Find companies:
University of California Merced
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 reviews

University of California Merced Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational Experience
Undergraduate Research Intern (Former Employee), Merced, CASeptember 8, 2014
A typical day at the University of California, Merced for a undergraduate bioengineer student was enticing. I would regularly develop attended my professors lab room to lend a hand in his research. My professor is involved in combining various imaging modalities to increase the resolution of the images. Members from his lab were each focused on a specific – more... task of the research project from algorithm development to hardware programming. Learning from different lab members, allowed me to grasp a detailed understanding behind noninvasive imaging. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Newest of the University of California campuses!
Administrative Manager II - supervisor (Current Employee), Merced, CAJune 24, 2014
The newest campus in the University of California. Located in the beautiful Central Valley of California. With 6,000 students and growing, this is an excellent campus choice for someone who wants to attend the UC but is concerned about the large campus populations. The campus and town of Merced or close to everything: Snow skiing, hiking, Yosemite, – more... San Francisco, Sacramento, and lots happening in the area! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sports Photographer (Former Employee), Merced, CAMay 28, 2014
Pros: rewarding
I volunteered my spare time to photograph the extracurricular activities on campus and my day included photographing sports. The hardest part of the job was getting the perfect photo and the most enjoyable part was hearing the athletes reactions to my photos of them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21st century research institution
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Merced, CaliforniaMay 18, 2014
Pros: academic environment
Cons: gruelling work schedule for low pay
-State of the art research facilities
-Research institution focused on generating peer reviewed publications
-Opportunities to teach while earning an advanced degree
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience, some issues with growth
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Merced, CANovember 22, 2013
Teaching a college level course is definitely rewarding. UC Merced is a great and friendly campus. However, graduate students are given priority and many teaching assistants remain only temporarily. The University provides great opportunities but may bay experiencing some issues with growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alot of hard work and time spend in a lab environment
Materials Capstone Design (Former Employee), Merced, CAOctober 16, 2013
Typically I would research and synthesize silica
I learned about working in a lab such as safety, troubleshooting experiments, research techniques, different equipment, and just building knowledge talking to other coworkers about their experiments
The management in taught me how to present myself and work in a more professional setting
The hardest part – more... of the job was that I was doing something I was not passionate about
The most enjoyable part of the job was to be constantly working and gaining knowledge – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
funplace to work
Custodian (Former Employee), Merced, CAAugust 26, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: very physical work
I learned how to shampoo carpets, strip and wax floor. Our day was very busy form start to finish. We were assigned to an area and we had to clean from dusting, vacuum, pick up garbage to detail areas where need it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard Tutoring Job
Tutor (Former Employee), Merced, CAJuly 11, 2013
Pros: reinforces material and helps learn new ways to think
Cons: eats into time for classes
A typical day included sitting for my 1-2 hour sessions awaiting students who needed help.

I learned how to think outside of how I was taught.

Management was loose and rather unestablished yet.

I really enjoyed watching how people would think through the steps and find solutions on their own.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fast paced, flexible
Student Assistant (Former Employee), Merced, CAJune 5, 2012
Pros: free drinks
Cons: short breaks
The work place was filled with understanding people that acknowledged multiple cultural values into consideration in the work environment. I learned how to socialize with those purchasing food/snacks while taking on multi-tasking positions of stocking, cleaning, and making sure everything is ready to run. The most enjoyable part was knowing that everyone – more... in the work place understood one another with utmost respect and understanding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable friendly environment. Always something new.
Student Worker (Current Employee), Merced, CAApril 14, 2012
Pros: free food, very fast paced
Cons: short breaks, can be slow sometimes
As a student caterer everyday going to work is something different. There's always different events with new people in different locations. No event is ever the same. I like being able to go into work without having to expect the same thing over and over. It keeps me guessing, wondering what event I'm going to work today. My job consists of preparing – more... for events ahead of time, setting up, sometimes passing to guest, and cleaning up. The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to serve customers and watching them enjoy the food that we were able to put in front of them. – less