Find companies:
University of Kentucky
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
106 reviews

University of Kentucky Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Research Assistant/ Endoscopy (Former Employee), Lexington, KYMay 25, 2014
Great opportunities for advancement within each department. Co-workers had great skill sets and knowledge that assisted in everyday operations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Study is Fun
Student (Current Employee), Lexington, KYMay 21, 2014
Professors are really helpful and friendly. Projects are the best learning aspect of the studying.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School is excellent
Data Coordinator, Senior (Former Employee), Lexington, KYMay 7, 2014
I enjoyed the large corporation but unfortunately I was in a group with a supervisor that didn't know what she was doing and had no people skills it was a very difficult situation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent and varied work environment
CNTC Postdoctoral Fellow (Former Employee), Lexington, KYApril 29, 2014
Pros: flexible work hours and a team-based environment
Cons: potentially long and irregular hours
I enjoyed my time at the University of Kentucky as a postdoctoral researcher. My typically day started around 9 am and lasted until at least 5 pm depending on my plan for the day. Activities included scientific literature review, experimental planning and execution, project meetings, and scientific manuscript preparation. I worked closely with my advisers – more... (managers) and participated in regularly scheduled meetings to ensure steady progress. The hardest part of the job was dividing time between two independent labs and the most enjoyable part was seeing my work pay off in the end as published scientific manuscripts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Affairs = A Supportive Environment
Student Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Vice President of Student Affairs OfficeApril 29, 2014
My experience as a student assistant in the Vice President of Student Affairs office has been very enjoyable. The culture of the department is welcoming and supportive of student effort and the opportunity to serve the office in a variety of roles has been beneficial to my future career as an educator.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Love the people
Administrative Support Associate I (Former Employee), Lexington, KYApril 24, 2014
Pros: love the hours and the independence
working at SCoBIRC was a sure pleasure. We have grown as a family and worked really well as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temping for U.K.
Clerical (Current Employee), Lexington, KYApril 22, 2014
Cons: no health care, no paid sick time, no vacation time, no paid holidays, had to pay for parking just to get to work.
Temping for U.K. has it's pros and cons. U.K. is all about who you know and often times qualified applicants are overlooked. I learned a significant amount about how U.K. operates internally. The hardest part of this job was the toll it took on my family, I had no sick time, no paid time off, no vacation time, I was expected to work, like a robot, and – more... never take time off for them. The pay was less than stellar, my co-workers were wonderful hard working people. The building we were in was old with yellow drinking water, I was worked like a horse with very little compensation and no benefits. Would not recommend temping with U.K. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, interesting, stressfull but rewarding.
Senior Research Associate (Former Employee), Lexington, KYApril 21, 2014
Pros: learned new tests.
Cons: had to figure most our on my own.
Interesting job, new area of expertise. Fast paced, sacrificed many mice, always trying to get data for publications. Most of the people were fun to associate with, all hardworking. Management was odd and you had to be thick skinned to withstand the snide comments. Still have many as friends from there though. Hardest part was killing the mice. The – more... most enjoyable was finding something new. Good place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great university, fun place to work!
Administrative Staff Officer II (Current Employee), Lexington, KYApril 17, 2014
Pros: free college classes, great benefits
Cons: opportunities for advancement into upper-level management
The University of Kentucky is a great place to work and learn. I started my career at the University as a payroll clerk in the College of Medicine's department of Radiation Medicine and quickly advanced to an accounts payable clerk in Hospital Accounting. After a year, I was promoted to a business officer (Administrative Staff Officer I) in the Division – more... of Laboratory Animal Resources and am responsible for managing the main business office with 5 direct reports, oversee payroll, develop the operating budgets for two service centers and am responsible for developing the animal per diem rates for the University. I was again promoted to an Administrative Staff Officer II in November 2010, which requires an increased role in analytical/statistical reporting, contract negotiations and operations management. The University of Kentucky is nationally known for its highly successful basketball program and has some of the most exciting personalities in sports. The greatest thing I learned about UK is the exciting research that takes place that will benefit the world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UK
Certified Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Center, KYApril 8, 2014
Pros: great feeling of satisfaction
Cons: long hours, staff shortage
University of Ky. is the most awesome place to be employed , because they push you to better yourself and have programs so that you can get an education and achieve your goals.

A typical day consist of seeing ob/gyn patients and assisting doctors with any procedures. Making follow up phone calls and reviewing lab results, precertification's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
ADJUNCT BUSINESS DEPARMENT FACULTY (Former Employee), Middlesboro, KYMarch 28, 2014
Pros: great people, great experience
Cons: not close enough to the main university
Great place for students wanting to get a college education without having to move away from home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very supportive staff
Account Clerk (Former Employee), Lexington, KYMarch 25, 2014
Pros: great team
Definitely learned more in this position than I would have thought.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice balance between work and life. Teaching is always a fun and I enjoy it thoroughly.
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Lexington, KYMarch 23, 2014
I have been serving Expriences as a teaching assistant in the department of Computer Science at University of Kentucky
for the last two years. I teach CS 221: First Course in Computer Science for Engineers which covers the characteristics of a procedure-oriented language; description of a computer as to internal structure and the representation of information; – more... introduction to algorithms.

Emphasis is placed on the solution of characteristic problems arising in engineering. My responsibilities include conducting the lab classes, grading, and discussing problems with students according to their needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Lexington, KYMarch 13, 2014
Working in the lab.
Learned about simulations, controls, and gained hands on experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits
Research Protocol Manager (Current Employee), Lexington, KYMarch 10, 2014
Good, but not great! With the change in our financial situation, many changes have occurred that are not good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place
Education Researcher (Former Employee), Lexington, KYMarch 8, 2014
This is a great university. I was unable to finish my degree due to family illness. The professors are helpful and encouraging. The academics are great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with students learning geology
Athletics Tutor (Former Employee), Lexington, KYFebruary 12, 2014
My job included working with the athletics department tutoring geology to the students within the program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Technical Project Specialist II (Former Employee), Lexington, KYFebruary 7, 2014
Great place to work. Excellent benefits. Work life balance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the work, but there were a few bureaucratic issues
Agricultural Engineer (Former Employee), Lexington, KYFebruary 6, 2014
i loved the work and enjoyed the people i worked with. the job was a mix of practical on hand research, mathmatical problem solving and computer logic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great teaching experience
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Lexington, KYFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: occasional free meals.
Cons: long work hours, office had no windows.
I taught many undergraduate students statistical concepts both in class twice per week, and in weekly recitation sections. I learned how to communicate effectively to large groups (150+) as well as smaller sub-groups. I also graded multiple assignments for each student and had collected work returned within a week's time.

About University of Kentucky

The University of Kentucky will be one of the nation’s 20 best public research universities, an institution recognized world-wide – Read more

University of Kentucky Photos