University of New England Employee Reviews

Found 17 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace in athletics
AquaWise Instructor (Current Employee) –  Biddeford, MESeptember 8, 2016
I go in with time to workout in the strength and conditioning facility then meet with the Head coach for the Men's Soccer team as we plan practice and evaluate video. Practice goes for about two hours and then we do a video session with the players from the game before. I usually run the lads through fitness and conditioning and help to run technical drills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interpersonal, collaborative, opportunistic
Peer Tutor/Supplemental Instructor (Former Employee) –  Biddeford, MEMay 31, 2016
I had a lot of great opportunities working with UNE as a peer tutor. The administrative staff was supportive and great leaders of the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bucolic setting, variety of responsibility, devoted colleagues.
Institutional Advancement, Gift Specialist (Current Employee) –  Portland, MaineAugust 13, 2015
Terrific and enthusiastic colleagues devoted to excellence. Mutually respectful, lively team players. Superb medical university.Medical benefits outstanding. Management lacking.
Pros
Best supervisor I've ever had, wonderful colleagues.
Cons
No merit pay increases and everyone complains about parking.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Study
Study Hall Monitor (Current Employee) –  Biddeford, MEJuly 1, 2015
This was a work study job that was enjoyable. This job improved that academic success of student athletes.The management was very understand, and was available to work around class schedules.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall positive
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Biddeford, MEJanuary 20, 2015
Worked as both student and work study. highly recommended.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interacting with people from all over
Tour Guide (Current Employee) –  Admissions CottageDecember 1, 2014
As a tour guide I tour perspective students around the college campus. Perspective students can range from high school students, students looking to transfer, international students and cross country students. I have learned extensive information about the college. If there are no students to tour, I work in an office setting filing important paperwork and transcripts of students.
Pros
free t-shirts, jackets, hats
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work ,very rewarding
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Biddeford Pool, MESeptember 15, 2014
I was 6 mths pregnant when I started working at UNE I loved all my coworkers,Alot of work involved in housekeeping. a typical day started at 3 am with one or two academic buildings thouroughly cleaned till about six when students started theyre classes. then from six till 1 pm dorms.... dorms would vary daily alot of scrubbing and vaccuming but plenty of opportunity to meet diverse people.
Pros
benefits, courses available to employees for half price per class
Cons
unsteady management, and work load
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall an enjoyable work experience
Fish Caretaker (Former Employee) –  Biddeford, MEMay 14, 2014
On a normal day, I would go into the Marine Science Center and retrieve a herring from the freezer. I would then remove the head and tail and cut the remaining part into bite-sized pieces. These would be fed to the marine organisms in the aquariums until all had eaten. Later on I was also given the task of cleaning algae from the sides of the Gulf of Maine tank. As this was a small group of people, I had few coworkers, all of whom were easy to get along with. Our supervisor is a thoughtful individual who concerns herself with our everyday well-being.
Pros
fit easily around class schedule, worked with sea creatures.
Cons
poor-quality scrubber often fell apart; hands smelled like fish afterward.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workstudy Job
Computer Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Biddeford, MEJanuary 16, 2014
pretty easy just had to maintain the computer lab and make sure it was clean.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and very busy
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Biddeford, MESeptember 6, 2013
Would punch in the afternoon and get things set up for dinner rush for the college students. Stock dishes, soda, switch out food, wipe down tables and chairs.
Learned how to better multi task on the job
Management was good they cared a lot about the safety of there employees and students.
Coworkers were fun to work with they enjoys there job and liked to have fun.
Hardest part of the job was trying to do it all six months pregnant.
Getting to work with and meet the students.
Pros
free food
Cons
can't think of any
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful academic environment
Assistant Registrar (Current Employee) –  Portland, MEAugust 21, 2013
UNE is growing rapidly making for very busy and full workdays.
Students and faculty are a pleasure to work with.
Lack of technical infrastructure can make the job difficult.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!!!
Coordinator of Student Involvement (Former Employee) –  Biddeford, MEAugust 20, 2013
Great university that is growing with the addition of the College of Dental Medicine and continued innovation.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
college
Business Development (Former Employee) –  Biddeford, MEApril 28, 2013
good school overall majored in communications while there. great people
Pros
good education
Cons
very cold
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great College to pursue your profession
Student (Current Employee) –  Biddeford MaineJanuary 31, 2013
I am learning all about the human anatomy. I am learning how to treat people with muscular problems from a osteopathic mind frame. I get to take exams and quizzes from a proctored site.
Pros
great lectures
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work study program.
Work Study Student (Former Employee) –  Biddeford, MENovember 28, 2012
I worked as a work study student for the academic IT department, and I loved it!
Was this review helpful?Yes2No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grant-funded research
Laboratory Manager (Current Employee) –  Biddeford, MEJune 13, 2012
A typical day at work is training undergraduate students in basic lab skills, conducting various tests. I learned more about HPLC and microdialysis in this position and how to work with a diverse team of scientists.
Pros
good work/life balance, ongoing education/lectures
Cons
i am allergic to my job (literally)
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report

See more University of New England reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.9

University of New England Reviews by Location