University of Florida Employee Reviews

Found 586 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average university
Postdoctoral Associate (Current Employee) –  Gainesville, FLJuly 23, 2017
This university could be much better. The management is not good at all. I have been in New England area and midwest area and compared to those places the level of management or willingness for service is zero (or even negative) at this place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proceed with caution
RN (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLJuly 21, 2017
I had worked for Shands in the past, prior to being an RN and truly loved my time/experience there. Going back several years later as an RN was a sad disappointment. Many of the qualities I loved from before were gone. Very corporate and nepotistic now.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Pay, Parking, Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLJuly 18, 2017
I was working in the lab in the Microbiology department and got to learn a lot about the research that was being conducted. My professor took me under his wing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Postdoctoral Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Gainesville, FLJuly 13, 2017
The University of Florida combines a classic collegiate campus with a modern and innovative spirit. The UF campus is absolutely beautiful with historical brick education halls and centuries old Oak trees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Student Assistant/ Intern (Current Employee) –  Gainesville, FLJuly 9, 2017
I love the professional work environment at The University of Floridas College of Education. I most enjoyed how flexible they were with me as a student.
Pros
nice co workers, nice office
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to for study and living
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLJuly 9, 2017
Located in a college city, good diversity and lots of activities.
Family and young people friendly
Plenty of sport events to watch and to join.
Pleasant weather.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and encouraging workplace with people who feel like family
Operations Associate (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLJuly 6, 2017
I worked for the Department of RecSports at UF and like the headline says, it felt like family. Management could be improved slightly, but the people I worked with were friendly and genuine.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contractor Review
Certified Environmental, Safety & Health Trainer (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJuly 6, 2017
As a private contractor/trainer all my experience with UF training and procurement staff have been positive. UF is my customer. As a private contractor I provide (for their students) technical training in the potable water distribution field. My contract has been on going for 22 years and I have enjoyed immensely my experience as a trainer for UFs occupational branch.
Pros
Good pay, exposure to business contacts in the southeast
Cons
private contracts do not include benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Senior Clerk/Charge Processor (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJuly 6, 2017
Typical day at work was very busy. I learned how to manage my time effectively and efficiently. Management was very firm and willing to help employees when needed. Management suggested feedback regarding work and life balances. Workplace consist of vary backgrounds and advancement encouraged. The hardest task was staying within the deadline and the most enjoyable part was accomplishing tasks.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job for a student
Graduate Hall Director (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLJuly 2, 2017
Great balance for a student. Live in position, nice benefits and flexible schedule. Positive attitudes. Great chance to gain leadership and administrative experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extraordinaria empresa, ampliamente organizada.
Oficial de seguridad universidad merida venezuela. (Former Employee) –  Oficial de seguridad, universidad Merida venezuelaJuly 1, 2017
Me gustaría pertenecer a su equipo de trabajo, pera aportar ideas y aprender de tan excelente proyecto. Gracias y felicidades
Pros
Todos los beneficios son excelentes
Cons
No hay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excelente ambiente de trabajo
Dental Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hialeah, FLJune 30, 2017
- Es un ambiente ameno , didáctico , pro-activo, puntual, respetuoso.
- Experiencia laboral, profesional, y de crecimiento personal.
- Aprendizaje diario sobre casos clínicos, teóricos y prácticos.
- Fluidez en el idioma , ingles- español .
- Excelente horario de trabajo.
-Excelentes colegas.
- Excelentes beneficios.

Gator 2017 !!
Pros
seguro medico, jubilacion, seguro de vision, y dental.
Cons
salario
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLJune 28, 2017
A place where you can learn what is the actual job market requirement, practice it and then find a job with those great skills. Definitely there to push you beyond boundaries.
Pros
Gator nights
Cons
Tough curriculum
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative
Research Assistant, Professor Willie Harris (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLJune 27, 2017
The Water and Soil Science Department has all the modern equipment needed to carry out research and all lab members were very helpful in providing assistance.
Pros
Flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Work Place
Administrative Intern (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLJune 26, 2017
Productive and Fun Work Place with lots of people around to help you male sue you get the job done. I have learned a lot from this position that I can take with e in my career as a Healthcare Administrator
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate student
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLJune 24, 2017
Very cultural diverse campus. Professors are nice. The place is isolated, not much to do nearby. Easy get bored. I still like campus in Metro area that you can get in touch with people from different aspect.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical graduate school
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  GainesvilleJune 22, 2017
University of Florida is located in a small town, Gainesville where you may not find much to do but good for education and focus on research.

Typical graduate school, possible to involve in research with very successful faculty members.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the experience
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLJune 15, 2017
Learned a lot of different analytical techniques in the lab on how to evaluate things. Loved my doctor I worked under as well as the other assistants in the lab
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced, and fun.
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Gainesville, FLJune 15, 2017
I volunteer here with my church every year in the concessions. It's a fast-paced work environment, but it was actually really fun. The job does get a little wild during half-time, but with everyone working together it was easy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Data Collector (Former Employee) –  FloridaJune 15, 2017
This company is friendly, understanding and very accommodating for their employees. Always had meetings that kept everyone up to date on what was going on.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Florida. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 590 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1

CEO Approval

84%
152 ratings
Add your rating