Find companies:
University of Minnesota
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
205 reviews

University of Minnesota Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great university to have ecudation
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNSeptember 8, 2014
I got my Ph.D. in University of Minnesota
the most enjoyable was when problems were solved
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great opportunity to work by giving back to the community
teaching assitant (Former Employee), Duluth, MNSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: great working environment and self motivation/discipline
Cons: limited interaction
Working at the University of Minnesota was very flexible. I was able to work at my own pace by grading students and providing feedbacks to various assignments and questions. The hardest part of the job was not being able to see the students I worked with on a consistent basis as all the work was done online. Personally I enjoy working in an environment – more... in which I can interact with my coworkers as well as customers. I really enjoyed working here due to the flexibility that the job provided. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Teachers Assistant (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNAugust 29, 2014
I really liked the work that I did and my boss was very help fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn many skills.
Certified Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNAugust 22, 2014
Pros: set schedule, skill building, nurturing environment, flexibility for students, deeply discounted tuition for your first 4 year degree
Cons: lots of downtime, time tracking, more managers than employees.
I love my job at the University of Minnesota! My only criticism is how top heavy the management and administration staff is. I suppose it is a common complaint when working for an academic institution, but the University of Minnesota seems especially administration laden.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely rewarding job that teaches valuable skills.
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNAugust 7, 2014
Many students at the University of Minnesota are given the opportunity to perform research with a faculty member. A typical day includes a few hours of research, and students generally have a weekly meeting with their advising faculty member. While research is not always the easiest task, particularly when it seems as though a new breakthrough will – more... never be made, it is very rewarding and allows students to learn valuable skills. In particular, students learn about perseverance, as well as learn interpersonal and analytic skills. Presenting what has been discovered at the end of the term is the most enjoyable part of this job; by that time, each student is an expert on their topic and they are given the opportunity to teach others what they have learned. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for Work Study
ADMISSIONS ASSISTANT (Current Employee), Rochester, MNAugust 7, 2014
Very flexible and great bosses. Having coworkers being fellow students makes the work environment fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with people
Operation Supervisor (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNAugust 4, 2014
Pros: enjoyed working with people
Cons: pay wasn't the best
Provide day to day supervision of trades people and over see the equipment in about 3.0 million square feet of buildings
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate School
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNJuly 31, 2014
Pros: advancement towards phd degree
Cons: minimal salary
Overall a good graduate school to attend. Experience is highly dependent on your particular adviser.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Exprience
Team Researcher - Surveyor & Data Entry (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNJuly 28, 2014
Pros: freedom of taking work home, and also working on your own time.
Cons: working outside in various temps.
Worked on a research team to provide information that goes to Metro Transit and MnDot. Surveyed selected candidates all over the metropolitan area. Scheduled and coordinated times with team about when and where to survey. Surveyed over 600+ candidates within a 3-month period. Took data and documented into system. Help give accurate data which is used – more... to increased the productivity and reliability of Metro transit the in future.

The work was very independent. It was a lot of on interaction with new people a,d being well with documenting the data we collected with every client. It was very flexible and we just had the deadline that had to be met. Probably one of the best jobs I had thus far. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern
Intern & Work Study (Former Employee), Crookston, MNJuly 22, 2014
Pros: great place to work
I learned a lot about the development side of the University. It was valuable information. I learned a lot about what it takes to have the opportunities we have on our campus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work for a student
Research technician (Former Employee), St. Paul, MinnesotaJuly 20, 2014
A great opportunity to learn a lot when being a student, friendly and professional co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Student Job
Student Security Monitor (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNJuly 20, 2014
Great job to get security experience. Worked around your school schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In charge of day to day operations of a laboratory
Scientist (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNJuly 18, 2014
Pros: liked the people
Cons: just worked there too long.
Performed chemical analyses. Tracked samples. Some data analysis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun academic environment
Undergraduate Researcher (Former Employee), Duluth, MNJuly 9, 2014
Excellent environment where I was able to work one on one with faculty on a research project.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment,
Teacher's Assistant (Former Employee), Morris, MNJune 26, 2014
Pros: experience
Cons: less time to study
I loved my times there as a student employee. Administration was always ready to assist and my supervisor who was also my professor was very helpful and taught me a lot and instill a lot more professionalism and confidence in me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Accountant (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNJune 25, 2014
Your days here are filled with many different task. Which keeps this job very interesting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversity of People.
Admissions Interviewer (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNJune 24, 2014
Pros: continuing education.
Cons: parking, expensive healthcare.
Working at the Dental School you meet a great variety of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Stores Lead (Former Employee), MinneapolisJune 21, 2014
Pros: great environment
Cons: location
The most enjoyable part of this job was the people I worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with great benefits
Postdoctoral Research Fellow (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNJune 21, 2014
This is an excellent academic biomedical research institution with co-workers who are also focused generating high quality data.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Professional School Fellow (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNJune 20, 2014
Excellent work culture and high standards of customer services

1 2 3 4 5

University of Minnesota Photos