Find companies:
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
37 reviews

University of Massachusetts Amherst Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work as a student
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Amherst, MAMarch 4, 2015
Provided me with many opportunities to put into practice what I was learning in my classes and gave me the skills I need in the workforce.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UMass was a productive and fun place to further my education
Security Monitor for Residential Life (Former Employee), Amherst, MAFebruary 16, 2015
While studying at UMass I was employed. I was a lifeguard, security monitor, and research assistant at UMass. Each of these positions advanced my communication, organizational, and time-management skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting fast paced research opportunity
Professor Conner Lab (Current Employee), Amherst, MAJanuary 27, 2015
Laboratories on campus offer numerous opportunities for undergraduates to research under a professor or graduate student. Throughout my stay I have worked in several of these labs, learning and achieving as much as possible. The university has plenty of room for self motivated students to succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University Programming Council
Event Coordinator (Former Employee), Amherst, MAJanuary 18, 2015
Planned events for the entire campus community such as concerts and weekly movie showings. Some times the executive board was un organized and did not train us very well. But it was a terrific experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for research, always has good resource.
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Amherst, MAOctober 7, 2014
I learned how to cooperate with other people. Group members always help each other. My research work contains measurement part, which I need to take the measurement in a out-door environment. People passing by keep asking what I am doing, and I think that's a good sign since that means what I am doing is interested by other people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Teaching Assitance (Former Employee), Amherst, MAOctober 5, 2014
Pros: good work life balance
Cons: too many students
It's just a TA/RA accompanying the PhD study

You just teaching 20 student as a class

Make them understand the lab and do it

It's really hard to make them understand.

You can know lots of kids.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scientific Research at UMass Amherst
Graduate Researcher (Current Employee), Amherst, MASeptember 7, 2014
Daily routine consisted in understanding complex problems in soft-matter system and developing models to help study them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative Learning and Teaching Environment
o Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Amherst, MAAugust 16, 2014
Spent meetings with Professor and fellow TA organizing curriculum for the college level Interpersonal Skills for managers course.
Communicated with students via e-mail, phone and in person to clarify their Thesis Projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent college
New Student Program Leader (Former Employee), Amherst, MAJuly 3, 2014
A great place to work. The people to work with at New Students Program are top notch.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I didn't work here
Senior Board Member (Former Employee), Amherst, MAJune 25, 2014
Chicken chicken CHicken Chicken chicken CHicken Chicken chicken CHicken Chicken chicken CHicken Chicken chicken CHicken Chicken chicken CHicken Chicken chicken CHicken Chicken chicken CHicken
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping students
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee), Amherst, MAJune 14, 2014
As a TA, I felt that I could help students succeed in a class known to be particularly difficult. I shared my successful studying strategies and found that many of my students used them and did really well in the class.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pre-doctoral internship
APA-Accredited Pre-doctoral Internship (Former Employee), Amherst, MAApril 27, 2014
worked as part of interdisciplinary team of clinicians and psychiatrists to provide mental health services to campus of 27,000 students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, no benefits
Microbiology Departmental Assistant (Former Employee), Amherst, MAApril 27, 2014
I worked full-time as a laboratory technician and received no benefits. I didn't think this was fair at all. Any time I took off, was unpaid.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked independently
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Amherst, MAApril 18, 2014
Data entry completed on my own schedule. I learned time management and a great deal about the process of doing research.

Friendly and intelligent staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work at and a good place to pursue my education.
Resident Assistant (Current Employee), Amherst, MAApril 9, 2014
Love to work with people in the safe residential community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with lot of opportunity to learn new concepts, develop communication skills, and develop leadership skills
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Amherst, MAApril 8, 2014
Pros: personal and professional development
Cons: moderate income
Typical day as senior graduate student involves.
1). Independent research towards dissertation
2). Guiding undergraduate students in the laboratory towards their honors thesis.
3). Teaching either in undergraduate chemistry laboratory or in the nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) facility at the university.
4). Attending seminars within the department or in relevant departments.
5). Presenting or attending meetings within our research group or in the department.

Hardest and most enjoyable part is time management and multitasking, this part is developed and nurtured over the years in graduate school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent team environment supportive of professional growth!
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Amherst, MAMarch 22, 2014
TA meetings every other week were useful in planning class activities or to troubleshoot any issues. Class time, I always found to be too brief (50 minutes) could always go over with discussion topics. Hardest part of this position were the blank stares from students on Friday mornings. However, when the students understood the content, did the readings, and contributed to class discussion you could not be more proud.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Teachers Assistant (Former Employee), Amherst, MAFebruary 20, 2014
They have a punitive hazing aspect to their education style. I felt I deserved an adviser and a supervisor that would inspire me not break me down.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Knowledgeable Work experience
Head Undergraduate Teacher Assistant (Current Employee), Amherst, MAFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: manageable work
Attended the class I was a Teacher Assistant for. Hold office hours where many students would want a quick review or extra help. Recorded all the hours of the other Teacher Assistants. Co-workers and professors were very respectable. The hardest part would be finding people to cover office hours that were missed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), Amherst, MAFebruary 12, 2014
Umass Amherst had many opportunities and subjects to offer