Find companies:
University of Memphis
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
79 reviews

University of Memphis Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
outstanding workplace
Part-time Instructor of Spanish (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 7, 2013
great place to work with excellent co-workers and diverse classes and activities for a better understanding of foreign languages.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive place to work
Academic Administrative Graduate Assistant (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJune 27, 2013
I am the administrative liason for the Health and Sport Sciences Department and I am responsible for fulfilling and aiding in the planning and execution of academia and physical activity for Sport Leisure Commerce, Health and Human Performance, Physical Education/Teacher Education, and Exercise Sport Sciences. The most enjoyable part of my jobs are – more... my daily interactions with faculty, staff, and the students. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience.
Student Assistant (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJune 11, 2013
I was an employee through the work study program in the Financial Planning department. It was a nice place to work. There was a steady work flow that allowed you to gain experience in the financial field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique city and school
Assistant Strength and Conditioning Coach (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJune 2, 2013
Athletic dpt. had some wonderful staff and coaches. Many were not given the resources required to win consistently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Lead Officer (sgt) (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMay 31, 2013
Enjoyed being a Police Officer and helping other people. Pay was good and benefits too. Have put in my retirement papers which I will start collecting at age 65.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained valuable experience recruiting, event planning, and public speaking
Student Ambassador (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMay 28, 2013
My experience as a Student Ambassador for the Kemmons Wilson School of Hospitality was very enjoyable. My daughter graduated from the program one year earlier, and we are the first mother-daughter team to graduate from the school. My perspective as a current student and parent was helpful in identifying the needs of students and my enthusiasm for the – more... program beneficial in recruitment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great public University where to meet maximum school goal.
Tutor (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMay 18, 2013
Learned a lot in team work and gained great academic knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work, though not much advancement
Online instructor/mentor (Former Employee), home office, and later on campusApril 24, 2013
Pros: home office
Cons: lots of hours
good people to work with, knowledgeable and helpful. Hours were extensive, many nights, and weekends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an "okay for right now" kind of work environment
Irrigation Technician (Current Employee), Memphis, TNApril 3, 2013
We go out and we work very hard everyday but the compensation is too low for my standards
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay job but the manager/owner sucked
Work Study Office Assistant (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMarch 13, 2013
did not provide adequate training, mangers were very impolite.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work for student
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Memphis,TNFebruary 18, 2013
 Conducted research on teaching methods, used Excel to analyze data from course, and provided analytic reports to professor to improve her teaching skill
 Led course review sessions and answered technical Visual Basic questions from student
 Organized and arranged student appointment with professor
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a wonderful atmosphere, independent work environment
IT Help Desk Team Leader (Former Employee), Memphis TennesseeFebruary 18, 2013
Tech support for RODP, students staff and faculty of the University.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff and leadership, coowrokers were a charm, very fun job
Academic Tutor (Former Employee), Mitchell HallJanuary 20, 2013
Pros: learn science while tutoring, meet new people, help others
Cons: have to tutor more than one person at a time, but this actually makes it funner and makes time go by faster
As a tutor, I would meet science students and help them with everything from chemistry to genetics. I learned a lot about different people learn subjects differently, and this helps me learn how to adapt to different groups of people and adapt to different situations. The co-oworkers were a blast to work with; they taught me a lot about tutoring and – more... were funny and warm. The hardest part of the job is managing a big group of people when I am the only one tutoring. Sometimes this proves to be the most rewarding and sometimes big groups turn out to be a lot of fun. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting new people and haring with them a love for the sciences. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
assistant
Student Assistant (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJanuary 17, 2013
I loved this job i was at my own pace cunstructing my own guidlines that were in position with the company to make the company more fumctionable in my own job assignments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Always working
Desk Assistant (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJanuary 9, 2013
Pros: can work on your school work at the desk.
Cons: none.
I Love that job at the University of Memphis! I recommend any student working it!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Student Film Actor (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJanuary 3, 2013
Pros: very laid back
Cons: strange hours
Student employment work not anything very substantial. Worked as a paid film actor for commercials and short films as well as a customer service representative for the University Call Center.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and educated work environment.
Work Study Student (Former Employee), Memphis, TNDecember 28, 2012
Pros: interaction with faculty, staff, and students
Cons: pay
A typical day included helping the faculty and staff with tasks that needed to be done, such as typing documents, filing paperwork, or running errands. What I learned from this job experience is a more efficient way of doing receptionist work and how to professionally intereact with various personalities. Management and co-workers were great to work – more... with. The most enjoyable part of this job was the interaction with faculty, staff, and students. The hardest part was having to leave because I graduated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent educational experience
Counselor Intern (Current Employee), Memphis, TNDecember 14, 2012
The MSW program at the University of Memphis has been a wonderful educational experience. The professors are knowledgeable, passionate, and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Student Nurse (Current Employee), Memphis, TNOctober 19, 2012
Dedicated to the health and betterment of others. Great training and growth opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great interaction with people from all walks of life
Office Associate (Former Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 29, 2012
Pros: benefits
Cons: favoritism
A typical day at work would consist of: reserving spaces for nursing events for various instructors, and running errands on campus. I've learned that working together is very important in order to get a goal accomplished. I enjoyed my relationship with my co-workers, and I have a tremendous respect for what they do as well. The hardest part of the job – more... was keeping everybody happy. It was like walking a tightrope. What I liked most about the job was the diversity of the faculty, my co-workers as well as the students and potential students. – less