University of Massachusetts Amherst Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awareness and personal dedication is the key to success.
Intern (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MA 01003October 28, 2017
If you are not committed to the work you are doing it will show and you will not succeed. Tons of brilliant people to learn and grow with great for professional development.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Research Lab Manager (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAOctober 27, 2017
Working at a graduate research assistant was a great opportunity and a wonderful experience. My professor and lab manager was a great mentor and helped me to grow as a researcher.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits but poor management
Major Gift Officer (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAOctober 15, 2017
Excellent benefits but low pay and very poor management. The Dean of the Business School is a megalomaniac and drives quality people away from the School.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Low salary and poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Amherst, MAOctober 4, 2017
Fun place to work, learnt a lot, very good management and food!
Very competitive yet overall personality development!
Will surely recommend this place to others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Amherst, MASeptember 4, 2017
Nice place to work and live since 1) it is a University; 2) in Massachusetts. I think the balance between workload and life outside of the University can be made.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really miss UMass+Amherst
Postdoctoral Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MASeptember 2, 2017
I worked at UMass for almost 2 years. I did not want to leave that place but I had to, unfortunately. My supervisor was fair and very competent, and both my boss and I were sad when I had to leave. The job was great and gave a lot to my profession. The town of Amherst is wonderful: Safe, clean and green. I also knew a lot of good people and friends. I really miss the entire UMass+Amherst experience...and every time I think about that, a tear comes out.
Pros
People and everything else but the arctic weather
Cons
Cold Weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful experience
Financial Aid Officer (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAAugust 29, 2017
I had a challenging and wonderful experience working with different people both young and old. The experience in financial aid was particularly challenging, informative and fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place for a PhD
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Amherst, MAAugust 24, 2017
Professors are brilliant and nice. Amherst is a beautiful town. Good place for getting a PhD degree, though living expense is a little high as a small town.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive yet very friendly working environment
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAAugust 8, 2017
My work in the chemistry lab provided me with sufficient working skills. People are willing to help each other, and generally very friendly and easy to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Asset to your resume
Minute Movers Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAJuly 26, 2017
My typical day of work here consisted of carrying heavy and lite objects up and downstairs and greeting incoming students. This is a volunteer position.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research is both Interesting and Educational
Hyperspectral Imaging Researcher (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAJuly 21, 2017
Participating in research is a rewarding way to learn about a subject and earn a little experience for the future. Find a professor that will support your learning and you will find the experience enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAJuly 19, 2017
As a resident assistant, I learn an large amount of new interpersonal skills between fellow coworkers and residents. The most enjoyable part of the job was building new relationships and meeting new people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Education!
Lab Manager (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAJuly 18, 2017
UMass provided me with a great education and great connections that have been a benefit to me! I worked as an EMT here and met someone who helped me get a job at an Ambulance company!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to research
Researcher (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAJuly 16, 2017
Flexible hours and great company. This was done for credit and I learned a lot about creating nano particles, equipment maintenance and the scientific method.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teachers Assistant
Teacher's Assistant (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAJuly 8, 2017
This was a 10hr per week teachers assistant position. I was compensated with school credits as opposed to any pay. This was done while I was a student at UMASS Amherst. I graded assignments and exams. I ran review sessions weekly where students got together to go over class topics they were struggling on. Helped with studying and held office hours each week to help student along in this difficult class of Behavioral Neuroendocrinology.
Pros
Make my own hours as long as it added up to 10per week
Cons
none come to mind
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benefits but thats about it
Accelerated Program Assistant, Course Scehduler (Current Employee) –  Amherst, MAJune 27, 2017
there is a lot of politics working for the state. no advancement possible. poor managment - lots of road blocks. Expensive parking. Low moral. Everyone is miserable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family-like culture
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAJune 27, 2017
The UMass Food science graduate program has a close-knit culture. Everyone is friendly and willing to help one another. The department may be small, but I believe it is one of its greatest strengths.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I just did this
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Amherst, MAJune 22, 2017
I just did a review on Umass and I am not sure why I need to do another one. It is a good place to work that pays decent for a college student over the summer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to do research
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAJune 19, 2017
good place to do research because the research directors were nice the only problem i had was that it was difficult to get an id pass in the office because they were busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers
Online Store (Current Employee) –  Amherst, MAJune 14, 2017
My co-Workers are what kept me sane while working on the campus. Due to the high turn over rate I feel as if my employment isn't valued. There is no room for advancement which makes it hard to make a surviving living wage
Pros
store discount
Cons
no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Massachusetts Amherst. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 168 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
4.0
Culture
4.2

University of Massachusetts Amherst Reviews by Location