University of Nebraska at Omaha

University of Nebraska at Omaha Employee Reviews in United States

Found 21 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging atmosphere
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEDecember 10, 2015
Academic environment that challenges anyone in research science. Hours were very flexible as long as project responsibilities were met. The PI always made himself available for assistance but it was expected to be self-disciplined and motivated. Not a lot of potential for movement within the lab, but was excellent preparation for similar positions in other institutions
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Student (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEOctober 7, 2015
Personable professional whose strengths include cultural sensitivity and an ability to build rapport with a diverse workforce in multicultural settings.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to interact with people
Computer Lab Monitor (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEJuly 6, 2015
Assisting individuals that are student or faculty with technical issues. Troubleshooting issues with computer or printer. Good supervisor.
Pros
In college
Cons
Parking
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEMarch 18, 2015
a typical day at work: 9am to 5pm; I am focus on the molecular mechanisms underlying behaviors in primates. I have published multiple peer-reviewed papers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall not a good place to work
Current custodian (Current Employee) –  omahaJanuary 19, 2015
To much gossiping and rumors and that's mostly by the supervisors.Lots of lazy people.
Pros
its a paycheck
Cons
low wages, uncaring bosses
Was this review helpful?Yes8No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun working with students
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEDecember 20, 2014
Good experience working with students. How to handle and respond to student's math problems when they get frustrated with the questions. Co-workers were very nice. Loved working as a teaching assistant at UNO.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, beautiful campus, nice people
Network Technology Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NESeptember 26, 2014
A typical day at work includes answering questions, attending meetings, processing reports, etc. I am always busy and have very little down time.

I have learned to take advantage of all the training and education benefits offered.

The hardest part of the job is watching people that may/may not do their job well suck up to management and get promoted while you stay pigeon holed.

The most enjoyable part of the job is that my current boss does not micro manage me.
Pros
separate sick and vacation time, $1/credit hour tuition
Cons
gossip, brown-nosing, pigeon holed
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very energetic workplace
Summer Instructor (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEJuly 8, 2014
I love working at UNO! Pre-service and In-service teachers have so much knowledge and energy.
Pros
short sessions
Cons
pay for parking
Was this review helpful?Yes8No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Director, Asst. Professor (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEMarch 27, 2014
Exciting to be at work...professional co-workers. Supportive administration. Learned that you can find passion in your work.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a Graduate Assistant
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEJanuary 21, 2014
Overall it is good but lacks a good management. There are many things that can be improved.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2

Want to know more about University of Nebraska at Omaha?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Custodial Supervisor
Custodial Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NESeptember 10, 2013
If you can get past the hours of 3:00 - 11:30 a.m. then you have a good career.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Volunteer at UNO (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEJune 30, 2013
a typical day at work is very very very nice really enjoyed it
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MavrickPR UNO
Public Relations and Advertising, GPA (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEMay 29, 2013
Creating branding on multiple levels including community awareness and online platforms.
Management creates an environment that supports growth and creativity.
Co-works exchange ideas, listen to each other and work well together.
The hardest parts of the job are keeping deadlines.
The most enjoyable parts of the job is collaborating together.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employment with good pay
Mathematics Teacher Assistant (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEOctober 18, 2012
I was hired to work as a Math Teacher Assistant in 8th grade classrooms around the Omaha, NE area and was hired immediately after I applied. They are very understanding and flexible with my school schedule. I enjoy helping out the kids understand math and get a better grasp on things, but it can be difficult with some children. I don't necessarily have a manager watching over me because we are just in a classroom while we work, but we report to a supervisor for our time sheets and any upcoming workshops that we need to attend to and she has been very helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really good to work
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEJuly 28, 2012
Worked as a Graduate Assistant. I used to help my Professor on gradings. I was also involved in small internal projects for the professor.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor upper management
Facilities Operator II (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEJuly 20, 2012
Some co-workers were okay and a few were just plain weird!! One employee who had the same job title as I, and had been working there for several years, was making less money then me. Not fair!
Pros
educcational bennifits
Cons
low pay scale
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job but is temporary only during the fall and winter school year.
Food Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEMay 31, 2012
The beginning of the school year you are very busy and it gets easier until the end of the school year, then it's busy again. I worked only 30 hours a week so it's a great part-time job for a senior citizen such as myself.
Pros
free meals. nice people to work with.
Cons
low pay, and no benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to learn. Expereincing a lot of new responsibilities here
Temporary position - Department Secretary (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEApril 18, 2012
The University of Nebraska at Omaha is where I am pursuing my Masters program in Management Information Systems. I have completed a year so far. Expected graduation date is Spring 2013.

Through my work I am learning more about how department administration works and learn something everyday I work there. I really enjoy my work and looking for more such dynamic opportunities with every day being a new day. I strongly believe that there is more out there that I would like to be part of and explore along the way.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workstudy
Workstudy (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEFebruary 24, 2012
Awesome place to work. Great staff and students. Everyone is like a family and do what they can to take care of others.
Pros
great location students and staff
Cons
parking is not the best and minimal advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tenured faculty don't even bother talking to adjunct instructors! A cold place.
Part-time instructor, adjunct lecturer (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NebraskaSeptember 1, 2011
I gave that school everything I had and got nothing back. Very sad. I thought educated people were supposed to be smarter, better, kinder. NOT! They are all takers -- every single one of them. I will be doing handstands when academia collapses on its own bankrupt model. Can't wait.
Cons
they pay you nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes24No10

See more University of Nebraska at Omaha reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 22 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4

University of Nebraska at Omaha Reviews by Location