Find companies:
University of Massachusetts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
89 reviews

University of Massachusetts Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Loved This Job
Study Abroad Assistant (Former Employee), Lowell, MAApril 28, 2013
Pros: environment
Cons: pay and contract worker.
A rewarding experience as a Study Abroad Assistant. Great office environment and compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviornment to work in.
CUSTOMER SERVICE COORDINATOR (Current Employee), Boston, MAApril 26, 2013
My co-workers are great! We get along just fine. Teamwork is valued and compliments flow reguarly. No one is too busy to lend a helping hand or to offer advice. Working here has also put me in direct contact with people from all different walks of life. UMass Boston is being on diversity and acceptance, its really a beautiful thing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned alot
ASSISTANT PROFESSOR (Former Employee), Worcester, MAApril 8, 2013
Pros: enjoyed working with students
Cons: long hours outside of work day to keep pace with review/editing of students work
Coordinated placement of students, reviewed and advised students on research papers, taught classes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome people dedicated to their profession.
Manufacturing Technician II (Former Employee), Jamaica Plain, MAMarch 24, 2013
Pros: 16 paid holiday, 2 weeks sick time allowed to be acrued vacation, retirement
Checking cold rooms and storage areas. Entering data from plasma shipments, dressing in protective garments. How to handle bio hazard items safely, how to follow cGMP procedures, be able to work in a team friendly environment, all different walks of life, different cultures, young and old, educated and not.
Lots of reading of new updates to procedures. – more... Going to lunch together spending the week-end at a party, the holidays and the people – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly eviroment to study
Environmental Technician (Former Employee), North Dartmouth, MAMarch 21, 2013
Pros: cheaper than other mass public schools. high standard of learning
Cons: concrete buildings
Helpful professors and tutors. Someone is always willing to help you achieve something.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to study
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Amherst, MAMarch 14, 2013
Enjoyed my studies in UMASS. I was lucky to be mentored by Prof Thayumanavan and I made great friends there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Math Tutor (Current Employee), Lowell, MAFebruary 21, 2013
Good student job to have during semester, I feel most productive when only tutoring one student, gets difficult when there is more than two tutees at a time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people to work with
Administrative Assistant II (Current Employee), Boston, MAFebruary 13, 2013
matain the Dean calendar, make sure the office is operating in a very good manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing education
Assist Graduate Research (Former Employee), Boston, MAFebruary 7, 2013
The only other place with more Harvard professors is at Harvard. The quality of small-class education is phenomenal and the best thing I could've done. What I learned cannot be summed up here by any means.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Assistant Football Coach - Defensive Backs (Former Employee), Amherst, MAFebruary 1, 2013
U Mass was a great place to work. I met and worked with some really great people. It was my first full time coaching position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good seasonal job!
Cashier (Former Employee), Amherst, MAJanuary 7, 2013
The opportunity to meet alot of new people as well as learn about the bluewall diner was the highlight of my time working at the UMASS. I reccommend this job for students who just need a paycheck.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job.
Business Analyst (Graduate Assistant) (Current Employee), Boston, MADecember 28, 2012
The best part of the on campus job is that I get the opportunity to work with the extremely talented and enthusiastic professors from across the globe. So, I generally deal with the happy, optimistic, and creative people.

In college, the time is scarce and very precious. But this job provides me with a good experience, learning and at the same time – more... saves my commute time. And also, it is a great way to connect with the academic resources and professionals at the university. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good opportunities for student workers
Cluster Office Manager (Former Employee), Amherst, MANovember 19, 2012
Great Staff and Good pay. Helps build strong work ethics for fields beyond college. Specifically the residence life deparment has stong values in building a sense or community and teamwork.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Undergrad Research Assistant
Research Assistant/Programmer (Former Employee), Amherst, MANovember 15, 2012
Worked with particle physics group for a couple of years, overall friendly people and a great place to get your education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved this job-mostly due to amazing coworkers!
Resident assistant (Former Employee), Amherst, MASeptember 20, 2012
not difficult work in order to get free housing, worked only two weekend nights per semester, great staff and management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place- International Office the best!
Research Associate (Former Employee), Worcester, MASeptember 18, 2012
Pros: great co workers, good place
Cons: only the cold weather!
Hi!
I think it is a great place to work and has improved so much over he years- especially after all the renovation etc in 2003-2004!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Boston Research Assistant (Former Employee), Boston, MASeptember 12, 2012
Pros: got great skills
I enjoyed working at UMASS Boston as a research assistant for my professor. I proved my skills in Econometrics and STATA.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Accounting Intern (Former Employee), Lowell MAAugust 28, 2012
Pros: tuition discount
Cons: unpaid lunch
Great benefits package and great opportunities to grow if employed. Also, the experience was worth the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Resident Director (Former Employee), Lowell, MAAugust 21, 2012
Great University, offered a chance to grow and make great contacts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Number 1 Food Science Program in the United States
Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee), Amherst, MAAugust 21, 2012
great internship opportunities
excellent professors
number 1 Food Science program in USA