University of Charleston Employee Reviews

Showing all 23 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small School
Adjunct Faculty (Former Employee) –  Charleston, WVMay 16, 2017
Small campus and easy access. Supportive faculty member and administration. If you are looking for a large range in courses you will need to find a bigger school though fine for someone interested in a cozy setting.
Pros
Small
Cons
Expensive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The University of Charleston is a small university
Assistant Comptroller (Former Employee) –  Charleston, WVMay 9, 2017
The University of Charleston is a small university with a mediocre reputation. It would benefit from having more students and a larger endowment. While it meets the needs of its students, the quality of education that it provides could be improved.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School hours pretty much busy through semesters not so much summer and holidays
Sous Chef (Former Employee) –  Charleston, WVFebruary 20, 2017
typically fun to work at I work there starting with the University then changed over to AVI. pay so so benefits messed up not very clear as to how to get reimbursed from Dr. visits really confusing.
Pros
easy schedule
Cons
pay, benefits not so good but better than some
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Phonathon Student Caller
Phonathon Student Caller (Former Employee) –  Charleston, WVFebruary 8, 2017
Typical day would consist of making phone calls to friends and alumni. I was in charge of keeping up to date records of their addresses. Also, persuade them into pledging to the university. The most enjoyable part was getting to know how the university used to be during the time that some of the alumni went to college. I learned to deal with people and understand that no everyone is as patients as others. Also, I became more comfortable talking to people that I do not know much about them. The hardest was just being on the phone constantly but I was used to it after awhile.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick and easy!
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Charleston, WV 25304January 25, 2017
Customer service and satisfaction! Hard to please everyone if they are upset with someone else or a different department. The majority of employees are very friendly and helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People.
Intern (Current Employee) –  Charleston, WVJanuary 25, 2017
I was an Intern at the University of Charleston for my school. The people I worked with were great and the management treated me well. If I had the chance I would work there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and Productive
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Charleston, WVJanuary 23, 2017
-Office assistant under the office of the provost/dean of academics
-Learned office setting etiquette
-Learned how to post employee salaries
-Gave employee bonuses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good place to work
Employee (Former Employee) –  Charleston, WVJanuary 3, 2017
Life at University of Charleston is relatively fun.
The managers are great.
My coworkers are caring.
The hardest part of the job is balancing work and life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong and stable private University in the Capital of West Virginia
Provost and Dean of the Faculty (Current Employee) –  Charleston, WVDecember 30, 2016
The University of Charleston is a growing private institution with a blend of face-to-face and online programs. The people are friendly and committed to the success of each student.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily Task and responsibilities
Director of Instructional Technology (Current Employee) –  Charleston, WVSeptember 6, 2016
Daily interaction with faculty, staff and student of the university assisting in technical support of our Moodle Learning Management System which facilitates our online courses. There is a demand for this position to participate in many of the academic committees to offer perspective on many university initiatives and projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Payroll / Benefits Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Charleston, WVAugust 26, 2016
Needs a better relationship between administration and regular employees - pay the employees what they are worth - make sure the pay is considerate with the cost of living and the cost of health insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs (Current Employee) –  Charleston, WVMarch 13, 2016
Excellent place to work. I would recommend to my friends. The President is very efficient and open to suggestions. The staff is very collegial.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but Fun
Work Study/ Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Charleston, WVFebruary 18, 2016
I loved working here because it was always fun working as a team and I loved what I was doing which always makes it a good place to work.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
couldn't advance or work full time because I was a work study student
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uc work study
INTEGRATED MARKETING TEAM (Former Employee) –  University of CharlestonSeptember 28, 2015
It was a slow pace job. Allot of running back and forth. Repetition. Social Media and Networking opportunity. It was fairly easy work.
Pros
Great Envirionment
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Student Life (Current Employee) –  BeckleyApril 6, 2015
it was good until the news got bad. communication is not as good as it should be for a college. if you are on the main campus you are treated a little better.
Cons
over worked- under paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Charleston, WVJuly 6, 2014
A learning institution. Opportunities to interact with many intellectuals.
The students are internally motivated to succeed due to the culture provided by the organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Study
Work Study Student (Former Employee) –  Charleston, WVJanuary 16, 2014
I liked my work study job. It gave me the opportunity to make money while still going to school. It was very convenient.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had Fun
Assistant Web Administrator (Former Employee) –  Charleston, WVMay 29, 2013
I was hired as a contractor to assist on the Web site Migration.
had a great time learning how content management systems work.
Pros
Great exposure
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Physician Assistant student (Former Employee) –  Beckley, WVMarch 6, 2013
new school and i am not very familiar with it. theye mountain state massacre saved us from th
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adjunct professor
Adjunct Nursing Professor (Former Employee) –  Charleston, WVMarch 4, 2013
Worked at UC as an Adjunct professor during med-psych, med-surg clinical rotations
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Charleston. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 23 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.9
Culture
4.0

University of Charleston Reviews by Location