University of Miami Employee Reviews

Showing all 363 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very competitive
Sr Library (Current Employee) –  Calder LibraryAugust 18, 2017
University of Miami is a good place for be successful. Good trainers, staff, very helpful. My job is working with students, help them in their needs. Library is good for their needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace, expensive place to work
Department of Finance & Treasury (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 15, 2017
$500.00+ for parking
Insurance rates are high
Not much opportunity for advancement.
Other than these cons it is a nice place to work. The campus is beautiful and the employee events are always fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Neoptism
Collection Specialist (Former Employee) –  Miami, FL 33162August 14, 2017
the hardest part of the job was trying to get your job done dealing with the nonsense of the other employees. I learned a new specilaity
and excelled at it
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Place
Public Safety Officer (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 12, 2017
I have learned a lot working at the University of Miami. I have had the privilege to work with very friendly and helping people. I'm looking for employment elsewhere because I graduated in a field that is different that my actual work field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Patient Access Representative (Current Employee) –  Coral Gables, FLAugust 10, 2017
Good benefits, don't pay very well but worth it for the benefits. Short lunches but you get time off and good insurance. Not much room for advancement, you have to know someone.
Pros
good insurance
Cons
no room to grow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard life for a graduate student
Full time graduate student (Current Employee) –  Medical campusAugust 9, 2017
Be expected to work 60+ hours a week as a graduate student here. The positive side is you can go to the beach on your off time. A BIG con is the cost o living here is kind of crazy and the stipend is not really enough to live comfortably.
Pros
you can find free lunch for graduate students at least once a week somewhere most of the time
Cons
Medical campus is sketchy and unsafe at night
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits
Intraoperative Monitoring Techn (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 8, 2017
At the university of Miami you work in a fast paced environment. At the University of Miami you get good benefits, especially for education. Management is constantly changing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching assistant and Doctoral Student
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Coral Gables, FLAugust 5, 2017
UM is simply wonderful! It is top-notch, state of the art, highly competitive, and would recommend it to any very, very serious student.

I taught several group piano classes and several private piano students as a teaching assistant.

I was very busy, because I had a 50-mile commute, and still taught 4 classes at another college.

I learned how to become a better private and piano classroom teacher.

The management was constantly under-going changes at the time I was there, which placed a certain amount of stress on the students.

The workplace culture was wonderfully diverse, which was an exciting experience.

The hardest part of the job was the long commute and long days.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the wonderful faculty and the amazing program, which was very demanding.
Pros
state-of-the-art technology, top professors
Cons
high fees, high parking fees and usually parking is hard to find
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academic Atmosphere and Culture
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Coral Gables, FLAugust 4, 2017
Working as a Teaching Assistant is an opportunity to gain experience in the classroom, earn a stipend toward living expenses while pursuing an advanced degree. The stipend is insufficient for a single person living in Miami but if combined with a partner's income, is reasonable. The academic atmosphere is generally relaxed and collegial.
Pros
Pursuit of advanced degree
Cons
Insufficient stipend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced work style and inefficient organization
Research Associate I (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 3, 2017
University of Miami provides an easy environment to adapt and pick up workload and this position enables me further advance my skill set to conduct biomedical research.
Pros
Good employee benefits
Cons
Low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Neurology Department, Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 1, 2017
Excellent, teem work, adequate rate of payment,Universal benefits for workers and family.
Was an excellent experience, i can learn and provide my knowledge.
Pros
Free uniforms
Cons
Far from where i live
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding workplace
Purchasing Contract Administrator (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 1, 2017
A typical day of work consisted of receiving, review, and approving contracts for campus renovations or new construction projects. Work program directors to ensure smooth transition from beginning to end of a project.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great options for students that need part-time jobs.
Conservation Assistant (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 27, 2017
I just worked as a student assistant in the library so it wasn't anything fancy, but I really loved it. My boss was super chill, they let me work whatever hours I wanted to work with my class schedule, and did everything they could to make sure I stayed happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Billing,Coding and Collections Specialist (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 26, 2017
Great management team & leadership. Good benefits, however, not such a good pay. You and your family can study a career & the institution pays for it.
Pros
Education
Cons
The salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work place and Nice people
Internship (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 24, 2017
All employees are nice and friendly, they help each other. People there are willing to work with you.

the only Cons is sometimes the big boss didn't really know what problems they were facing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Higher education bubble is reaching a stage to pop
Senior Academic Advisor (Current Employee) –  Coral Gables, FLJuly 22, 2017
Because I have worked more than 20 years in higher education I have seen many changes in the environment. Lots of changes to high ranking positions and turn over of dean's and presidents. Program changes requiring more data entry.
Pros
Great vacation and holiday pay
Cons
Management could improve
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PhD student
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Coral Gables, FLJuly 10, 2017
As a PhD student, University of Miami is good. There are good research opportunities and the stipend seems to be a bit above average. Work conditions would depend on the supervisor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great for students
Student (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 7, 2017
great learning experience for nursing students. students learned better in a fast paced environment as well as with hands on experience with not only the nurses but other staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace that is a huge part of scientific advancement
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 6, 2017
UM is a huge part of scientific advancement. There is a great sense of pride and teamwork. There is a lot to be learned and unlimited resources at your disposal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting enviroment.
Anesthesiology Billing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 5, 2017
Very busy helping on the billing Dept.
Enjoyed working for nice bosses .
And love the ambiance.
Was a learning process for Medical Terminology.
Dealt with different hospitals .
Pros
Not enough hours.
Cons
It was a temporary position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Miami. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 363 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8