Find companies:
University of Arizona
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
83 reviews

University of Arizona Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly workplace
Cashier/Food Service (Former Employee), Tucson, AzOctober 15, 2013
Works well with your other schedules for classes and personal life, workplace was also very organized and fun and management was nice and helpful as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am ready to move out of Tucson, I am a native
Journeyman HVAC Mechanic (Former Employee), Tucson, AZOctober 13, 2013
Pros: i worked at many sports games at mckale center and arizona stadium
Cons: the pay in arizona being a right to work state is low
The U of A provided excellent benefits,health insurance,403B plans.I was able to provide my daughter to a degree with very low out of pocket expense. The U of A has the largest chill-water system in the world. Along with 14 miles of utilities tunnels housing chillwater,steam,electrical (13,888 to 4160 to 460 ) and high-tech fiber optics. I really enjoyed – more... working there and decided to retire and find a job working close to the ocean which I love. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not to great
Admissions Call Center Representative (Former Employee), tucson, azOctober 11, 2013
used to be a good place to work. Huge power struggle, managers and supervisors are bullies and don't care about student workers. Horrible working environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good research work
Assistant Research Professor (Current Employee), Tucson AZOctober 9, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: have to make an efforts to get new funds
There are many chances to learn new optical technologies and study more new field interested.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Student Shelver (Former Employee), Tucson, AZOctober 3, 2013
good place to work, meeting me people from different cultures, students and faculties
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work, friendly collegues
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Tucson, AZOctober 1, 2013
Its a nice place to work.
•Demonstrated classroom management skills, effective teaching techniques, and the ability to communicate with students to promote a successful student-centered learning environment.
•Taught in multicultural classroom with 25 students with varied levels of English proficiency.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun place to work, with incredibly talented people. A valuable experience indeed
Intern at Dr. Murat Kacira's Laboratory (Former Employee), Tucson, AZSeptember 23, 2013
Pros: valuable experience
Cons: short amount of time available
I spent a lot of time working in the lab conducting experience. I had the opportunity to gain a hand on experience on a variety of project phases and tasks. The management was skilled and experienced. My coworker were outgoing and collaborative. The hardest part of job was the conception process in wish several sciences were involved including chemistry, – more... math, physics and other enginiering skills. The most enjoyable part was the delivery phase of the product – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely no place for international students. Residents of the country you are next
Graduate research assistant (Former Employee), Tucson, AZSeptember 14, 2013
Pros: reputation and ranking of university
Cons: funding, misuse of power and non cooperating professors
A professor can easily be influenced by someone else's opinion.
No interest in motivating or helping students learn. Expect everyone to be having straight A's and absolutely brilliant. Lack of funding can have them all scheming and plotting to find reasons to remove you from a program. Worst people in life sciences department. (Molecular Biology (MCB) – more... and Neurosciences). No work culture exists. Only misuse of power and position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Quite Work Place
Receptionist / Library Assistant (Former Employee), Tucson, AZAugust 29, 2013
Pros: was able to work around school schedule, great management
Cons: work durning holidays
A typical work day included filing and faxing articles, documents, and books, helping student and staff, and organizing all incoming products. Management was great, I enjoyed interacting with the people on campus and learning the importance of organization is regards to being productive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University which has really good BI faculty
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), TucsonAugust 28, 2013
Learning lots of cool stuff everyday at the University and at the same time get to hang out with a multi cultural student population
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly workers and good job experience.
Concessions Worker (Current Employee), Tucson, AZAugust 16, 2013
Pros: free dinner
Cons: gets busy and hard to remember so many things when people are talking to me all at once.
A typical day at work consists of making sure people get their orders and cleaning up afterwards. I learned how to learn on a curve. Management was nice and helpful and so were my coworkers. The hardest part of the job is having so many people talking at me at once. I really enjoyed talking to my coworkers and interacting with the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great campus job for a creative!
Website Photographer (Former Employee), Tucson, AZAugust 14, 2013
While I was an art & photography double major, the UofA Bookstore website needed a photographer. I was able to work flexible hours and learn new design & photography skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and productive work environment
French 102 and 201 Instructor (Former Employee), Tucson, AZAugust 11, 2013
A typical day at work had me preparing lessons, grading, etc. in the morning in the Graduate Teacher Assistant's shared office. I would then independently teach two sections of French 102 or 201 in the afternoon. I learned a lot about how to manage a classroom and how to make a proper lesson plan; I also had the opportunity to experiment with different – more... modes of technology which in turn, enhanced my lessons. Management and my co-workers were an absolute dream to work with. I learned so much from everybody who worked in the French department; we exchanged and discussed ideas on how to make learning French more applicable and effective for the every student. The hardest part of the job was learning how to prepare for when lessons fell apart. The most enjoyable part of the job was watching the students enjoy learning the French language as well as it's culture. Our program also provided us with a course management system which helped organize grading, quizzes and homework assignments. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work while in school
Various (Former Employee), Tucson, AZAugust 5, 2013
My tenure was very positive and enjoyable as a student. The pay at the time was a little on the small side but it provided good experience to those who were willing to strive for more than just being a caller. Even as a caller, the rapport and networking possibilities are strong positives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would not advise working in this place
Sr. Sous Chef Supervisor of Dining Services (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJuly 17, 2013
Pros: ample staffing
Cons: to many chiefs
You come in highly skilled and leave totally confused as to what is a kitchen.In a must follow recipes enviroment and a slew of chefs presenting each one`s overview of what should be on plates and in kitchens,you lose what the focus on what your job really is.No training for positions are giving contrary to State facility policy and you are left to – more... guess. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative work environment
IPEP, Nurse Leader (Current Employee), Tucson, AZJuly 14, 2013
Pros: amazing team and supervisors
Cons: tedious data collection
Working with pharmacology, medical, and public health students to identify the cause of increased Oxycodone prescriptions with in the past four years at the University of Arizona Medical Center. Using a multimodal approach by looking at pain scale charts, company relations with Oxycodone distributors, nursing perspectives of Oxycodone pain relief, and – more... hospital funding based on patient satisfaction as possible reasons for increased Oxycodone usage. So far we have discovered that Oxycodone does significantly manage pain, nurses prefer to use Oxycodone, and that the UMC does receive extra funding based off of patient satisfaction. What we hope to learn in the coming up semester is who distributes Oxycodone to the UMC and if the UMC receives funding for decreased pain reports. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leaning Experience
IT volunteer (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJune 25, 2013
Volunteering provides access to many opportunities not found elsewhere. I enjoyed every minute of every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced energetic environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJune 24, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: politics
Managed & scheduled events, appointments & department functions with faculty, College, & Campus Community
Maintained liaisons with students interested in the Meyerson Disability Research Project (MDRP) & the School Psychology Program. Monitored & screened calls, answered questions, & follow-up correspondence
Supervised student worker in clerical assignments – more... & ensured tasks were completed in a timely manner
Coordinate travel arrangements & process travel authorizations & expense reports
Processed travel authorizations & expense reports, Check requests, IBFs, Stores Forms
Prepared & compiled hiring paperwork for Graduate Assistants/Associates
Maintained (MDRP) website using Dream weaver software
Coordinated Annual MDRP Student Roundtable Discussion
Maintained Employee Time Records for the MDRP & reported hours to payroll representative
Coordinated Annual Tamara Dembo-Beatrice A. Wright Lecture Session given at the 5th Annual Rehabilitation Psychology Conference
Reconciled SERSP Federal Express Account
Assisted Office Supervisor with reconciling FRS Reports for the state accounts.
Managed database of keys issued (approximately 110) within the department, prepared key authorization requests
Served as alternate payroll representative for the SERSP Department
Performed administrative & secretarial support functions for various Department Administrators, Faculty, & Staff; typed correspondence, scheduled appointments, screened incoming calls & routed to appropriate personnel or department. Arranged meetings & greeted incoming visitors directing them to appropriate department or personnel as needed
Created MDRP Annual Report for distribution to Department Head, College Dean, & Board of Directors of the Meyerson Foundation – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work atmosphere is average
Maintenance Electrician (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJune 20, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: management not professional
longevity in employment, good benefits, and good scenery.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting place to work at.
Custodial Area Supervisor (Current Employee), Tucson, AZJune 17, 2013
Pros: excellent benefits
Working at the University is exciting. There is never a dull moment and being here has taught me to manage my time much more effectively.