Find companies:
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21 reviews

University of Massachusetts Amherst Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with lot of opportunity to learn new concepts, develop communication skills, and develop leadership skills
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Amherst, MAApril 8, 2014
Pros: personal and professional development
Cons: moderate income
Typical day as senior graduate student involves.
1). Independent research towards dissertation
2). Guiding undergraduate students in the laboratory towards their honors thesis.
3). Teaching either in undergraduate chemistry laboratory or in the nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) facility at the university.
4). Attending seminars within the department – more... or in relevant departments.
5). Presenting or attending meetings within our research group or in the department.

Hardest and most enjoyable part is time management and multitasking, this part is developed and nurtured over the years in graduate school. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent team environment supportive of professional growth!
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Amherst, MAMarch 22, 2014
TA meetings every other week were useful in planning class activities or to troubleshoot any issues. Class time, I always found to be too brief (50 minutes) could always go over with discussion topics. Hardest part of this position were the blank stares from students on Friday mornings. However, when the students understood the content, did the readings, – more... and contributed to class discussion you could not be more proud. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Teachers Assistant (Former Employee), Amherst, MAFebruary 20, 2014
They have a punitive hazing aspect to their education style. I felt I deserved an adviser and a supervisor that would inspire me not break me down.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Knowledgeable Work experience
Head Undergraduate Teacher Assistant (Current Employee), Amherst, MAFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: manageable work
Attended the class I was a Teacher Assistant for. Hold office hours where many students would want a quick review or extra help. Recorded all the hours of the other Teacher Assistants. Co-workers and professors were very respectable. The hardest part would be finding people to cover office hours that were missed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), Amherst, MAFebruary 12, 2014
Umass Amherst had many opportunities and subjects to offer
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working in a multi culture group
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), Amherst, MAFebruary 7, 2014
Being a graduate research assistant for about 5 years at UMass-Amherst, I worked on two different projects in the field of converting the biomass into energy. In the past 5 years, I learned and accumulated the substantial knowledge of reaction chemical engineering. Also, working in a group with people from all over the world helps me improve the interpersonal – more... and communication skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teaching undergraduates
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee), Amherst, MADecember 28, 2013
It was great helping students in the lab because I had taken the class before
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Amherst, MASeptember 26, 2013
happy experience
very good insurance benefits.

a typical day at work 9-6
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student job
Electronic Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Amherst, MASeptember 11, 2013
It is my favorite school so far. All professors are great. It has a great location. I highly recommended this school to everyone. You will learn everything that you need for your career plus 1 thing in UMASS Amherst.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UMass Amherst - A Nice Univeristy
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Amherst, MASeptember 6, 2013
I am a research assistant in the department. I am satisfied with the working environment at UMass Amherst.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and family-like place to work
Public Health Undergrad Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Amherst, MAJuly 21, 2013
I have enjoyed working in all of the positions that I held at UMass Amherst.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UMASS Amherst
Teacher Assistant (Current Employee), Amherst, MAMay 9, 2013
Pros: great teachers, great food
Cons: the construction
Over all it was good :) The teachers managed the class time well, an I always knew what was expected of me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse opportunity
Practicum Supervisor, Special Education Department (Current Employee), Amherst, MAApril 4, 2013
Pros: professors are interested in helping students
Working at the University I have been exposed to a variety of different teaching styles and perspectives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work in a lab for credit at school. I do not receive money
Student Lab Researcher (Current Employee), Amherst, MAMarch 22, 2013
Amazing lab. Gain valuable experience. Work with mice, Western blots.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting work
Curator (Former Employee), Amherst, MAMarch 4, 2013
Pros: unique opportunity
Cons: dusty
Within a University atmosphere the code of conduct was professional and learning based. The work was very interesting allowing for the direct examination of extinct and endangered species preserved in our collection. The co-workers were motivated and fun to work with, but also provided meaningful insight.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee), Amherst, MAJanuary 25, 2013
I believe the University of Massachusetts has a collaborative atmosphere that is pleasant to be a part of as a graduate student. The facilities are nothing spectacular, but there are a few pieces of equipment that are state of the art.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time-consuming job that requires unique personality
Resident Assistant (Current Employee), Amherst, MAJanuary 2, 2013
Pros: free room, paid position
Cons: time consuming, strict guidelines
My job required that I was able to respond to residents' inquiries at all times in the day.

I was periodically required to be "on-duty" which meant that I both worked in an office performing general office tasks and patrolling the hallways for misbehavior.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work experience
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Amherst, MANovember 15, 2012
enjoyed the environment and experience of tutoring, teaching.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Campus Recreations
Head Coach, Women's Ice Hockey (Former Employee), Amherst, MAOctober 19, 2012
Great people, fun sports culture environment. Worked directly under director of campus recreation who was a great mentor for sucess
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student work
Student Consultant, PC Classroom Operations (PCCO) (Former Employee), Amherst, MAAugust 1, 2012
Supportive and creative work environment. I learned to be patient and amicable