Find companies:
University of Minnesota Physicians
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
30 reviews

University of Minnesota Physicians Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small community hospital and a friendly place to work at
Contract Agency Critical Care Nurse (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: able to take breaks
Taking care of patients with multiple injuries or illness. Constant communication with doctors and charge nurse. Learned on how to be a team player
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good expeience
CNA (Former Employee), Dublin, GAJanuary 13, 2014
Pros: decided to be come a nurse
worked as a cna for years. Took vital signs, gave total care to some residents, Made up beds. I learned that I would like to be a nurse
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Referral Coordinator (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNDecember 28, 2013
Pros: great place to work
Cons: nothing
The staff and patient along with the doctors are great
great learning experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CEO is very disconnected with employees, need new leadership from VP's and up
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), MinneapolisDecember 27, 2013
Pros: lower level managers work hard and try to make staff feel valued
Cons: hr is disconnected, it is non-existent
The current CEO likes no one, her leadership style is to intimidate people and she has no relationship with anyone in the company except her direct reports. The trickle down effect is toxic across the organization, people feel left in the dark about everything and scared for their jobs. They let wonderful talent walk out the door and keep the unaccountable. – more... The worst part as an employee is trying to figure out what belongs to UMP, Fairview or the U of M. Each has their own systems and departments and the clinic staff is expected to know how to navigate through it all. It is awful for patients too who don't understand it. Mostly they don't understand why they get multiple bills from multiple systems. There is little integrity in this organization, there are much better healthcare systems in the Twin Cities to chose from for employment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was very friendly
Nutrition Assistant (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNDecember 25, 2013
Pros: flexible working hous
Cons: pay
Working place was great and kids were great. I just did not get paid enough for my time there so we had to part ways.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed this job
Nutrition Specialist (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNSeptember 19, 2013
A typical shift looked like this;

1. Clock in and view the placements for the night
2. Prep your designated station
3. Before tray line would start all employees would gather and have a short meeting with the supervisor.
4. Tray line starts with the childrens floor for dinner and go up from there.
5. after the initial dinner service is over then we – more... break up into two groups. One group goes to the dish room and the other group heads upstairs to collect all of the food trays from the patients.
6. After all trays are collected and all dishes/ work stations are clean we clock out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Histology work
Histotechnican (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNJuly 15, 2013
Daily histology routine of embedding, cutting, staining.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional work enviornment
Women's Dual Diagnosis Counselor/Mental Health (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNJuly 3, 2013
Pros: nice professional colleagues
Cons: work load
professional / opportunity of growth and learning/many responsibilities/hardest part is the amount of responsibilities and most enjoyable was patient care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not as great as you would think
Patient Representative (Current Employee), MinneapolisMay 8, 2013
Pros: the patients you meet
Cons: short breaks, healthcare, paying for parking
Benefits are terrible. You'd think at such a huge company they would take better care of their employees, but it's not true. Management is a joke. They are either your worst nightmare, or non-existent making it hard to work with your unruly co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place to get ahead
Still there (dont want to report yet) (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNFebruary 4, 2013
Pros: most of the physicians are great to work with, you can learn many things from these brilliant minds.
Cons: micromanaged, dictorial management; managers are controlling, you have to be in a clique to be successful
The management and the leadership are the worst I have ever worked for. The turnover rate there is unlike any other medical facility in the metro, and they simply don't care. Poor work environment. Many problems with management/HR and no room to grow. Physicians are excellent, management has the "my way or the highway" attitude. Healthcare benefits – more... are sub-par. Policy driven, poorly led corporate culture. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
CODING SPECIALIST & ADVISOR (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNJanuary 25, 2013
comfortable work atmosphere not demanding of you and pretty much let you do your job and trust you can do it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and interesting place to work in the Transplant Office.
ADMINISTRATIVE SECRETARY (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNJanuary 18, 2013
Pros: you get coverage while your on vacation, sick etc.
Cons: not enough flexibility with the hours.
I enjoy the fact that I work in a high volume work environment which means I always have someting to do and never bored. My coworkers are 90% women which could be dangerous with the gossip and cliques. I tend to stay distant from the gossip and very much still sociable. The hardest part of my day is when I have to deal with other peoples attitudes of – more... how they approach me with a problem. They approach is sometimes hard to deal with however I learn to deal with it on a professional matter by handling the situation and taken them to the side to let them know that you can ask me in a better tone next time. I learned so much in the solid organ transplant over the 5 years of being employed. I enjoy learning new things about my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Bilingual Patient Services Representative (Former Employee), Fridley, MNJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: advancement opportunities, pay
Cons: parking, management (fairview/not the u of m)
Overall actually a great place to work. However Supervisors Should Take Respect Classes and be Kinder with Employees, Supervisor does not mean friend but nor does it mean owner or enemy...come on now.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent company
Epic Support Specialist (Former Employee), illinoisDecember 28, 2012
awesome workplace. i gained vast experience working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive!
medical assistant (Former Employee), Fridley, MNDecember 19, 2012
Very helping, caring and comfortable medical environment!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardest working clinic in town.
Clinic Manager (Former Employee), Edina, MNDecember 4, 2012
Pros: great surgeons, mostly great coworkers. friendly fun environment
Cons: divergent personalities, sometimes unclear priorities
Seventeen surgeons, one internist and all the support staff needed to make the practice rock! We were consistently outperforming other clinics within our Health Services Company and making the customers (referring physicians and patients) happy. We strove to go above and beyond every single day. Each patient complaint was handled gently and appropriately.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledgable and comfortable place to grow
Medical Coding Associate- Transplant (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNOctober 2, 2012
Pros: great benefit package
Cons: moving to new location - making it difficult to get to work
I loved meeting all the people that made my transition comfortable. The University of Minnesota Physicians has open communication, open door policies and very liberal benefits.
I found that my teammates were very helpful and easy to get along with which made business a lot mre comfortable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok company to work for , very flexible with changing work hrs and going to doctor appts.
account follow-up (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNSeptember 14, 2012
Pros: great doctors, great vacation time
Cons: managers are controlling, you have to be in a clique to be successful, not a place for saved people of god!!!
OK reviewers I've noticed several errors with your personal reviews. First of all Fairview and U of M physicians are 2 different companies which work hand and hand. Majority of the PWB clinics are Fairview owned but house U of M physicians employees. Also U of M physician doctors see patients within the fairview hospital on inpatient units. That's where – more... UMP has the billing relations with Fairview. But anyway this company has really nice employees but beware if the managers and HR department. The managers can treat employees anyway they want and if you dare report it look out for retaliation!!!! Also be ready to choose your clique if not you will be the target of mayhem! !!! Also they are especially known for seriously mistreating African American employees( honest to God truth). Please talk to a former employee before you decide to apply for any position. If you do decide to apply be ready to be overworked, underpaid, sabotaged, feeling inadequate somedays. But I love my doctors they are the best entity of University of MN physicians:) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fairview Lakes Laboratory is Dysfunctional
Laboratory (Former Employee), Fairview LakesAugust 19, 2012
Cons: micromanaged, dicatorial management
The laboratory at Lakes has changed drastically since management changes 5+ years ago. Staff are mistreated by management that is only concerned with the bottom line. Flexibility in hours and work are expected, but never reciprocated. Most of the staff are either looking for a new job or just putting in their time. The only bright spots are the staff – more... in the lab and on the floors who do their best to make a team under very difficult circumstances. Internal employee satisfaction surveys consistently show lab staff are disenfranchised, in spite of pride in their work and a general desire to see Fairview do well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place to work!!!!
Former Employee (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNAugust 19, 2012
Pros: great learning experience
Cons: terrible treatment from medical directors, ceo's, hr, managers, you name it....
I worked for UMP for 6 years and although I loved the people I worked with, the patients and the MD's, the management and the leadership were the worst I have ever worked for. There are too many hands in the pot at UMP, from Fairview, the University to UMP. The pay that they offer is nowhere near competition in the metro, the benefits are terrible, – more... and the HR department does not represent the employees. The turnover rate there is unlike any other medical facility in the metro, and they simply don't care. – less