University of Massachusetts Employee Reviews

Showing all 180 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working here
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAJune 18, 2017
I was simply a teacher's assistant here while obtaining my master's degree, but learned a great deal from the Sport Management faculty when it came to teaching.
Pros
Dedicated faculty
Cons
Non-full-time position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didn't work there long enough
Peer Mentor (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MA 01604June 16, 2017
I didn't really work at Umass long enough to form a sound opinion. For the brief time I worked there, things seemed okay, although the environment could be a little stressful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UMass Boston
Lecturer (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 10, 2017
Great people. Great place to work. One of the best urban universities in the country and one of the most diverse and interesting communities anywhere.
Pros
Great people.
Cons
Campus constantly under construction.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hkasdoids
Admin Assistant/Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 8, 2017
Poor Staffs, Some professors need to quit or get fired, New professors need to come in because those who are doing bad job do not get fired thereby damaging the image of the school.
Pros
Wonderful Location
Cons
Too many mediocre professors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive.
Senior Librarian Assistant - Lydon Library (Former Employee) –  Lowell, MAMay 26, 2017
Its a work study job on campus typically fun to show up for work and do a lot of studying while also getting the job done. I work less than 7 hours a day on the job, coming to work everyday is so encouraging .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most wonderful experience of my life
Tutor/Grader/Grad Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Lowell, MAMay 22, 2017
Management, faculty, staff are excellent to study with and to work with them as well. They care about me. They value their employee and their work. It is highly recommended working over here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Study and Work
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Lowell, MAMay 18, 2017
Worked as a tutor at UMass Lowell Centers for Tutoring and later worked as a teaching assistant during my masters program. Everything was great and everyone there was friendly. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Shrewsbury, MAMay 17, 2017
This is a highly professional and dynamic workplace. Salary and benefits are great and very competitive. Life work balance is valued and encourage but high expectations are in place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Life/Work Balance
Assistant Nurse Researcher (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 10, 2017
Was a student at the time of employment and it was a good life/work balance so you could do our school work along with your research job roles. Could be busy during finals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is similar to a city
Assistant to Directors (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAMay 6, 2017
There are several different departments on this campus and I can only speak for the ones I worked in. Most people were great. This can definitely be a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UMass the best place for studying and working
Office Manager/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAApril 30, 2017
I highly recommend working and studying at the University - the benefits are great - the environment and atmosphere is conducive to learning and growing!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed getting out in the neighborhood meeting a variety of people each day
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAApril 22, 2017
The hardest part of the job was going up to different households each day and gaining the homeowners confidence enough to invite me in and answer a 40 minute survey of personal questions.
Pros
freedom of time to complete surveys
Cons
Security was sometimes a concern
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Politically motivated environment
TECHNICIAN III (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAApril 9, 2017
Initially when I began working at UMass it was very enjoyable and productive. My first 3 years I enjoyed going to work. Management and co-workers were friendly and respectful. I was moved to a different department. The environment became very toxic and unproductive. I hated going to work.
Pros
Mostly friendly environment
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a really good first job experience
Peer Mentor (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 5, 2017
This was my first job, and my supervisor is really helpful for me.
Your mileage might vary but the meetings with the students are all right and my peers are really cordial and nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
Assistant to the Provost (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAMarch 26, 2017
Great opportunity to learn, and to do actual administration in very special programs. Great time and served with some fantastic people. It gave me a great foundation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A University that drives the driven.
Residence Hall Association (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAMarch 23, 2017
This University advocates to push students to excel in their field. The university works to educate the students in real life work environment situations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but great management and support
Front Desk/Departmental Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 21, 2017
It was a work study job, so only was able to work a certain amount of hours a week. Some days are busier than others, mostly I did office work. Great management team, they are really supportive and fun people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a Student
Student (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAMarch 11, 2017
Can say that after being there for some time, you have to find a niche for your self, it will never come to you. Otherwise, you will feel like your spire number.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top Tier Quality Establishment
Hampshire Dining Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Amherst, MAMarch 7, 2017
I have had a passion for the food industry and having the pleasure of gaining more knowledge and learning how Universities are bringing local "Farm to Table" food production to the faculty/students.

The staff from the Chef's, Department Management, line Staff, kitchen Staff, you will always see people enjoying their jobs and working well together.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lowell, MAMarch 6, 2017
Great benefits, health insurance is fairly priced. Pay is less than comparable positions at other schools. Overall a good work environment with opportunities to help others every day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Massachusetts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 180 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.0
Culture
4.3

CEO Approval

89%
37 ratings
Add your rating

University of Massachusetts Reviews by Location