University of Missouri Employee Reviews

Found 298 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MOFebruary 16, 2017
FIne work to do while an undergraduate student. No benefits if below a certain hour amount per week. Overall, its pretty much just what you'd expect it to be like working for a University.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Research
Research Assistant for Civil Engineering Materials (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MOFebruary 14, 2017
Student research at remote testing facility. In a typical days work we would test structures and fabricate devices to securely hold samples while testing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning experience
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOFebruary 13, 2017
I am a PhD candidate in UMKC, and working as a teaching assistant for the general chemistry and organic chemistry labs. My responsibilities include teaching of those labs, maintaining safe environment for students while in the labs and grading of their exams and lab reports.
Pros
developed my communication and presentation skills
Cons
Low salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Attending the University
Division 1 Student Athlete (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MOJanuary 24, 2017
I attended the University to earn a degree and pursue my athletic career. Both ends of the spectrum were very pleasing to be a part of.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work if you can get it
Office support Staff III (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MOJanuary 23, 2017
Very nice work environment.
The main problem is that you really need to know someone already working in the department you want to have any chance of being hired.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Easy environment
IT Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MOJanuary 18, 2017
Got to deal with the technology that comes from computers and it gave me good knowledge on electrical components of the campus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love mentoring and teaching
Lead Faculty & Project Manager, Leadership Academy (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MOJanuary 16, 2017
Great boos
great team
Love developing and teaching leadership content and helping mentor people.
Work from home office at hours convenient to me- part time.
Hardest- increasing enrollment in the program.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Project Accountant (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MOJanuary 16, 2017
Very understanding and very family oriented. Awesome benefits as well. The staff was great to work with. The University of MO donated to many charities in and around the Columbia MO area .
Pros
Family Oriented and Friendly Staff
Cons
Never Closed, even for weather..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job is good to learn basic things for electrical engineers at starting stage.
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJanuary 8, 2017
I learned a lot about hydro turbines design and manufacture.They give study materials and softwere to test and understand practical scenario happen in practical environment.
Pros
friendly employees
Cons
no holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Support in work
Undergraduate Researcher (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MODecember 28, 2016
At this position I was an unpaid researcher. I got to have a ton of face time with my PI and was able to publish a paper as first author within 6 months of beginning research.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MODecember 24, 2016
great school
great people
great teachers
i learned a lot
the classes had great variety and lots of opportunities for me to learn
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Work environment
Human Resources Intern (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MODecember 17, 2016
Truly enjoyed at the University of Missouri, the work culture is better the average. A person truly get to immerse themselves in the understanding of the day-today life of campus life through a human resource lens.
Pros
Giving
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and rewarding
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MODecember 16, 2016
This position was very rewarding and provided many great challenges that developed skills in many areas. I enjoyed working with others in the department who were knowledgeable in the field of transportation engineering.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, laid back work environemment
Student Ambassador - One of 16 students (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MODecember 15, 2016
Advisors and managers are all very friendly. Office and co workers were all very supportive and personable. Very warm and welcoming most days.
Pros
Works with my class schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Importance of Tolerance and Acceptance
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MODecember 13, 2016
This experience allowed me to show others, specifically prospective journalists, how to promote diversity in all aspects of life. At a time of great division in our country, the course's progressive curriculum allowed me to gain an even greater understanding of the individual freedoms each American is entitled to.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Imagery/Geospatial Analyst Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MONovember 23, 2016
My time working as a part time student analyst at the University of Missouri has taught me a lot which will help me succeed in the future.
Pros
Work/School balance
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked as a student, so not full time
Master Electrician (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MONovember 15, 2016
worked as an electrician for part of a class, but I knew a lot of people that were hired as stage hands. really helpful with working around class schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
ACLS, ALS, BLS Instructor (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MONovember 13, 2016
With the University of Missouri Columbia we teach mainly what we call the Alphabet courses, such as Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS), Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) and Basic Life Support (BLS) i.e., CPR, First Aid, AED.


Other courses I have taught in the past as a satellite of the University of Missouri: Paramedic Refresher

Paramedic Refresher is a Nationally Certified course required for a Paramedic for relicensing which is 48 hours in length. The course covers Core Objective material and must meet the DOT standards.
Pros
Support Team
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviornment
Painter (Former Employee) –  904 S Rollins StNovember 9, 2016
I started off working at the University of Missouri during the summers while I was still in high school. Then after high school I was working here full time and enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chill place to work at
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MONovember 7, 2016
Great boss and flexible hours.
It could be stressful at times.
It is fun and great learning experience to interpret lectures for Chinese visiting scholars
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Missouri. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 300 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
4.0
Culture
4.0