University of Kentucky Employee Reviews

Found 250 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n
Account Clerk (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYDecember 10, 2015
n None none none none none none I have have nothing to say and I have great place to work the work is good the people are very nice nice nice
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment
CAD Operator (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYNovember 12, 2015
Lack of communication with management. Management needs to communicate more across all levels downwards all the way to the bottom level and find out what's bothering employees who are doing most of the work anyway, and help come up with solutions.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Go Cats!
Social Media Director (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYNovember 6, 2015
Being a student-athlete ambassador at the University of Kentucky was a pleasure and something I will cherish for the rest of my life.
Was this review helpful?YesNo6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UK Summary
Administrative Support II (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYOctober 30, 2015
Fun and very diverse place to work; The most enjoyable part of the job are the students; salary pretty good and learned a lot. Can take training for the most part whenever and on many subjects. Great place to work.
Pros
Diverse
Cons
Pay should be a little better
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed enviroment
Research assistant (Former Employee) –  Lexington, kyOctober 20, 2015
Worked as an assistant to a masters student research algae. Regrew her algae each week during the summer and measured cell size using a microscope and imaging software.
Was this review helpful?YesNo7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great University
Instructor in the Department of Communication (Former Employee) –  Department of CommunicationOctober 19, 2015
University of Kentucky is great institution. The culture is focused on promoting student education while simultaneously having one of the best research environments in the country.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, good place to work
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYOctober 9, 2015
Fun work place with good management.
All about the customer service, and employees on how the was with the public.
And was a good work experience.
Pros
retirement
Cons
not enough paid
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good teaching
Building Operator III (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYOctober 7, 2015
learned alot about building maintenance and record keeping was able to work independently and also gained some very good computer skills
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for developing skills to use in the future and experience
Researcher (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYSeptember 28, 2015
I helped with the research of cardiovascular health. Relaxed atmosphere where I felt my opinion mattered and everyone was striving for the same goals.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment and always different never boring
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYSeptember 23, 2015
When you went in to work is was always unexpected. Something different would happen everyday. This is definitely a job that is fast paced and keeps you on your toes.
Pros
Exciting and great people to work with
Cons
Can be a major safety hazard and a lot of overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with on a daily basis
Staff Support Associate II (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYSeptember 23, 2015
I enjoyed my time at the University, I felt that during my 15 years there I developed many friendships that still continue as well as matured and learned valuable information for both work and personal.
Pros
Advancement opportunities and continuing education
Cons
The process in which I was laid off
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work if you like academic setting
Staff Associate II (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYSeptember 22, 2015
As an administrative assistant to a number of surgeons, plastic and dermatology, work is busy and mostly fulfilling. The University is a rapidly evolving entity. Occasionally it is difficult to keep up with new rules and regulations as they change on a regular basis. Co-workers are great and team work is the key.
Pros
benefits
Cons
advancing is difficult for staff
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace with Excellent Benefits
Patient Care Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYSeptember 21, 2015
In my most recent role, a typical day of work included interviewing patients to schedule surgery, in which I had to review and confirm any medical issues, confirm demographics and insurance, schedule any additional consults or testing needed, obtain additional records required, authorize and precertify surgery with insurance company, and balance and manage the doctor's surgery schedule. I believe my strengths were my organization and detail-oriented skills, and my patient relations and resolving patient issues. Sometimes the job could get monotonous, but I did enjoy meeting with patients and collaborating with my co-workers in order to reach the same goals in patient care. In my years in this office, I was able to learn a variety of skills and serve in many different roles.
Pros
Great benefits, holidays, close to home, great coworkers, decent pay scale
Cons
High stress at times, monotonous at times
Was this review helpful?Yes15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Telephone Operator (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYSeptember 16, 2015
Awesome bosses. If you need help they will help you. I learned how school and work emails are kept track of. Learned the ins and outs of the departments. Transferred calls.
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Positive place to work
Student Development Officer (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYSeptember 13, 2015
A relaxing place to work that allows you to push yourself in your studies. They really do care about their students and their facilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work enviroment.
Postdoctoral Scholar (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYSeptember 3, 2015
Flexible working hours with helpful co-workers. Large group of people are working together but the individual effort is given due recognition.
Pros
Can work iindependently even in a structured enviroment
Cons
Less exposure to industry
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good University
Scientist III, Principal Investigator (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYAugust 28, 2015
The research teams in the Department of Plant and Soil Sciences are wonderful to work with. The Department has a very healthy corporate culture and practices what they preach.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning experience
RN (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYAugust 24, 2015
This position is a great learning experience, especially for new graduates. I learned a lot about cardiac patients and transplants. This is not a good job for me because of the work/home balance.
Pros
ability to make your own schedule
Cons
not being able to take breaks/lunches, working long days and not being able to see my family
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work that taught me about leadership and being humble
Student Center Manager (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYAugust 12, 2015
Typical college informational job. It was a good place located at the student center on The university of Kentucky's campus
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Safety Specialist (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYAugust 4, 2015
Benefits are awesome, pay is above average, and time off is more than adequate. Co-workers are all great. UK allows you to go to several trainings to advance your knowledge.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Kentucky. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 251 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9

University of Kentucky Reviews by Location