune 20, 2015
Scientific writing, statistical analysis, lesson planning, lecture preparation, developing standard operating procedures.
Pros
Freedom to develop own curriculum
Cons
No healthcare or advancing opportunities as an adjunct
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for technology.
Audio and Video IT Specialist (Former Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKMarch 10, 2015
Typically we discussed the future plans for upgraded video capable classrooms with campus/department directors and/or professors about what they wanted in their classrooms to communciate to the other campuses. then design and install the system and trouble shoot problems with other systems & users.

I learned much about broadacast, closed networks, GUIs, and AV equipment.

Aside from the disparagement from inept (possibly insecure) management we were in charge of the wonderfully complicated upgrading of web based A/V smart systems statewide. The primary environment left little to be enjoyed. Maltreatment of staff (I witnessed more than suffered from) made the overall office demeanor poor. So this was the management and hardest part of job to tolerate.

I loved the challenging technologically on the edge class room builds.
Pros
technology A/V equip
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes8No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review my day at work
Student Tutor (Current Employee) –  Anchorage, AKFebruary 27, 2015
Sometimes my day I have many people asking for help with math, english , or to just fax their scholarship. Another day I would be setting up a table for scholarship day and helping students get information to apply for a scholarship.
Pros
Good job
Cons
nonr
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
some billing issues with timely payment
Contracted American Sign Language Interpreter (Current Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKFebruary 24, 2015
Overall cooperative with providing accommodations and materials to keep up with the clients learning needs, however, no paid parking or administrative access to the students area of interpretation ( temporary door entrance swipe cards)
Pros
not overwhelming
Cons
inconsistent payment of agreed compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKFebruary 13, 2015
Very top heavy in all areas. Facing major cutbacks in 2015.
People are great to work with until they realize they can't be fired. Typical government agency. Job beats the caring out of people.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great job and a lot of great people and interesting work.
Computer Operator/Programmer (Former Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKNovember 12, 2014
The U of A was the best job I had every held both the supervisor staff and other employees were hard working but easy to get along with. When I became ill in 1972 I hated to quit my job. I was able to return to my job when we thought I was one again healthy, but after 2 month my health once again took a turn for the worst and I had to retire on a more permanent basis. I am looking for a part time job that does not require a lot of physical strength, I can and love working with the public and can use a computer and typing skills are okay.
Pros
Free collage education as long as you worked 40 hours a week.
Cons
I really did not find any negative thing about working for the UofA
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Instructor
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKSeptember 16, 2014
● Taught Beginning Painting Technique
● Created and taught a college level painting class for BFA students
● Provided feedback and graded students on performance
Was this review helpful?Yes3No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro managers and issues with ships systems
Ship's Electrician (Current Employee) –  Various its a ship, HQ in FairbanksAugust 28, 2014
Most managers are either absent or are so focussed that micro manager is more apt. Ship was delivered a year late and was still not ready to sail IMHO. NSF is pushing ship towards funded science which is understandable as budget is almost depleted, but severe doubts as to whether systems will support science without interuption.
Pros
New Ship
Cons
New Ship
Was this review helpful?Yes12No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Student (Current Employee) –  Anchorage, AKAugust 5, 2014
Great school. Great faculty. Very knowledgable especially in the business realm. Hated to leave but forced to relocate.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was ok place to work
Head Hockey Coach (Former Employee) –  Fairbanks AlaskaMay 15, 2014
very different culture
very extreme enviroment
Enjoyed experience in Alaska
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Ketchikan, AKMay 8, 2014
A step above all employers, very set back in Ketchikan, Alaska and easy going staff.
Pros
Limited Supervision
Cons
Must Fly Out or Boat Out of Ketchikan, Alaska
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easily manageable and enjoyable workload.
Computer Lab Aid (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKMay 7, 2014
I enjoyed working as a computer lab aid as it was a first step into the career field I desire. I was in charge of maintaining the computer and network systems of three separate classrooms at the University of Alaska, Anchorage and ensuring that they were all fully functional for daily classroom usage. This position allowed me to apply the information that I had received in my classes toward on-the-job tasks of maintenance and troubleshooting. I was the only lab aid during the year that I was employed, but I was given excellent guidance by my supervisors, which were the professors of the university. The hardest part of my job was also the most enjoyable part of my job, which was to try and discover methods of fixing issues in the classroom networks on my own. This allowed me to be more independent in my work and helped me to become more confident in my abilities to solve problems on my own, knowing that I had support from my supervisors if I truly needed it.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provide good work-life balance
Current employee - will not reveal at this time (Current Employee) –  SitkaJanuary 17, 2014
This can be a great place to work, especially if they don't require you to live in Sitka. However the current director does require living in Sitka and it's very expensive here, especially for food and gas.

The current director needs to be willing to be more confrontational regarding issues faced by employees and this campus of the University of Alaska. The campus is governed by the Juneau main campus and frequently technological issues are not the same between the two campuses, but are still decided by Juneau, which does not work.

The people here are great, but there is a lot of favoritism. Be careful, your supervisor may be a supervisor in name only. Also, whatever UAF is doing is what most of the campuses will be doing. If you want to be creative and use out of the box tools/methods this is not the place for you.

The pros for working here do not outweigh the cons!
Pros
work/live balance options, allows flexible start and end times
Cons
no place for creative innovation, favorite employees tend to run departments instead of supervisors, difficult and expensive leave the island, expensive to live here
Was this review helpful?Yes9No6Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Alaska. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 29 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
4.0