Find companies:
University of Maryland Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
87 reviews

University of Maryland Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UMMS is a very professional, family-oriented workplace.
Equipment Distribution Center (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDDecember 27, 2013
A typical work day is 8 hours of standing or walking, gathering equipment for distribution.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDDecember 27, 2013
Good learning enviroment. Would be a better work place if management took better acknowlegement of work flow and scheduling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job, grunt work.
Helpdesk specialist (Current Employee), Columbia, MDDecember 19, 2013
Work includes Answering constant phone calls for several hospitals while support e-mail and voice mail communications. Management does not take no for an answer.
Coworkers are pleasant and easy to get along with.
The hardest part of the job is juggling 100+ tickets in an eight hour shift while maintaining good customer service and management constantly – more... giving more work without proper help on the floor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and informative place to work at. I enjoyed working there.
Transplant Coordinator Assistant (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDDecember 12, 2013
In the morning I would come in check my email/voicemail messages/fax machines and promptly respond. I would then grab the patients charts that I am actively working on and enter pertinant information in out data system and contact the patient if needed. During my tenure in this position, I learned a lot about kidney disease as well as the transplantation – more... process. Everyone that I worked with at UMMC were great, from some of the best transplant surgeons to the security officers. The hardest part about leaving my job is that I will no longer be connected to the patients I worked closely with. The most enjoyable and treasured moments of the transplant department is when my patients were placed on the UNOS list and when they received their organ. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, but cost constraints are impacting resources
Social Worker (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDDecember 1, 2013
Pros: atmosphere, feeling of accomplishment; contact with clients is very rewarding
Cons: transitioning into a new business culture
Fully occupied with responsibilities.
Work from 8:30 am to 5:00 pm
Pleasant co-workers
Good cafeteria
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and acqurie viable skills
App Sys Analyst III / Sr. Tech Computer Trainer (Former Employee), Linthicum and Baltimore, MDNovember 27, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: economic situation dictating employees be let go.
Even though I was one of 400 let go in June 2013 after 9 years, working for the hospital was still a wonderful experience. Interacting with medical personnel and fellow trainers was an honor as well as fun.

Direct management was excellent and very supportive. I was never micromanaged and allowed to be a self starter and creative in my training responsibilities

The – more... hardest part of the job was leaving while the most enjoyable was being able to train others.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job continue to help me learn how to deal with members daily.
Residential Counselor (Current Employee), Baltimore MarylandOctober 25, 2013
Pros: seeing the meeber trainsition back into the community with learned skills.
Cons: when transitions don`t take place as expected.
I work in the Residential Setting with Male Adults to provide services to help gain independence back into the community. Administer Medication, and teach skills, and write IRP`S to help develop a plan to assist with the transition back into the community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very nice but busy place to work
Registration Clerk (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDOctober 25, 2013
Pros: pot lucks all the time/ great pay/ great benefits
Cons: parking
I worked ER so it was very busy but fun and interesting. There is not a day that you don't see something different or learn something different. The employees, some are like family and some remind minded me of when i was in high school. the hardest part about that job was parking and lunch hours thee best part was that your downtown
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the place where the employees never feel the workload and enjoy
Medical Technologist I (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDSeptember 30, 2013
As a Medical Technologist, I worked in Hematology Laboratory and worked in both, north and south Labs of University of Maryland Medical Center.

I worked night shift. It was busy all the time. It was the first time, I worked night shift (full time job).

Management: There was a weekly Laboratory meeting and there was discussion about the pros and cons.

Co-workers: – more... They were friendly and we helped each other

The hardest part of the job: The volume of the specimens was heavy and if there was problem in the analyzer, It was hard to report the results on time.

The most enjoyable part of the job was to read the smears in Hematology. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place for working experience
ICU Nurse (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: good learning place
Cons: hard job
very fast pace. learning place to start at. good management. nice working environment. job is hard but fun
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Internship Position, Analytical and Staff Support (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDSeptember 23, 2013
Collaborated with management and received substantial experience in analytical tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My professional duties at University of Maryland Medical System IT Department
Instruction Coordinator (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDAugust 29, 2013
My daily work day consisted of Managing an EMR information System application including the design, development, deliver, evaluation, continuous improvement, and optimizing classroom, virtual classroom, and online training. I am responsible for managing all logistics associated with training delivery preparation activities to include developing and – more... printing classroom training materials, set-up classroom, scheduling students in a student learning management system. During my employment at University of Maryland, I have faithfully collaborated, supported and mentored my co-workers, project team members, and students who attended classroom. The hardest part of my job consisted of ensuring all of the students, who had attended class, achieved basic knowledge and understanding of the classroom lesson objectives in order for them to complete their job in an efficient manner. The most enjoyable part of my job consisted of several things, working closely with my co-workers, knowing my students have accomplished their lesson objectives, and going to my students work and seeing how well they are applying what they learned. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I've Accomplished..
patient service representative (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDAugust 28, 2013
Pros: you are noticed cards, awards, gift cards
Cons: short lunch breaks
A typical day at UMMS is very busy with patients,vistors & medical staff.From time to time the patients check in until they leave.A days work is consistantly involved around my patients and their vistors; whether its obtaining,demographics information or guiding visitors in the right direction.Life at umms is amazing.Throughout my years at umms I have – more... learned how to register and admit patients,collect and verify insurance info and copays,I have also trained many of the new staff that will soon follow my footsteps to success.At UMMS PAS dept mangement is great.Our management team puts fourth effort to see that their employees have what is needed to be successful.There is also room for development and growth and most importantly we grow as a team.I also have wonderful peers who work as a team to get the job done.My teammates are awesome when it come to pulling together to make sure no one falls short on their work.The hardest part of the job is leaving my patients in the hospital when my shift is over knowing I cant assist.Seperation from my patients is hard,because of my compassion towards them.The most enjoyable part of my job is helping others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall UMMS is an excellent environment to work.
MD United States (Current Employee), TransplantAugust 23, 2013
At UMMS you gain a wealth of skills and knowledge that will surely take you to your highest. From deescalating conflict to managing patients in need of a higher level of care and everything in between, your skills and care management grow intensively. It is a safe, patient friendly center that provides not only patients but family a warm environment. – more... Management on my unit has changed since I've been there( in 2 years) but you can definitely tell the difference in styles. The hardest part of the job would be working short staffed but is manageable. The most enjoyable would be being able to take care of different patients with multiple acute diagnoses ensuring your learning experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PROTECT AND SERVE
Sergeant/Special Police Officer (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDAugust 17, 2013
I LOVE MY JOB BECAUSE I GET TO HELP PEOPLE OUT ON A DAILY BASIS...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive great place to work.
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDAugust 13, 2013
Very productive and face paced place to work. I learned a lot working here, the staff is excellent and are always willing to teach you something new and exciting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Surgical Support Technician (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDAugust 12, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
its a very good hospital to work.its a teching hospital so they are willing to help anyone learn no matter wat your job title is
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Medical Record Technician (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDAugust 6, 2013
Great place to work. Great benefits and pay. Delightful people and work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Cool
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDAugust 3, 2013
It is a cool place to work. Everybody is friendly and polite. i have learned a lot from this job. but the most hardest part of the job was finding help when it was needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managing 25 Individuals
Inventory & Logistics Supervisor (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDJuly 25, 2013
-writing schedules
-conducting reviews
-committee meetings
-customer services
-problem solving
-critical thinking
-unit projects
-payroll
-purchasing medical supplies
-time management