Find companies:
University of Memphis
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
76 reviews

University of Memphis Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained valuable experience recruiting, event planning, and public speaking
Student Ambassador (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMay 28, 2013
My experience as a Student Ambassador for the Kemmons Wilson School of Hospitality was very enjoyable. My daughter graduated from the program one year earlier, and we are the first mother-daughter team to graduate from the school. My perspective as a current student and parent was helpful in identifying the needs of students and my enthusiasm for the – more... program beneficial in recruitment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great public University where to meet maximum school goal.
Tutor (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMay 18, 2013
Learned a lot in team work and gained great academic knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work, though not much advancement
Online instructor/mentor (Former Employee), home office, and later on campusApril 24, 2013
Pros: home office
Cons: lots of hours
good people to work with, knowledgeable and helpful. Hours were extensive, many nights, and weekends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an "okay for right now" kind of work environment
Irrigation Technician (Current Employee), Memphis, TNApril 3, 2013
We go out and we work very hard everyday but the compensation is too low for my standards
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay job but the manager/owner sucked
Work Study Office Assistant (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMarch 13, 2013
did not provide adequate training, mangers were very impolite.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work for student
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Memphis,TNFebruary 18, 2013
 Conducted research on teaching methods, used Excel to analyze data from course, and provided analytic reports to professor to improve her teaching skill
 Led course review sessions and answered technical Visual Basic questions from student
 Organized and arranged student appointment with professor
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a wonderful atmosphere, independent work environment
IT Help Desk Team Leader (Former Employee), Memphis TennesseeFebruary 18, 2013
Tech support for RODP, students staff and faculty of the University.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff and leadership, coowrokers were a charm, very fun job
Academic Tutor (Former Employee), Mitchell HallJanuary 20, 2013
Pros: learn science while tutoring, meet new people, help others
Cons: have to tutor more than one person at a time, but this actually makes it funner and makes time go by faster
As a tutor, I would meet science students and help them with everything from chemistry to genetics. I learned a lot about different people learn subjects differently, and this helps me learn how to adapt to different groups of people and adapt to different situations. The co-oworkers were a blast to work with; they taught me a lot about tutoring and – more... were funny and warm. The hardest part of the job is managing a big group of people when I am the only one tutoring. Sometimes this proves to be the most rewarding and sometimes big groups turn out to be a lot of fun. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting new people and haring with them a love for the sciences. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
assistant
Student Assistant (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJanuary 17, 2013
I loved this job i was at my own pace cunstructing my own guidlines that were in position with the company to make the company more fumctionable in my own job assignments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Always working
Desk Assistant (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJanuary 9, 2013
Pros: can work on your school work at the desk.
Cons: none.
I Love that job at the University of Memphis! I recommend any student working it!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Student Film Actor (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJanuary 3, 2013
Pros: very laid back
Cons: strange hours
Student employment work not anything very substantial. Worked as a paid film actor for commercials and short films as well as a customer service representative for the University Call Center.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and educated work environment.
Work Study Student (Former Employee), Memphis, TNDecember 28, 2012
Pros: interaction with faculty, staff, and students
Cons: pay
A typical day included helping the faculty and staff with tasks that needed to be done, such as typing documents, filing paperwork, or running errands. What I learned from this job experience is a more efficient way of doing receptionist work and how to professionally intereact with various personalities. Management and co-workers were great to work – more... with. The most enjoyable part of this job was the interaction with faculty, staff, and students. The hardest part was having to leave because I graduated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent educational experience
Counselor Intern (Current Employee), Memphis, TNDecember 14, 2012
The MSW program at the University of Memphis has been a wonderful educational experience. The professors are knowledgeable, passionate, and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Student Nurse (Current Employee), Memphis, TNOctober 19, 2012
Dedicated to the health and betterment of others. Great training and growth opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great interaction with people from all walks of life
Office Associate (Former Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 29, 2012
Pros: benefits
Cons: favoritism
A typical day at work would consist of: reserving spaces for nursing events for various instructors, and running errands on campus. I've learned that working together is very important in order to get a goal accomplished. I enjoyed my relationship with my co-workers, and I have a tremendous respect for what they do as well. The hardest part of the job – more... was keeping everybody happy. It was like walking a tightrope. What I liked most about the job was the diversity of the faculty, my co-workers as well as the students and potential students. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where I began my collegiate teaching experience
Instructor of Record (Former Employee), Memphis TNSeptember 20, 2012
At the University of Memphis I was given my first opportunity to be in front of the classroom. We worked hard, balancing our teaching requirements, classroom requirements, and other life needs. I learned things here that I have carried into classrooms.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work study, fun ,positive learning enviornment, good people
Italian Tutor (Former Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 29, 2012
Pros: excellent workplace
Being a language tutor and going to school was very fun at the University of Memphis. When assisting the students, you get that one on one experience and really get to tackle whatever trouble they are having. The boss was cool and everyone was easy going.
- I learned to single out problems better and to find the solution for them. I learned to communicate – more... better with students,
- The hardest part was when a student would ask me an advanced question that I barely knew the answer to and I would have to look for help myself on the internet.
- The most enjoyable part was getting to know my students and having an everyday conversation with them in italian. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
General Assistant (Former Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 23, 2012
Pros: great job while in school
Cons: no cons....
This was a work study position when I was in college. Great job for me. It was laid back and this is where I learned office and clerical duties and I also enjoy dealing with the public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY DIVERSE PLACE FOR LEARNING
FITNESS ASSISTANT/PERSONAL TRAINER/MAINTENANCE (Former Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 21, 2012
Pros: i had the opportunity to work with good people and athletes, i also got to workout anytime i wanted.
Cons: no career advancement opportunities, or raises
I REALLY ENJOYED MY TIME THERE AT U OF M, BUT HOWEVER I HAD TO LEAVE BECAUSE THERE WAS'NT ANY ROOM FOR MY CONTINUED GROWTH.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked for The Department of Anthropology/TOADS Project
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 17, 2012
Pros: i learned a lot of information that will take me to the next level.
Tracked and prepared systems reports, weekly and monthly for The State of TN and University of Memphis, and was involved in year end closing. At the end of the year the reports were analyzed and approved then complied in book form and sent to The State of TN, University, facilities and any other persons involved in the program.