University of Delaware Employee Reviews

Found 158 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State of the art facility, too many employees
Fitness Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Newark, DEJanuary 29, 2016
The facility was beautiful, hard pressed to find a better fitness center. I learned a great deal about providing quality customer service. The management was lacking, they hired too many people so the hours were very sparse. The co workers were all very dedicated fitness advocates and made the environment a pleasant one.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace with best benefits in the area
Computing Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Newark, DEJanuary 20, 2016
Working at the University for over 9 years, there have been a lot of positive changes, making it a prestigious workplace and educational institution.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfied but needs work
Student Multimedia Technician Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newark, DEJanuary 19, 2016
This job was very rewarding when clients/users come to understand the technique and skill you were trying to teach them. But the bosses and managers can be too particular in processes.
Pros
work environment, compensation
Cons
micro-management is common
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student grader
Student Grader (Former Employee) –  Newark, DEJanuary 9, 2016
I worked as a student grader. It was nice having flexibility in my schedule and being paid on time but time keeping was annoying.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly place to study and work
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Newark, DEJanuary 7, 2016
The atmosphere of college of engineering is friendly.
The professors are knowledgeable and supportive.
Co-workers are mostly friendly and cooperative.
A lot of opportunities to gain leadership experiences.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Research University
Graduate Student (Former Employee) –  Newark, DEJanuary 3, 2016
Best School I have ever been to. Excellent professors.

Various research opportunities and courses.

Lovely college town.
Pros
Top University in Delaware, nicely located
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collected traffic data
Research (Former Employee) –  Newark, DEDecember 19, 2015
Used a stopwatch and Trimble Navigation System to record delay ties for certain routes in various counties in Delaware
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with great benefits
Administrative Assistant III (Current Employee) –  Newark, DENovember 12, 2015
close to home, flexible schedule, great benefits

Not great as far as raises go - haven't received a decent raise since I began here. Also, getting paid the 15th and last of the month is tough where most companies pay every other week.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
education (Former Employee) –  Newark, DENovember 10, 2015
Working at the University of Delaware is an amazing opportunity anyone should take advantage of if they can. One of the best parts of working at the University is that you get to work with so many great people.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University of Delaware
Postdoc Researcher (Current Employee) –  NewarkOctober 8, 2015
Nice campus and nice environment to work.
Great management and great benefits.
There is mainstreet on campus so it is very convenient to get food nearby.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning enviorment
Computer Site Assistant (Current Employee) –  Newark, DEOctober 5, 2015
This institution provided me with many learning opportunities that benefited my overall experience to be a better and more qualified engineer.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and excellent learning opportunity
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Newark, DESeptember 25, 2015
Excellent place for interdisciplinary research. Very good environment. Very friendly faculty and atmosphere.

Work wise very good research ranges from developmental to translational. Nemours research is another add on for the very well funded research done here.
Pros
Collaborations
Cons
Lack of industry
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Newark, DESeptember 25, 2015
supportive management
easy access to research equipment
good cooperation between different groups
close to Philadelphia, New York, and Washington DC
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great supervisor with helpful and kind coworkers
Intern for Media Relations Office (Former Employee) –  Newark, DESeptember 18, 2015
On a typical day I found myself doing a lot of computer work and athletics website development and updating. Then on occasion I would input statistics in a database and write feature articles and stories about current University of Delaware teams/players of various sports. Many times, this required me to reach out to the coaches of the team and/or the player for more information or quotes. My supervisor was extremely nice, and he was also very helpful with good feedback and critiques of my work. My coworkers were also very nice as well, and very helpful to me, the intern. The most enjoyable part of the internship for me was the inputting of player and team stats into a database. Even though it may seem to be monotonous work, I enjoy working with sport stats. They are an indicator of success/failure, a good way for a player to receive feedback, and are quantifiable.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work and live
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Newark, DESeptember 18, 2015
nice place to work and live, collaborative working environment, interesting work, nice work/life balance, beautiful campus
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Library Assistant - Access Services Department (Former Employee) –  Newark, DESeptember 17, 2015
I loved working at Morris Library, from the day I was hired until my position ended. This is one employer I would definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place To Work For
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newark, DEAugust 29, 2015
I was a temporary employee I created spreadsheets, handled all the equipment along with reconciling credit cards and handling all office moves within the University
Pros
Own Office
Cons
Got Board with the job
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seasonal crewman and equipment operator on commercial job sites
Crewman/Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Toughkenamon, PAAugust 16, 2015
The high profile properties I maintained consisted of strong attention to detail such as garden, trees and shrub maintenance in addition to regular maintenance such as mowing, edging, and string trimming. While at Ruppert I was given the opportunity to design the Dover Air Force Base Museum Memorial, which my complete design was used and I also took part in the Install that took place at the end of August.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, relaxing and overall good people to work with.
Laboratory Safety Technician (Former Employee) –  Colburn Laboratory in Newark, DelawareJuly 28, 2015
Typical day at work consisted of Boss giving list of tasks to complete and to do them correctly. If help was needed we would ask our seniors whenever they had some free time.
Learned about more proper safety procedures i.e. how to transport biofuel and how to clean up properly after a spill, proper tool storage, managing time for each task, basic carpentry.
Management was good. No problems when, where, and whom to talk to.
Co-workers were hard working and dependable. No conflicts and everyone seemed to work well with each other.
Hardest part of the job was not knowing what to do next after the set task list was completed. Then we proceeded to help around the rest of the department and machine shop.
The co-workers were the most enjoyable part. Friendly and helpful.
Pros
Very close to home.
Cons
None really.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small university that does not like change
Marketing Associate (Current Employee) –  Newark, DEJuly 10, 2015
A University that is a big fish in a small pond. They do not like change very well, very much a "this is how we always did it" mentality.
Pros
Great health benefits, but take home pay is horrible
Cons
Very bad culture, old boys club mentality. Do not appreciate new ideas.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 160 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1

University of Delaware Reviews by Location