University of Miami Employee Reviews

Found 371 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Billing,Coding and Collections Specialist (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 26, 2017
Great management team & leadership. Good benefits, however, not such a good pay. You and your family can study a career & the institution pays for it.
Pros
Education
Cons
The salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work place and Nice people
Internship (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 24, 2017
All employees are nice and friendly, they help each other. People there are willing to work with you.

the only Cons is sometimes the big boss didn't really know what problems they were facing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Higher education bubble is reaching a stage to pop
Senior Academic Advisor (Current Employee) –  Coral Gables, FLJuly 22, 2017
Because I have worked more than 20 years in higher education I have seen many changes in the environment. Lots of changes to high ranking positions and turn over of dean's and presidents. Program changes requiring more data entry.
Pros
Great vacation and holiday pay
Cons
Management could improve
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PhD student
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Coral Gables, FLJuly 10, 2017
As a PhD student, University of Miami is good. There are good research opportunities and the stipend seems to be a bit above average. Work conditions would depend on the supervisor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great for students
Student (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 7, 2017
great learning experience for nursing students. students learned better in a fast paced environment as well as with hands on experience with not only the nurses but other staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace that is a huge part of scientific advancement
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 6, 2017
UM is a huge part of scientific advancement. There is a great sense of pride and teamwork. There is a lot to be learned and unlimited resources at your disposal.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting enviroment.
Anesthesiology Billing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 5, 2017
Very busy helping on the billing Dept.
Enjoyed working for nice bosses .
And love the ambiance.
Was a learning process for Medical Terminology.
Dealt with different hospitals .
Pros
Not enough hours.
Cons
It was a temporary position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Communications Specialist (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 30, 2017
Everyday I come in I know its going to be a great day! Im given the resources that I need to excel in my position and I am always surrounded by people that want to you see succeed
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Secretary (Payroll) (Former Employee) –  Coral Gables, FLJune 28, 2017
everyday was a busy. a lot of contact with faculty and students. very diverse. lots of team work to meet deadlines. using the tuition remission and graduating from the University
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Coral Gables, FLJune 27, 2017
Great place to work. Great management. Comfortable environment. Management cares about your needs, and they are always willing to listen to you. Benefits are great.
Pros
Great management
Cons
Little room for growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Something new everyday
Sr. Manager (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 26, 2017
Each and every day I get to experience something new. I enjoy the people I work with. Opportunities and challenges are afforded to me and my opinions are heard.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Intern (Current Employee) –  Coral Gables, FLJune 23, 2017
Beautiful campus
Unorganized administration and offices
Great events throughout the campus over the entire school year
Nice coworkers
Weather during Spring is too warm
Pros
Well known institution
Cons
political
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work
Senior Clinical Applications Analyst (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 22, 2017
Overall University of Miami is a good place to work. The location is kind of sketchy but right off of the train. If you are coming from the north, it isn't as easy to get here but there is still a bus available. The traffic is horrible so not fun to commute.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 17, 2017
Great work enviroment most enjoyable part of the job is to the patient smile.The workplace enviroment make you feel like family learned a lot out of my 5 years working there .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place.
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Coral Gables, FLJune 15, 2017
I loved working at UM! The people I worked with were great and the teachers were not only incredibly nice but they also really knew what they were talking about. It was a pleasure working with them as I learned so much about the real do and don't 's in the industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Employment
Secretary (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 11, 2017
This was a Great Learning experience environment to work among. It serves as a Great Learning and Teaching environment to be among.
Every employee enters and leave with GREAT life-skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Salary
Temp Positions (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 11, 2017
When I stared working for the University of Miami I was in the impression that it was my dream work place to be. I stared as a temp with a decent salary and before three month I was hired permanently because of the excellence and professionalism of my work, but after they hired me as a permanent employee they reduce my salary so dramatically that the same moment I resigned.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It could be a great place again.
Database Analyst (Current Employee) –  1320 S Dixie Hwy, Coral Gables, FL 33146June 9, 2017
I have been in UM IT more than 5 years... It's too sad all the lay off.... the yearly salary increase is 0-3%... (sometimes you can get 0% salary increase in a year)... Getting promoted?? HA!.... you have to apply to a new position, that is the only way... beside that... they are trying to cultivate more culture... doing picnics and activities for the employees, good benefits also.
Pros
all the insurance, free career, "free master"
Cons
salary increase, promotions
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Director of Marketing (Current Employee) –  Coral Gables, FLJune 9, 2017
Been here for quite some time and seen how innovative this place is. So much change in the last several years always trying to stay ahead of the times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was great!
Multicultural Student Affairs - Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  Coral Gables, FLJune 7, 2017
Working with MSA was so fun and I miss it dearly. The management there was fun to work with and my adviser let me be responsible and have my own assignments. I designed a variety of my own works and they were printed and sent out. I am proud about that till this day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Miami. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 372 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8

CEO Approval

87%
110 ratings
Add your rating