University of Memphis Employee Reviews

Showing all 117 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Student Film Actor (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJanuary 3, 2013
Student employment work not anything very substantial. Worked as a paid film actor for commercials and short films as well as a customer service representative for the University Call Center.
Pros
very laid back
Cons
strange hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible job for college students
Student Assistant and Faculty Manager (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 25, 2015
Working as a Faculty assistant at the university of memphis is a rewarding experience because it allows me to have a job and attend the school. Very flexible with my schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gets to learn and interact with people
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  Memphis,TNMarch 2, 2015
Its a fun place to learn new stuff and know about the researches that are going on in the campus.It always helps when to discuss the subject with the people and we find that quite common here.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Tool
Full Time Student (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNNovember 5, 2014
I am a full-time student at University of Memphis. I have worked on different group project and special study. This was great learning experience networking and making a difference.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
overwhelming
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience.
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 11, 2013
I was an employee through the work study program in the Financial Planning department. It was a nice place to work. There was a steady work flow that allowed you to gain experience in the financial field.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Clinical Professor (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TN.October 7, 2015
Great learning opportunities. Hardest part of job is autonomy. Easiest part of job is working with students and mentoring other students.
Pros
Mentoring future nurse educators
Cons
Non at this time
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Workplace
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNOctober 27, 2014
A very interesting place to work and at the same time learn. I came here approximately one year ago and the conditions and people are excellent. My contract with UoM ends in August 30th 2015.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive community outreach.
Personal Trainer (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 5, 2014
Working at the YMCA allowed me to learn many skills associated with community outreach and volunteering. We set many goals for the community around us to promote healthy living principles.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNAugust 23, 2012
This was a work study position when I was in college. Great job for me. It was laid back and this is where I learned office and clerical duties and I also enjoy dealing with the public.
Pros
great job while in school
Cons
no cons....
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Memphis
football (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJanuary 14, 2016
Former Kicker at the University of Memphis
Memphis is a great place to live and play football
I would say that this place has really helped me out a lot because I made so many connections at the University of Memphis
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The clinic provided excellent healthcare for the students and faculty at U of M
Radiologic Technologist (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNMay 29, 2015
We were busy providing for the students and faculty's healthcare. I loved working to provide good care for my patients.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Research Institution
Assistant Professor of Environmental Health (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 27, 2015
University of Memphis is a high research institution. It has a relatively small campus, which also means close collaboration between faculty.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to touch lives
LSAMP Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNJuly 8, 2014
I was a student worker who helped other students develop skills to help enrich the underrepresented middle and high school students we tutored/mentored.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with students
Conference Assistant (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJanuary 20, 2014
I was a student assisting students, so things were a little stressful. But I appreciated the opportunity
Pros
free room and board
Cons
sometimes difficult working with students
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TAUGHT ACCOUNTING COURSES
ADJUNCT PROFESSOR (Former Employee) –  Jackson, TNJune 7, 2014
TAUGHT TWO CLASSES A WEEK. DEVELOPED A LECTURE PLAN AND TEST FOR TWO DIFFERENT COURSES IN THE FIELD OF ACCOUNTING.
Pros
teaching young people.
Cons
only a one semster position
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
university of memphis
Librarian (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 18, 2015
I enjoyed working here it was a very fun and exciting experience. I learned book keeping and dealing with the public. I enjoyed meeting new people and conversing with them daily.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent educational experience
Counselor Intern (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNDecember 14, 2012
The MSW program at the University of Memphis has been a wonderful educational experience. The professors are knowledgeable, passionate, and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job you could ask for.
Gear-Up Coach/Admin (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNAugust 9, 2012
Got to impact the lives of kids everyone else would give up on. Good pay. You are looked up to as a role model by hundreds of kids.
Pros
very fulfilling
Cons
hours are limited.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Commercial HVAC Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNApril 15, 2015
its a good place to work. great benefits. everything takes a long time including hiring, promoting, etc. good health insurance, good vacation
Pros
benefits
Cons
timing
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work, though not much advancement
Online instructor/mentor (Former Employee) –  home office, and later on campusApril 24, 2013
good people to work with, knowledgeable and helpful. Hours were extensive, many nights, and weekends.
Pros
home office
Cons
lots of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 117 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture