University of Miami Employee Reviews

Showing all 323 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dangerous
Pre-Testing Nurse (Former Employee) –  Miami, FL 33136May 29, 2017
It was a very busy atmosphere. Working conditions were not the best and although I enjoyed working there, I do not regret leaving this place of employment
Pros
Nothing good
Cons
dangerous
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Enviroment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Coral Gables, FLMay 27, 2017
I worked for only a day for non-profit at a basketball game. The people were very friendly and caring. The work environment would get difficult during half-time, but nothing I couldn't handle.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met so many new people!
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 26, 2017
UM is a great place to work for, even it's privately owned buildings. The atmosphere is very pleasant and the employees are all very nice for the most part.
Pros
Discounted (AWESOME) lunch
Cons
Parking not offered.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Does not provide a motivating environment
Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 25, 2017
Daily routine same each day
In order to get promoted you have to wait until someone leaves
Disorganized and non motivating
Excited about the cultural change, but it needs to trickle down from the top
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very well respected facitlity
Senior Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLMay 24, 2017
This is a very well respected facility to work for according to the community. Many people are very fond of the University of Miami. The physicians there are very professional.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/life balance
Bottom Line System Auditor (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 23, 2017
Worked with an amazing team of doctors and staff. Very high volume, productive and fun place to work. An incredible support staff that worked very well as a team. Great benefits and compensation.
Pros
Fun place to work
Cons
The commute
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proud of the reputation the University has
Director, Finance (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 23, 2017
The University of Miami has a great reputation and is actively involved in the community. The University of Miami also has great benefits and is an overall good place to work at.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing, Incredible, Without Comparison
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Coral Gables, FLMay 22, 2017
Amazing environment, very supportive, genuine and its where I can be creative and I can be myself. Every day is great and it amazing to be here with everyone.
Pros
Amazing coworkers, great benefits, openness, flexible hours, supportive staff
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at UM
Patient Accounts Representative (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 20, 2017
You must love to help patients because the job can be stressful. Not so much as to dealing with patients but dealing with fellow employees. UM offers great opportunities if you want to go back to school.
Pros
Discount tickets for UM teams
Cons
hard to move up and receive raises
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Research Assistant Professor (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 5, 2017
The University of Miami Miller School of Medicine is really a great place to work...great for research...but as always, it depends with who you work!, your supervisor, etc.
Pros
Great researchers
Cons
Poor leaderships
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Access Control Technician (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 5, 2017
This is a great place. There is plenty of work but a good team to accomplish it. The work volume changes throughout the year, but it's usually very balanced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and sometimes fun
Software Developer (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLApril 25, 2017
We got cake once a month, baked by god's knows who, one of the team members I suspect. We had a very tight schedule to convert the legacy mainframe to PeopleSoft with deadlines constantly looming. It was interesting to see how the stress affected each team member. I learned that I was a good multi-tasker with a keen ability to focus. Getting a process running correctly the first time was a thrill.
Pros
free UM football games, free tuition
Cons
breaks are not really allowed. keep your nose to the grindstone.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my typical day at work
Resource Nurse/Clinical Nurse II (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLApril 19, 2017
I started at 0700, checked the assignment board and look for the nurse who supposed to give me my reports. The nurse and I went to the patient's room together for bedside report.the harders part of my job was working twelve hours most of the times without taking lunch. The most enjoyable part of my job was when my patient said to me they were satisfied with my care.I learned to treat everyone with respect and fairness.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have developed and learned a great deal!
RESEARCH TEACHER (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLApril 4, 2017
Reputable institution that has provided me a learning opportunity to further my skills and allowed me to grow professionally. It has provided me with an opportunity to transition into higher education from elementary ed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Research laboratory support coordinator (Current Employee) –  MiamiApril 3, 2017
While the Principal Investigator is primarily responsible for the overall design, conduct, and management of the clinical trial, the CRC supports, facilitates and coordinates the daily clinical trial activities and plays a critical role in the conduct of the study.
Pros
Good enviroment
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace that allows for personal growth
Computer Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 30, 2017
Working at UM has been a great experience so far. Friendly staff, good pay, and good benefits. Working here has allowed for personal growth in myself by finding what Im good and not good at and working on those. Great experience so far.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring
Public Safety Officer (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 30, 2017
Good place to work just too far of a distance of a drive for myself. Management at times was not fair to some and was fair to others who were favorites. Overall, good organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent, nothing spectacular
Specialist (Current Employee) –  Coral Gables, FLMarch 27, 2017
It's a okay job, not much to talk about. Very stable but advancement may not come to many workers of the company, moreso based on who you know rather than what you know.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Public Address Announcer (Former Employee) –  Coral Gables, FLMarch 23, 2017
Public Address Announcing for sporting events - volleyball, soccer, men's and women's basketball, softball, baseball, tennis, track and field for 5 years.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too Many Administrators
Research Assistant/Lecturer/Assistant Debate Coach (Current Employee) –  Coral Gables, FLMarch 18, 2017
Lots of bureaucracy without anyone taking responsibility for their errors. Contractual obligations are interpreted as simply guidelines and require vigilant work on the employees part to ensure they are followed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Miami. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 323 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8

CEO Approval

86%
79 ratings
Add your rating