University of Nevada, Reno Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and easy place to work
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVApril 11, 2016
it was really laid back and easy days; I just had to make sure the labs were usable and unlock the classrooms in the morning.
It was a really good environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fast pace
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVNovember 2, 2015
Productive and always engaging. Routines are different and different departments are always helpful. Wonderful academic environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enriching and Fun Place to work
Graduate Research Mentor - Online (Current Employee) –  Reno, NVSeptember 6, 2015
The University of Nevada, Reno provides a great opportunity to grow as an instructor, the students are engaged in the classes and the administrative stuff are always helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my co-workes where helpful
Nutrition Educator (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVAugust 20, 2015
The most enjoyable part of the job was working alongside my colleagues and learning from them; and I had the most wonderful supervisor.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UNR was wonderful place with work, with talented people
Project Manager and Researcher (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVMarch 2, 2015
This software wouldn't let me give anything other than 0 or 5 stars, and I wanted to give Job Security/Advancement something less than 5.

The biggest problem UNR had was being a state school stuck suffering from the whims of congressional politics when it came to feeding their employees and students.

Otherwise, everyone was fantastic and motivated, and my commute from a 40 acre farm to the NE was easy. Just avoid tourist crammed Virginia Ave to the south!
Pros
flexible_hours, ability_to_try_for_funding_for_anything_out_there, even_the_administrative_staff_were_extremely_helpful_including_grant_submissions_staff.
Cons
stuck_being_government_employees_at_the_whim_of_government_funding.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Volunteering: Portuguese Tutor (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVJanuary 10, 2015
I was responsible for helping other people who are learning Portuguese.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place to work
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Reno, NVOctober 14, 2014
This a great company that cares about the team. They have great benefits and will go the extra mile to make sure you are taken care of.
Pros
everything
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace that contributes to campus well-being.
AV Technician Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Reno, NVApril 20, 2014
I worked as an AV dispatcher, so I would spend my shifts working on Excel sheets that needed to be done and answering trouble calls coming from classrooms. At the beginning of each semester I make the schedule for the AV Technicians and send it to my boss. I learned how to handle caller requests over the phone, how to create a schedule, and how to work Excel. The hardest part of my job is working with frustrated callers, but it becomes the most enjoyable part of my job when I can help them out in the end.
Pros
zero travel because it is on campus; works with school schedule
Cons
the pay is low and i don't get many hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job opportunity
TEACHING ASSISTANT - Department of Nutrition (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVFebruary 5, 2014
It was a great work environment that supported work as well as student life.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place with good work culture and colleagues
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Reno, NVJanuary 8, 2014
This place is very calm and quiet place which is important for building better work culture. That's why I like this job and my professors here under whom I work.
Pros
work ethics, friendliness
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good professors
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Reno, NVDecember 11, 2013
I actually found that most of the professors here are very accessible and they are very helpful and fiendly.
Pros
free schedules
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work!
Current Employee (Current Employee) –  Reno, NVJune 26, 2013
The University of Nevada, Reno (UNR) has so much to offer as far as benefits including an incredible work environment. I really enjoy all the people I work with directly and indirectly. Everyone seems receptive to new ideas and is respectful of others. I would recommend UNR to anyone looking for a career opportunity!
Pros
retirement, culture, quality of life!
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a student at the University and I made my experience the best it could be.
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVMarch 24, 2013
The projects were always in depth and everything was documented.
Their was high encouragement to fully envelope one self in a project to assure that the most could be learned from a problem.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work.
IT Professional Building Automation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVMarch 5, 2013
work day 7 - 3:30
Learned an addational building automation system
Upper management is extreamly poor
Co-workers we great
on call duty
new construction comissioning
Pros
balanced
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes9No13

Overall rating

4.7
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.8
Compensation/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
4.3
Management
4.1
Culture
4.5

University of Nevada, Reno Reviews by Location