University of Florida Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not all ways fun
Senior Custodial Worker (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLOctober 8, 2017
i was working late days to nights as a lead worker i always had to completethe worke of my employees whe they were not at work this to me was unfair was getting very upset and i left job to find some better
Pros
some people were good
Cons
to hard of a job working at day to night coveing for employee who were nt at work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The research is fun
Research Assistant at college of Nursing (Current Employee) –  Gainesville, FLOctober 6, 2017
Get to access interesting real data that is high dimensional. The research work is fun. The manager is reasonable and working hours are flexible. Also there's possible chance for publications.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Garden Assistant (Current Employee) –  Gainesville, FLOctober 5, 2017
great university, beautiful environment! Wonderful people to work under and I loved the constant education that you obtain while being there. There are also a lot of career opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uf is an ok place to work
End User Computing Specialist II (Current Employee) –  Gainesville, FL 32611October 2, 2017
Typical work day is : 8 hours
Workplace is comfortable
You get to know a lot of interesting people
Work is fun and it keeps you busy
I would recommend working here to anyone
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with great supervisors.
Student Employee (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLOctober 2, 2017
Shifts at the O'Dome are on an event basis. It was typically working with O'Connell Center visitors and making sure they had a pleasurable experience. All of the supervisors are very patient when training you and are always willing to help you out with difficult guests. There can be some heavy lifting involved with some event prep but getting to watch shows free of charge is a great perk of the job!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Receptionist, Library west (Former Employee) –  FloridaSeptember 30, 2017
nice place to work, flexible schedule. The coworkers are nice and location seemed neat and clean. pay check provided on time and ddoesnt have work a lot in there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Fiscal Assistant I (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLSeptember 29, 2017
The University of Florida is a great place that provides excellence in teaching, research, scholarship, and service. It also has great benefits and opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grad Assistant in Engineering
Teaching Assistant, Dept Mech Eng (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLSeptember 28, 2017
I fully enjoyed the time teaching classes but recognized I was not a career academic so I left for full time employment following graduation. The environment was good in that it was stable, the courses offered and curriculum required were consistent and the idea of helping others following the path I took was rewarding.
Pros
College hours
Cons
College pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
immediate supervisor was great, but upper administration is corrupt and unethical
ASSISTANT/ASSOCIATE DEAN OF STUDENTS (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLSeptember 25, 2017
They scapegoat lower level employees for poor decisions they make. The place was great for a while but in the last two years of new leadership it has become very corrupt and cutthroat. Good people have been let go without good cause and have been trashed in the media for no good reason while bad people still have their jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enriching educational environment and incredible workplace
Instructor of Record- Visual Arts (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLSeptember 22, 2017
I grew so much a a graduate student and valued my experience as an Instructor of Record in the School of Art and Art History. I would highly recommend this program to other artists.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back, collaborative, assistive atmosphere.
Instructional Designer (Current Employee) –  Gainesville, FLSeptember 21, 2017
Excellent! Flexible scheduling, modern technology, high-level software and tools. There are four teams in my department, with Team Leads. Everyone jumps in to make certain everyone has what they need to be successful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big happy family
ACCOUNTING COORDINATOR III (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FL 32608September 21, 2017
I would say the University of Florida is a good place to work if you lived in Gainesville area. The advancement for employment is really good. I worked there for more than 10 years and I don't have much to complain.
Pros
employment advancement
Cons
parking
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLSeptember 15, 2017
Great place to work as a research student. Research advisor takes takes keen interest in your work and guide you through your thesis. I would recommend this place for a master student.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be steady, but numbing
Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Innovation HubSeptember 14, 2017
I know lots of people who have worked at the University for decades and were really happy there. It's not tremendously stressful for the most part; folks get sort of regular cost-of-living raises. On the other hand, if you are ambitious, it can be VERY political and you may have to jump around departments a bit to advance as a non-faculty member.
Pros
pretty chill
Cons
boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and relaxed work culture
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Gainesville, FLSeptember 14, 2017
As a student assistant, your job is to make people feel welcomed and do homework while working. The atmosphere is light and friendly, and the job requires nothing heavy-duty or stressful. All you have to do is create a culture of care, be knowledgeable of work and school resources/policies, and do your homework.
Pros
paid to study
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLSeptember 11, 2017
Positive Universe focused University. Deep philosophy of respect and all for one, one for all. Location in Florida is amazing! Nature abounding. People are fantastic!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is peacful and great place for working and educating
Visiting Scholar (Current Employee) –  Gainesville, FLSeptember 10, 2017
it is calm and peaceful place, most of the stuff are friendly and respectful,
they are mostly responsible, the management is great
the most enjoyable part of the job is meeting and doing new exprements
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Development
Alumni Affairs Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLSeptember 8, 2017
Boss was a total wack job, but overall I feel it would be a great place to work. UF is able to provide opportunities for advancement and has many areas to transfer and work within. Pay is not the best.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding place to work
Assistant Football Coach (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FloridaSeptember 7, 2017
Excellence in everything they do. Most supportive administrators that strive to be the best in everything they do. Very positive culture. Very fast paced, but most enjoyable environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liked it
Lead Extension Program Assistant- Family Nutrition (Former Employee) –  Fort Pierce, FLSeptember 5, 2017
Time balanced between in the office and in schools/facilities teaching. Great benefits. Nice culture and people. Most enjoyable part of job was the smiles on the kid's faces.Pay could be better.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
State guidelines
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Florida. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 631 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1