Find companies:
University of Florida
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
219 reviews

University of Florida Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work if you want to live in Gainesville
Database Administrator (Former Employee), Gainesville, FLJune 27, 2015
Good job for a few years after you graduate, after that there isn't much (if any) opportunities for technical advancement. Opportunities for advancement are geared towards management. Seems that the majority – more... of the people who work at UF at non-academic positions have either recently graduated and want to stay in Gainesville for a few years, or are going to soon retire. There aren't many people in between. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Gainesville, FLJune 25, 2015
Productive with supportive management with a great technical team. Room to grow and improve technically and an amazing workforce
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Gainesville, FLJune 24, 2015
Pros: Nice work atmosphere
Cons: Low paid
It's very productive work.
Nice work environment.
There are a lot of work can be done using expertise.
Professors take our suggestions for improvement of reactor design.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Admissions Coordinator (Former Employee), Gainesville, FLJune 10, 2015
Pros: You meet a lot of people
Cons: No spring break
This was the best experience I have ever had in life. The opportunity to represent such a great institution and visit high schools all around the state of Florida is immeasurable. I love everything about this job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding and a satisfied feeling of accomplishment of helping families even doing phone calls.
Medical Secretary/Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLJune 8, 2015
Pros: Making someone smile.
Cons: Family Wait list
Working at University of Florida with children with Autism and related disability is a challenge and rewarding experience. The family that we serve are so appreciative of the work we do for their children.
Although it maybe a long waiting list to see patients we involve the families in other services and activities to help with the distress with their children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a good experience
ASSOCIATE DIRECTOR OF DEVELOPMENT (Current Employee), Gainesville,FlJune 7, 2015
Pros: good people
Cons: fill they need to broaden their thinking
interaction between donors and colleges within the University to coordinate all fundraising activity. Continue to grow my portfolio to maximize my fundraising efforts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not UF, UF Housing
Network Administration Asst for UF Housing (Current Employee), Gainesville, FLJune 3, 2015
When I started here, I thought I was getting my foot in the door at UF, As it turned out, I got my foot in the door at UF Housing, a completely separate entity who's IT dept has long been trying to stave – more... off a takeover from UFIT. My first gig here had a job description that was WAY more technical than the job actually was. What sounded like a Jr Netowrk Admin job turned out to be L1 Helpdesk. It allowed me to get into an actual JrAdmin position where I'm doing my boss' old job for half the pay. The rest of the job is great but the pay is laughably low for some positions while right on point for others. Want the responsibility of a SysAdmin with the pay of helpdesk? Apply for my job! I'm trying to get out of here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is an excellent, productive work environment.
Florida (Current Employee), FloridaJune 2, 2015
This is an excellent, productive work environment. Coworkers are friendly and motivated. Supervisors demand excellence, but bring out the best in their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile work environment, but not the entire university.
Admissions Officer (Former Employee), Gainesville, FLMay 29, 2015
Pros: The distinction that follows the name
Cons: Hostile work environment
Typical day is interacting with current and prospective freshman via phone and in person. Learned to not trust anyone. Management is lacking and co-workers are highly unprofessional. Hardest part of the job is interacting with the co-workers, best part is meeting and speaking with excited prospective families.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in an environment that has inconsistent leadership at the school level
Supervising Instructor (Current Employee), Gainesville, FLMay 28, 2015
Pros: students
Cons: poor leadership and delegation at the school level
The most enjoyable part of my job was my students. What I have learned is to go with the flow, administration at my school was very inconsistent and indecisive. it sent myself and co-workers into a state – more... of "survival of the fittest." The most difficult part of my job was the fact that instructors needs were not met nor that instructors had input. Administration stated "assume good will and transparency" but it was far from it. I learned to look at the positives each day and to be the best teacher for my students than I can be despite the difficult environment at this school. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
Student Research Assistant (Former Employee), Gainesville, FLMay 21, 2015
This lab was more clinical based and worked with cognitive behavioral therapy techniques on mostly adolescent patients. The experience was rewarding and taught me a lot about the therapy techniques we were studying. All in all it was a good learning experience but I am looking for more lab-based research.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good place for research.
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Gainesville, FLMay 18, 2015
very good place for research.

very good team work.

reasonable work time.

brilliant scientist group.

very good place to learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and highly functioning multifaceted environment.
Program Assistant (Former Employee), Gainesville, FLMay 14, 2015
• Worked with customers in various inside and outside agencies and hospitals to resolve differences and to insure procedures (radioactive implants, surgical therapeutics, external beam radiation), and – more... other therapies were completed without incident.
Related well to/and supervised an administrative pool of 4 people.
Knowledge of office procedures and practices and hospital/clinic policies.
Proficient in Medical Terminology.

The most enjoyable part of the job was dealing with the different personalities of our customer base and the great team moral of my coworkers.

Everyday was a learning experience as you never knew what challenges would present themselves. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review of UF
Accountant (Current Employee), Gainesville, FLMay 13, 2015
Pros: Flexible Work Schedule
Cons: Hard to advance in College of Medicine
I have worked at UF off and on since 1992 for a cumulative total of 20 years. It is a great company to work for but I feel as if I have plateaued. In my current area there is no growth opportunity.  – more... My work has doubled since I began in my current position three years ago and my job description does not accurately reflect my duties. Overall UF is a great place to work with great benefits and leave time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, pay could be better
Statistics Consultant (Current Employee), Gainesville, FLApril 29, 2015
great place to work, pay could be better, but great benefits. The commute can be a bit of pain, but you get tons of holidays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secretary.
Secretary in the Department of Dentistry (Former Employee), Gainesvill, FLApril 21, 2015
I started at the University in the College of Dentistry as a secretary. It was very interesting.

I then went to the Physician Assistant program as an administrative secretary to the direct of the program. – more... It was challenging work. I also got to work with the students.

I then went to the College of Medicine and was a senior work processing operator. I typed for the doctors in their practices. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great be a TA
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Gainesville, FLApril 18, 2015
Pros: Sometimes have free pizza and the best TA awards
The fun part of this job is I can communicate with so many different students because they all have different personalities and stories. At same time, I also have to know how to handle some conflicts. – more... The hardest part of this job is I have to have really strong background knowledge of every experiment and there are 12 different experiments and be able to explain their questions very well. I learned a lot from this job and I love to do it again if I have a chance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work place.
Assitant of the office manager (Former Employee), Homestead FlApril 17, 2015
Pros: Free Fruits, and plants
Cons: great health insurance
There is a nice place to work. I learned how to deal with different people from other cultures. My coworkers were super nice, we were closer to each other. The hardest part of the job was the audit month, – more... every year we had a audit, it was so stressful for everyone. I have a great memories when I worked in University of Florida, I used to have a lot of fun in Christmas seasons. All employees prepared a great parties for the children. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Math teacher
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Gainesville, FLApril 15, 2015
Teaching in the inner city has surprising challenges that may be difficult to overcome. I did enjoy being able to use Portuguese to teach math.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Photographer (Former Employee), Gainesville, FLApril 13, 2015
I learned to work as a team. My job involved traveling and an opportunity to explore Florida. As a photographer I was able to represent UF/IFAS in print on magazines, news releases and other print materials.

1 2 3 4 5

University of Florida Salaries

Scientist
$37,883 per year
Technician
$15.31 per hour
Secretary
$12.02 per hour
IT
$49,402 per year
Administrative Services
$55,382 per year

University of Florida Photos

Me with Albert & Alberta at graduation
Me, working at the Gel Electrophoresis station.
Gator Baseball