University of Massachusetts Amherst Employee Reviews in United States

Found 52 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Assistant at UMass
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAJune 13, 2016
While as a undergraduate student at UMass Amherst, I began a volunteer independent study in a graduate research laboratory. It was one of the most rewarding decisions I have made since I realized my love for the laboratory environment and culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student
Advanced Degree Student (Current Employee) –  Amherst, MAJune 4, 2016
excellent cirrculum, great professor, flexible classes. I am learning so much, especially in the orgnanic farming program
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work in.
Research Assisstant (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAMay 25, 2016
Professors are really there to help you. Got a lot to learn from my 3 years at UMass.
Thought me management of time, working independently and in a team.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great research medium
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Amherst, MAApril 6, 2016
University of Massachusetts Amherst has excellent Chemistry PhD program. It is a perfect research medium with abundant research facilities with the help of Polymer Science and Engineering Department.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work as a graduate assistant
Graduate Student (Current Employee) –  Amherst, MAMarch 30, 2016
The university could be doing a better job with supporting their graduate students, however, the individual faculty and staff within departments are lovely to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Student (Current Employee) –  Amherst, MAMarch 27, 2016
The University of Massachusetts Amherst brings out the ingenuity of its students by assigning challenging projects that require innovative solutions
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Math Tutor (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAMarch 18, 2016
Friendly environment where you build the ability to work in teams and also learn skills that will use at most jobs.
Management works alongside employees
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Umass Amherst provides many job opportunities for students.
Cooking Assistant (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAMarch 15, 2016
jobs include bus drivers, library assistant, dining hall assistant and tutor. So students can get experience and learn more about the campus. But the hardest part of the job is that when I worked at dining hall, I have stand for 4 hours, that's so tired.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has it's ups and Downs
Prep Cook (Current Employee) –  Amherst, MAMarch 13, 2016
If Upper Management can work on improving their communication and people skills it would trickle down the ranks and make the environment a lot more pleasant place to work
Pros
Free meals, good staff
Cons
Poor Communication, lack of professionalism amongst the higher managment
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UMass
Systems Administrator (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAFebruary 9, 2016
Good place to work and study, supportive administration and managers are top notch! Great school and lots of work related activities that make it a good community
Pros
State University
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Clerk IV / Receiving Teller (Current Employee) –  Amherst, MAJanuary 6, 2016
on the job computer training, nice friendly atmosphere, flexible schedules

nice co-workers, assorted cafeterias with diversive meals
Pros
computer training
Cons
low advancement opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment, helpful advising.
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MASeptember 11, 2015
A graduate program is nothing short of difficult, but is rewarding, nonetheless. At UMass, I was able to learn a variety of synthetic tools to help achieve the goal of my thesis, development of a photoclick probe. With the help of my advisors and lab mates, challenges were repeatedly overcome to obtain difficult target compounds in the high yields necessary for further use. The social atmosphere of the office room was amicable, and conversations included everything from sports, literature, music, comic relief, and of course, lab work.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Graduate assistant (Current Employee) –  University of Massachusetts AmherstSeptember 1, 2015
Supportive team environment. My team members are always very helpful if I get stuck and easy to get in touch with. Work is always evenly distributed. Work environment is relaxed and fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to gain experience
Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  Amherst, MAJune 22, 2015
Working at UMass was a great educational experience. I learned to isolate endophytes from Artemisia annua for research on malaria treatment. I gained experience in long-term culture maintenance and media preparation specific to isolating fungal endophytes.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work as an Undergrad
GI Bill Certifying/Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Amherst, mAMay 13, 2015
The Dean of Students office is an excellent place for a UMass student to make some extra cash while gaining work experience. The office staff/Deans are very friendly and easy to get along with.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to do research
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAApril 13, 2015
surrounding area is nice to live in
great place to do research
far away from cities, not enough companies come to recruit
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment for research
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  AmherstMarch 5, 2015
UMass Amherst is located in a small town which is quite and peaceful. It's a perfect place for scholar to settle down and do some serious research.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work as a student
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Amherst, MAMarch 4, 2015
Provided me with many opportunities to put into practice what I was learning in my classes and gave me the skills I need in the workforce.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UMass was a productive and fun place to further my education
Security Monitor for Residential Life (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAFebruary 16, 2015
While studying at UMass I was employed. I was a lifeguard, security monitor, and research assistant at UMass. Each of these positions advanced my communication, organizational, and time-management skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting fast paced research opportunity
Professor Conner Lab (Current Employee) –  Amherst, MAJanuary 27, 2015
Laboratories on campus offer numerous opportunities for undergraduates to research under a professor or graduate student. Throughout my stay I have worked in several of these labs, learning and achieving as much as possible. The university has plenty of room for self motivated students to succeed.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No

Overall rating

4.6
Based on 55 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.0
Culture
4.5

University of Massachusetts Amherst Reviews by Location