University of Massachusetts Employee Reviews

Showing all 168 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed getting out in the neighborhood meeting a variety of people each day
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAApril 22, 2017
The hardest part of the job was going up to different households each day and gaining the homeowners confidence enough to invite me in and answer a 40 minute survey of personal questions.
Pros
freedom of time to complete surveys
Cons
Security was sometimes a concern
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Politically motivated environment
TECHNICIAN III (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAApril 9, 2017
Initially when I began working at UMass it was very enjoyable and productive. My first 3 years I enjoyed going to work. Management and co-workers were friendly and respectful. I was moved to a different department. The environment became very toxic and unproductive. I hated going to work.
Pros
Mostly friendly environment
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a really good first job experience
Peer Mentor (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 5, 2017
This was my first job, and my supervisor is really helpful for me.
Your mileage might vary but the meetings with the students are all right and my peers are really cordial and nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
Assistant to the Provost (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAMarch 26, 2017
Great opportunity to learn, and to do actual administration in very special programs. Great time and served with some fantastic people. It gave me a great foundation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A University that drives the driven.
Residence Hall Association (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAMarch 23, 2017
This University advocates to push students to excel in their field. The university works to educate the students in real life work environment situations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but great management and support
Front Desk/Departmental Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 21, 2017
It was a work study job, so only was able to work a certain amount of hours a week. Some days are busier than others, mostly I did office work. Great management team, they are really supportive and fun people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a Student
Student (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAMarch 11, 2017
Can say that after being there for some time, you have to find a niche for your self, it will never come to you. Otherwise, you will feel like your spire number.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top Tier Quality Establishment
Hampshire Dining Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Amherst, MAMarch 7, 2017
I have had a passion for the food industry and having the pleasure of gaining more knowledge and learning how Universities are bringing local "Farm to Table" food production to the faculty/students.

The staff from the Chef's, Department Management, line Staff, kitchen Staff, you will always see people enjoying their jobs and working well together.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lowell, MAMarch 6, 2017
Great benefits, health insurance is fairly priced. Pay is less than comparable positions at other schools. Overall a good work environment with opportunities to help others every day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect enviroment for learning
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, MAMarch 1, 2017
My job is mostly to help assist my professor work. I mostly spend time conducting the exams and help grade exam paper. Charlton college of business is newly constructed and has all the facilities. They recently introduced the 3D printers facility for everyone.
Pros
Quiet, Peaceful, Spacious
Cons
Construction going on in the campus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Assistant to the Director of Operations (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAFebruary 22, 2017
Would highly recommend working here. Wish I was still working here and could get a full time job here now that I'm done with school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working with professionals and got to learn a alot from them in such friendly environment
Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, MAFebruary 8, 2017
Got an opportunity to work with experienced professionals which motivated me to do better and helped me in upgrading and improving my technical, professional skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good University
Research Assistant in Susan Whitbourne's Lab (Current Employee) –  Amherst, MADecember 3, 2016
A wonderful place with good research and excellent job positions. I am only a student, and therefore working for credit, but I have enjoyed my time here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UMMS Review
Claims Analyst (Former Employee) –  Boston, MANovember 30, 2016
work-life balance is good. Pay is decent, benefits good. But employee appreciation and relationships with upper management is severely lacking.
Pros
free water, tea, coffee
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to do graduate studies and research
Research Engineer (Current Employee) –  Lowell, MANovember 7, 2016
Good place to do graduate studies and research. Mechanical Engineering Department is rapidly growing in terms of undergraduate students intake and research activities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doing Masters in Computer Science
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MANovember 4, 2016
Graduate student in Computer Science at University of Massachusetts Boston

I'm well curved in Web Development and inquisitive to learn about new technologies.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internal Audit Management are Hacks
Sr IT Auditor (Former Employee) –  Shrewsbury, MANovember 3, 2016
You'll find massive turnover in Internal Audit because Management is both insecure and incompetent. There's a very high level of complaints regarding both harassment and sexism. Quality staffing is quickly and easily poached by quality institutions. There's no money in public institutions. Good luck.
Pros
Ummmmm
Cons
See review
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Grader (Current Employee) –  Lowell, MAOctober 13, 2016
learning environment with lots of opportunities
Very friendly people around.
I enjoy my work everyday and like my school.I have got lot of opportunities from my school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gradschool with exceptional polymer focus
Graduate Researcher (Current Employee) –  Amherst, MaOctober 5, 2016
Fantastic program for polymer/material science. Well funded and largely independent from the university.

First year is all classes.

After that, a typical day is 9 - 12 hours of independent research.

hardest part of the job is dealing with your advisor.

I love the science and the challenges.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and sometimes challenging
Secretary (Current Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 25, 2016
We provide technical support to faculty, staff and students engaged in using classroom technology. It is a productive job in which you learn something new almost every day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Massachusetts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 168 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.0
Culture
4.3

University of Massachusetts Reviews by Location