Find companies:
University of Chicago Medicine
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
32 reviews

University of Chicago Medicine Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work Great Oppertunities
Anesthesia Techenician (Certified) (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 12, 2015
Pros: Great Place to work
Cons: None
Fast Paced, Great Anesthesia Staff, outstanding learning experiences from soup to nuts.
Good management Full range of educational experiences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At the Forefront of Medicine
Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 9, 2015
Pros: wellness program
Cons: clock-in rules
Work well as a team. Enjoyed the team building and relationships formed. Can be very challenging at times with the workload.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reactive instead of Proactive Mentalitly
MRI Technologist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 22, 2015
Pros: working with new technology in fast paced enviroment.
Cons: totally unorganized department and not properly structured.
People are placed in leadership position who are not equipped to lead. Worked in MRI for five year and three managers did their two year sentence and left. Leaving the department in havoc and low morale, and it's joke to believe one can make a different. Employees who come forth with real solutions are not taken in consideration.

The most enjoyable part of the job is working with the patients and new advance technology, and the hardest part of job is working in a dysfunctional department where hard working people are bullied. If you crave for a structured environment with room for growth this organization is not for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp
Temp (Former Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 13, 2015
Pros: i met some nice coworkers
Cons: poor management, low salary, no benefits, no direction.
I was hired as a temp for 4 months. They were taking my position in another direction after only a month and a half. Management had absolutely no experience what so ever. I once thought that working there would be fabulous. They paid me $10 less than I was making if I went to another company. I had 24 years of experience and they treated me like a new grad. Human Resources never returned phone calls and when I finally got someone, I was told all of the Temps would be leaving. Now I see a position for a temp. I would never work for this company again. The mission statement for the department I worked in should have been quantity is better than quality, forget about "patient first".
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place, yet a completely different environment compared to other businesses
Public Safety Supervisor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 29, 2014
Each day is always different
I have learned several things from the UCM
Some co-workers were wonderful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Food Service Worker (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 29, 2014
a typical day at work: good
what you learned: experience
management: good
your co-workers: good
the hardest part of the job: pressure
the most enjoyable part of the job: salary
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benefits
Performance Improvement Consultant (Current Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 10, 2014
- attend meetings
- management is fair
- friendly co-workers, had no problems
- too much workload
- get involved in lots of projects
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Stepping Stone
Guest Services Ambassador (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 6, 2014
Pros: freedom to be lively and energetic
Cons: short breaks, no advancement follow-through
Come to work with a great attitude and you'll have a GREAT day! It was encouraged, noticed, and appreciated. Hardest part is interacting with patients or visitors not in the best situation, you learn to "choose your weather" and be grateful for each opportunity. I love to smile and be engaging, this job encouraged that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Staff Nurse (Current Employee), Center for Care and Discovery Recovery RoomAugust 8, 2014
My typical day consist of face pace environment in the Recovery room, managing ICU, out patient surgery and same day surgery admissions. I really enjoy the pace and my co-workers in the recovery room.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my floor care job
Housekeeping/floor tech (Former Employee), 5841 south maryland avenueJuly 23, 2014
Pros: was allowed to work alone and get things done
Cons: cons to this job were some other workers would use your supplies, sometimes there wasn't enough to go around
i really loved doing floors and i learned a lot from my manager who taught me everything i know. i gained so much from it and in a typical day i was just told where to go and do my job i really loved that and i was able to provide clean floors and use a lot cool machines to clean them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent team oriented environment
User Computing Tech Support (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 29, 2014
• Meet with multiple doctors, nurses and surgeons to ensure operating rooms were setup to their individual standards.
• Quality assurance checks and standardization.
• PC deployment of desktops laptops and other wireless devices.
• Imaging multiple PC's to University of Chicago standards using Windows 7.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
U of C Med.
Talent Acquisition Specialist (Current Employee), Chicago ILApril 26, 2014
Pros: higher equity/wages
Great employer to add to your resume/experience. Roughly 6,000 employed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TYPICAL
scheduling specialist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 22, 2014
WORKING HARD TO REACH A GOAL OF FIVE, TO MAKE SURE ALL PATIENTS ARE SCHEDULED AND AUTHORIZATIONS ARE IN PLACE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok work environment
LIVER TRANSPLANT SOCIAL WORKER (Former Employee), ChicagoApril 21, 2014
It was just ok to work there. Nothing was great, but nothing was really overly horrible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and interesting place to work
Cardiovascular Sonographer (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 30, 2014
Pros: interesting cases
The University of Chicago constantly pushed me to be a better sonographer and allowed me to perfect my skills and learn a great deal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work very diverse.
Patient Specialist/Lift team (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 21, 2014
Pros: pay, diversity, can be stable.
Cons: management targeting employees, sometime unappreciative toward employees
An ok place to work pays well, very diverse, but sometimes management can under appreciate there employees especially support services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UCMC
Organizational Development Specialist (Former Employee), chicago ILJanuary 7, 2014
Great company to work for, a lot of employees willing to learn and continue to excel. Company politics are a downfall.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT COMPANY
SCHEDULING SPECIALIST (Former Employee), ILLINOISNovember 10, 2013
LOVE THE TEAM WORK IT FELT LIKE FAMILY WORKING WITH A GREAT TEAM
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rigorous 8-hour day transporting patients
Patient Transportation Specialist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 18, 2013
Pros: celebrate patient transportation week
Cons: disagreeable with some hospital staff, i.e. nurses
Do not agree with some of management decisions at the University of Chicago Medicine.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an eye opening experience
Project Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 3, 2013
Pros: meet a lot of great, smart people. the place is huge.
Cons: if you prefer a flat organization, this is not the place for you. the chain-of-command is in full effect here.
It's an academic, non-profit, very political institution. Enough said.