University of Maryland Charles Regional Medical Center

University of Maryland Charles Regional Medical Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 27 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Staff Nurse, ICU (Former Employee) –  La Plata, MDMarch 9, 2017
I enjoyed working in the ICU at University of Maryland Charles Regional Medical Center. The medical staff there were very professional. Opportunity for advancement and education were provided. The nursing staff is very supportive and helpful to each other, more of a team . The facility provided all the necessary supplies needed to complete your tasks and the supplies were very good quality. I would definitely work there again.
Pros
12 hour shifts for nursing staff, good benefits, great staff, friendly environment
Cons
sometimes had no tech in the ICU, high stress job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Place To Start Out
Central Sterile Technician (Current Employee) –  La Plata, MDNovember 28, 2016
A great starter if someone is looking to build a professional career in the healthcare field or even for someone who is still undecided about what they want their profession to be.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this hospital
Unit Assistant (Current Employee) –  La Plata, MDSeptember 16, 2016
This was the first hospital I worked at I love it. It was nice and big and everyone was so welcoming over John Hopkins is a great company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Job Shadow (Former Employee) –  La Plata, MDFebruary 5, 2016
Best place to work. Employees communicate with one another. I act questions when I am confused. The best part of my work is making sure all of my residents are comfortable. Providing care and treating my resident with love and respect makes my day.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Learning
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  MDAugust 8, 2015
Great Orientation And Fun People To Work With Great Atmosphere To Learn.
Great Managers And Supervisors.
Great Place To Start Out As A New Hire.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but it has its faults
Registrar (Current Employee) –  La Plata, MDJuly 22, 2015
Overall it is a good place to work. I work with a lot of great co workers who make the day go by. We are often short staffed. There is great team work when we are short staffed which is good.
Pros
good group of co-workers
Cons
short staffed alot, work under stressful situations
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tony salmon
Dietary Aide (Current Employee) –  MDJuly 13, 2015
a typical day at work with me is simple I get the job done don't bring extra or outside problems to the work place nor socialize.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Does not honor long time employees!
Medical Records (Former Employee) –  La Plata, MDJuly 2, 2015
Typical co-workers. Some have work integrity, others don't. Challenging tasks but I like that. Worked my hardest like most of my colleagues but management is so unstable. They see staff mistakes but not theirs.
Pros
Short commute
Cons
Unstable Management
Was this review helpful?Yes20NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
2E Med-Surg Offsite Telemetry Clinical Nurse II (Former Employee) –  La Plata, MDJune 17, 2015
Good work environment. Great school system. Near Washington,DC but more of a rural area. Excellent and respectful workmates. Managers and Supervisors are A+.
Pros
Good environment
Cons
Low salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a Job
ER (Former Employee) –  La Plata MDJune 15, 2015
I did learn a lot about insurances and helping grieving family members cope with death. Most Co-workers were great, some a little catty, but that's typical when a bunch of females work together. The ER is used basically as a clinic so it stays packed so very busy environment. Upper management is a joke and favoritism is definitely present.
Pros
coworkers friendly
Cons
every other weekend and stuck on a shift before an offer of another comes along
Was this review helpful?Yes16No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  La Plata, MDMarch 7, 2015
This is a great job and has been a great experience. I have learned a a lot from this position. This is a good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advising workplace and taught me how to behave in an office
Volunteer - Human Resources Department (Former Employee) –  Waldorf, MDFebruary 15, 2015
I was about fourteen or fifteen while volunteering at Civista Medical Hospital, now called St. Charles Regional Center. I was required to be there at 8 a.m. and to stay until 4 p.m. That was a pretty long day for me because I was so young. I was to file patients' folders in alphabetical order, print, and occasionally answer the phone. I was given an hour for lunch and majority of the time I brought my own. The head secretary, who I volunteered under was a really nice lady. I don't think there was anything too difficult about volunteering in the HR Department, but the most enjoyable part would have had to have been learning how to behave in an office setting.
Pros
88 hours community service, learning to file papers
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes5No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Materials Management Technician (Former Employee) –  MDJanuary 12, 2015
Great place to work with great people. Liked the interaction with other departments. Always felt like the whole facility was a big family.
Pros
Great staff and co-workers
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family enviroment
Health Information Clerk (Former Employee) –  Laplata MarylandDecember 23, 2014
promote advancement, encourage education, flexible hours.
Really nice friendly people to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great spot
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  La plata, MarylandJuly 16, 2014
love my boss very Friendly always nice to me. Helped file charts and type memos.
Pros
summer job
Cons
they taught me how to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a very busy office but I loved working there with the doctor's and patients
Patient Service Representative (Former Employee) –  La Plata, MDFebruary 25, 2014
This was a very busy office, with a lot of sick people that one day you see them and the next day they could be gone. very sad
Pros
We would get lunch brought in about three times a week
Cons
losing the patients to there illness
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  LaPlata, MdDecember 27, 2013
Wonderful co-workers. Hardest part of job was dealing with frustrated customers in the Emergency Room.
Pros
free parking
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working here.
Patient Ambassador (Former Employee) –  La Plata, MDOctober 2, 2013
It was a great place to work. The management was willing to help me to learn so I could advance in the company. The job here was not really hard at all because all I had to do was go and talk to the patients and find out what would make their stay better.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Applied physician (Former Employee) –  La Plata, MDFebruary 17, 2013
Intern there for few months, majority of the people working there are very accommodating and nice to work with, they are all pleasant folks.
Pros
excellent
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized Health Care Facility
Assistant (Former Employee) –  La Plata, MDJanuary 22, 2013
A good place to gain unpaid experience and be surrounded by professionals.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Maryland Charles Regional Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 27 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9

University of Maryland Charles Regional Medical Center Reviews by Job Title

University of Maryland Charles Regional Medical Center Reviews by Location