Find companies:
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
29 reviews

University of Massachusetts Amherst Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent college
New Student Program Leader (Former Employee), Amherst, MAJuly 3, 2014
A great place to work. The people to work with at New Students Program are top notch.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I didn't work here
Senior Board Member (Former Employee), Amherst, MAJune 25, 2014
Chicken chicken CHicken Chicken chicken CHicken Chicken chicken CHicken Chicken chicken CHicken Chicken chicken CHicken Chicken chicken CHicken Chicken chicken CHicken Chicken chicken CHicken
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping students
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee), Amherst, MAJune 14, 2014
As a TA, I felt that I could help students succeed in a class known to be particularly difficult. I shared my successful studying strategies and found that many of my students used them and did really well in the class.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pre-doctoral internship
APA-Accredited Pre-doctoral Internship (Former Employee), Amherst, MAApril 27, 2014
worked as part of interdisciplinary team of clinicians and psychiatrists to provide mental health services to campus of 27,000 students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, no benefits
Microbiology Departmental Assistant (Former Employee), Amherst, MAApril 27, 2014
I worked full-time as a laboratory technician and received no benefits. I didn't think this was fair at all. Any time I took off, was unpaid.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked independently
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Amherst, MAApril 18, 2014
Data entry completed on my own schedule. I learned time management and a great deal about the process of doing research.

Friendly and intelligent staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work at and a good place to pursue my education.
Resident Assistant (Current Employee), Amherst, MAApril 9, 2014
Love to work with people in the safe residential community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with lot of opportunity to learn new concepts, develop communication skills, and develop leadership skills
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Amherst, MAApril 8, 2014
Pros: personal and professional development
Cons: moderate income
Typical day as senior graduate student involves.
1). Independent research towards dissertation
2). Guiding undergraduate students in the laboratory towards their honors thesis.
3). Teaching either in undergraduate chemistry laboratory or in the nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) facility at the university.
4). Attending seminars within the department – more... or in relevant departments.
5). Presenting or attending meetings within our research group or in the department.

Hardest and most enjoyable part is time management and multitasking, this part is developed and nurtured over the years in graduate school. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent team environment supportive of professional growth!
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Amherst, MAMarch 22, 2014
TA meetings every other week were useful in planning class activities or to troubleshoot any issues. Class time, I always found to be too brief (50 minutes) could always go over with discussion topics. Hardest part of this position were the blank stares from students on Friday mornings. However, when the students understood the content, did the readings, – more... and contributed to class discussion you could not be more proud. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Teachers Assistant (Former Employee), Amherst, MAFebruary 20, 2014
They have a punitive hazing aspect to their education style. I felt I deserved an adviser and a supervisor that would inspire me not break me down.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Knowledgeable Work experience
Head Undergraduate Teacher Assistant (Current Employee), Amherst, MAFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: manageable work
Attended the class I was a Teacher Assistant for. Hold office hours where many students would want a quick review or extra help. Recorded all the hours of the other Teacher Assistants. Co-workers and professors were very respectable. The hardest part would be finding people to cover office hours that were missed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), Amherst, MAFebruary 12, 2014
Umass Amherst had many opportunities and subjects to offer
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working in a multi culture group
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), Amherst, MAFebruary 7, 2014
Being a graduate research assistant for about 5 years at UMass-Amherst, I worked on two different projects in the field of converting the biomass into energy. In the past 5 years, I learned and accumulated the substantial knowledge of reaction chemical engineering. Also, working in a group with people from all over the world helps me improve the interpersonal – more... and communication skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teaching undergraduates
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee), Amherst, MADecember 28, 2013
It was great helping students in the lab because I had taken the class before
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Amherst, MASeptember 26, 2013
happy experience
very good insurance benefits.

a typical day at work 9-6
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student job
Electronic Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Amherst, MASeptember 11, 2013
It is my favorite school so far. All professors are great. It has a great location. I highly recommended this school to everyone. You will learn everything that you need for your career plus 1 thing in UMASS Amherst.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UMass Amherst - A Nice Univeristy
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Amherst, MASeptember 6, 2013
I am a research assistant in the department. I am satisfied with the working environment at UMass Amherst.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and family-like place to work
Public Health Undergrad Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Amherst, MAJuly 21, 2013
I have enjoyed working in all of the positions that I held at UMass Amherst.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UMASS Amherst
Teacher Assistant (Current Employee), Amherst, MAMay 9, 2013
Pros: great teachers, great food
Cons: the construction
Over all it was good :) The teachers managed the class time well, an I always knew what was expected of me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse opportunity
Practicum Supervisor, Special Education Department (Current Employee), Amherst, MAApril 4, 2013
Pros: professors are interested in helping students
Working at the University I have been exposed to a variety of different teaching styles and perspectives.