Find companies:
University of Massachusetts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
75 reviews

University of Massachusetts Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate School
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Amherst, MAJanuary 17, 2014
Highly directed graduate school program. Each student is given adequate advisement. The department accommodated a nice balance between home and school life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Renewable Energy Researcher (Current Employee), Lowell, MAJanuary 7, 2014
gained experience in academic job. learned how to be a team player and managing my time and keep up with deadlines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Study
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Amherst, MANovember 21, 2013
• Performed research experiments on Protein Degradation, Unfolding, and Protein Quality Control
• Investigated the proteolytic activity between Response Regulators of Caulobacter crescentus and AAA+ ATP Dependent Protease.
• Studied response regulators in different pathways and CtrA and CpdR response regulators by using various lab techniques, such – more... as Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR), Agarose Gel Electrophoresis, Sodium Dodecyl Sulfate (SDS) Polyacrylamide Gel Electrophoresis, Miniprep, Restriction Digestion, Transformation, Western Blot, Synchronization, Bacterial Adenylate Cyclase Two-Hybrid System (BACTH), and Taq Error Prone Mutagenesis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Enjoyable and Very Fast Paced Enviroment
Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Boston, MANovember 12, 2013
Pros: fast paced environment with great co-workers
Cons: not as much autonomy
Most days involved, checking in patients: vitals signs and initial chief complaint. Certain days at certain times I ran a flu clinic. I also participated in inventory and infection control.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Undergrad Research Opportunity
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Current Employee), Amherst, MANovember 7, 2013
Interesting and Engaging research program. Highly recommended
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research assistant
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Amherst, MAOctober 18, 2013
Pros: self management of time
Cons: low salry
While working with my thesis professor I was self motivated and engaged into topics that truly fascinated me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Assistance (internship)
Administrative Assistance (Internship) (Current Employee), Boston, MAOctober 10, 2013
I like working there so far but I am only on internship, the people here are nice, as in intern I feel a i do a lot.a lot of filingm,data entry copying papers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to manage a group of people and work on my management skills.
Housing Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), Amherst, MAOctober 4, 2013
The days would fluctuate depending on what work was needed, making each day have something new to offer. Being in charge of a crew up to eight members that would fluctuate from semester to semester, I had to learn each member's skills in a short amount of time and decide what each person excelled at. From here, each member would work together using – more... what he was best at to complete the tasks efficiently. The hardest part of the job was keeping these workers motivated, but at the same time, this was the most enjoyable part because it was an extremely enjoyable and successful working environment when we were all on the same page. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My passion for Audit
Parking Auditor (Current Employee), Boston, MASeptember 30, 2013
I enjoy wake up early from Monday to Friday to go to work. I am doing something I like, something I have a passion for. I am always busy at work. I keep myself very motivated to respond to my responsibilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job if you need a part-time
Student Receptionist (Former Employee), Boston, MASeptember 19, 2013
Pros: they work around your school schedule
Cons: wasn't busy
Summer time was most busiest time to work--It was usually very slow because people couldn't find the office
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to have a job while you are a student
Research and Teacher Assistant (Former Employee), Amherst, MASeptember 9, 2013
It is challenging to work with college students. You learn how to work with people with different major and personality.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Disability Assistant (Current Employee), Auburn, MASeptember 8, 2013
Pros: coworkers
The people really make the place where one works either pleasant or not. The people that I worked with were wonderful. Very friendly and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going work place
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Boston, MASeptember 3, 2013
Greeted customers of the department, or other personnel of the college, by phone, in person or through electronic media.
Handled requests/transactions or directs the person or matter to the proper sources.
• Assisted in resolving problems and ensuring satisfactory customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Clinical Instructor (Current Employee), Boston, MAAugust 15, 2013
UMASS Boston is a great university to work for. They have a high standard of teaching and learning experience set for the students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lackluster at Best
Assistant Professor (Former Employee), Amherst, MAAugust 14, 2013
Prospects for advancement are limited unless you are in administration and politically connected to the right people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place with wi-fi access all over campus.
Network Aide (Former Employee), Amherst, MAAugust 9, 2013
Good place with wi-fi access all over campus. The staff is very friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University of Massachusetts
Soil Laboratory Researcher (Former Employee), Amherst, MAJuly 22, 2013
One of the happiest times of life. Lots of field work, open scheduled, wonderful education. I left the position because my research ended.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality Customer Service Experience
Office Administrator, Information Center (Former Employee), Boston, MAJuly 21, 2013
• Preserved inventory from university departments, programs, and surroundings
• Provided support to administrative staff for various projects within Campus Center
• Supplied campus information and directions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great admosphere, wonderful people
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Boston, MAJuly 16, 2013
Pros: benefits, environment, pay, co workers
Very nice place to work
Helpful people
learning environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
RN (Current Employee), Walpole, MAJune 18, 2013
Pros: job security, union
Cons: upper management needs to be revamped
average pay with lower than expected management support. hours were steady and the working conditions were as expected.