Find companies:
University of Miami
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
125 reviews

University of Miami Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant employer to work for, the benefits are exceptional!
Insurance Verification Specialist (Former Employee), Miami, FLApril 2, 2014
Pros: your entire family has an opportunity to attend um
Fast paced but great environment to work in. Always room to
excel in which ever field you chose. Co-workers were friendly.
I can't remember my job being hard. Quotas were set but easily
manage. The most enjoyable part of the job was the Employee
benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned alot in the years I was at U.M
Collections supervisor/Insurance compliance (Former Employee), Miami, FLMarch 31, 2014
I was able to move up at UM and enjoyed my work.
Many task to do on a daily basis.
Managers were willing to give me advancement opportunities. Enjoyed working with my staff and meeting up with insurance representatives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy workplace
Project Manager (Former Employee), Miami, FLMarch 19, 2014
Pros: not having the same taks to complete daily. it was a large array of various tasks daily
Cons: no benefits
Every day brought new challenges. Working on many different things and going to different offices within the university was fun and exciting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to study and work
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Coral Gables, FLMarch 12, 2014
Nice campus to study
Great environment to do research!
Good for graduate research work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun -
Miami, Florida (Part-time-Temporary) (Former Employee), Miami, FLMarch 8, 2014
Pros: interesting -
Cons: nothing
reconciliation of payments made by A Express

quotes
spreadsheet to update
office and coffee supplies
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very hands on
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Coral Gables, FLMarch 2, 2014
At the Health Rights Clinic you are given a great deal of latitude. The advising attorneys treat you professionally and expect out to be responsible advocates. This was the best experience I could have asked for especially after 1L year, you learn show to be an attorney.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly professional work environment
Faculty – School of Business (Graduate School) (Former Employee), Coral Gables, FLFebruary 28, 2014
Highly educated co-workers with high energy and professionalism.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JOB REVIEW
Consultant (Current Employee), Miami, FLFebruary 25, 2014
Cons: depending on grants
have always had a passion for neuroscience and the human brain, which represents one of the last uncharted frontiers of human biology. As I pursued my education in neurobiology and chemistry, I also pursued further avenues of study to enhance my understanding, and feed my passion. As a research assistant at the University of Miami, I have had the opportunity – more... to acquire a lot of firsthand knowledge and experience by researching and working directly with tissue samples, and analyzing images of spinal cord injuries.

With nearly a decade of lab experience, I continued to pursue advancement in both my education and career, and began working in the University of Miami's Department of Neurology, performing on-call services for the Brain Endowment Bank. There, I procured and processed brain tissue, conducted research and Neuropathology on the many cases that I encountered, and catalogued and inventoried autopsy and medical information related to the histology, and Neuropathology of the brains I worked with. With over 15 years of experience in the fields of Neuropathology and neuroscience to draw from, I am well-informed, experienced, and up-to-date on the current state of my field of study. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly People
Academic Tutor (Former Employee), Miami, FLFebruary 24, 2014
Great people to work with, everyone smiling and always happy to help assist in any way possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Assistant Director of Admission (Current Employee), Coral Gables, FLFebruary 21, 2014
The University of Miami provides a supportive work environment. All divisions are run differently therefore all experiences can be different as an employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work is never show cased but the reward is priceless
Assistant Equipment Manager, UM Football (Current Employee), Miami, FLFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: working for the university of miami football team
Cons: long hours, lots of stress
A typical day is in the door by 6am and leaving at 7pm. It consist of dealing with players, coaches and senior administrators. I am constantly putting out fires and making close to impossible request made possible with little or no time given. My product is what America sees on saturdays. I take great care in making sure all my players and coaches have – more... the necessary equipment to preform at their best and have the ability to compete.

I manage a staff of 7 student workers and 2 interns during the course of the days and weeks of a season and an off season. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My review
Staff Development (Current Employee), Miami, FLFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: great benefits, great environment
Cons: my office was relocated to a very far location
UM was a great place to work. My typical day consisted of trouble shooting Patient access users questions wether it was a Epic question or a complicated Insurance they never heard of. I loved working without being micro managed, I was allowed the freedom to be creative in my Topic Summaries and Projects I constantly had assigned to me. I also trained – more... and provided access to new employees every other week in a 5 day intense basic training that I with the help of my Manager created and Implemented together, I was also involve as a Super User during the Epic implementation phases. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reputable university
Associate Director (Current Employee), Coral Gables, FLFebruary 18, 2014
The University of Miami benefits from a strong international brand recognition.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship Experience
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Miami, FLFebruary 17, 2014
Interacted with area experts across the agency
Participated in client consultations
Exceptional internship experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable workplace
HIM Technician - Supervisor (Former Employee), Miami-Dade, FLFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: no applicable
I have greatly enjoyed my time working with the University of Miami for the past 20 years, my colleagues here have been unfailingly supportive and professional, and I have learned a great deal about this excelent workplace during my years there. My knowledge and my skills have grown and I am confident that I would not be where I was without having been – more... a part of the team at the University of Miami. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Might try FSU
Classroom Support Tech (Former Employee), Coral Gables, FLFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: you get a deducted membership rate to the gym and games
Cons: no free parking (almost required to fork up $200 for a parking pass)
I had a strange experience and to be truthful my management was shaky and it was hard moving forward with daily problems. I had changed departments and i have to say its a world of difference. Considering that I'm an alumni of the University, you would think they might have an integration program for a regular working position. Sadly they only have – more... temp and casual worker positions that you can utilize to possibly gain a position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro Management in the Facilities
Facilities worker (Current Employee), Coral gablesDecember 31, 2013
Pros: nice campus
Cons: health care, retirement, "free schooling", dealing with too many managers/supervisors.
Too many facilities managers in one place. Room for advancement, well if you basically do nothing than your the right person. No motivation toward employees. If your on call, you'll probably get called for nonsense. Work environment is on edge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Information Desk Attendant (Current Employee), Miami, FLDecember 28, 2013
Great job, fantastic coworkers and management. Learned about customer service, time management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small office but great conversations in dispatch.
Police Dispatcher (Former Employee), Coral Gables, FLDecember 5, 2013
Pros: free lunch, discounts
I had fun while working in the land of the U. It was fun working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Coral Gables, FLDecember 3, 2013
The faculty and staff are helpful and sincere in their belief to help students succeed in their research.

About University of Miami

The state of Florida has affection for at least one type of Hurricane. The University of Miami (UM), whose Hurricane sports teams – Read more

University of Miami Photos