University of New England Employee Reviews

Found 15 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bucolic setting, variety of responsibility, devoted colleagues.
Institutional Advancement, Gift Specialist (Current Employee) –  Portland, MaineAugust 13, 2015
Terrific and enthusiastic colleagues devoted to excellence. Mutually respectful, lively team players. Superb medical university.Medical benefits outstanding. Management lacking.
Pros
Best supervisor I've ever had, wonderful colleagues.
Cons
No merit pay increases and everyone complains about parking.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Study
Study Hall Monitor (Current Employee) –  Biddeford, MEJuly 1, 2015
This was a work study job that was enjoyable. This job improved that academic success of student athletes.The management was very understand, and was available to work around class schedules.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall positive
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Biddeford, MEJanuary 20, 2015
Worked as both student and work study. highly recommended.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interacting with people from all over
Tour Guide (Current Employee) –  Admissions CottageDecember 1, 2014
As a tour guide I tour perspective students around the college campus. Perspective students can range from high school students, students looking to transfer, international students and cross country students. I have learned extensive information about the college. If there are no students to tour, I work in an office setting filing important paperwork and transcripts of students.
Pros
free t-shirts, jackets, hats
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work ,very rewarding
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Biddeford Pool, MESeptember 15, 2014
I was 6 mths pregnant when I started working at UNE I loved all my coworkers,Alot of work involved in housekeeping. a typical day started at 3 am with one or two academic buildings thouroughly cleaned till about six when students started theyre classes. then from six till 1 pm dorms.... dorms would vary daily alot of scrubbing and vaccuming but plenty of opportunity to meet diverse people.
Pros
benefits, courses available to employees for half price per class
Cons
unsteady management, and work load
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall an enjoyable work experience
Fish Caretaker (Former Employee) –  Biddeford, MEMay 14, 2014
On a normal day, I would go into the Marine Science Center and retrieve a herring from the freezer. I would then remove the head and tail and cut the remaining part into bite-sized pieces. These would be fed to the marine organisms in the aquariums until all had eaten. Later on I was also given the task of cleaning algae from the sides of the Gulf of Maine tank. As this was a small group of people, I had few coworkers, all of whom were easy to get along with. Our supervisor is a thoughtful individual who concerns herself with our everyday well-being.
Pros
fit easily around class schedule, worked with sea creatures.
Cons
poor-quality scrubber often fell apart; hands smelled like fish afterward.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workstudy Job
Computer Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Biddeford, MEJanuary 16, 2014
pretty easy just had to maintain the computer lab and make sure it was clean.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and very busy
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Biddeford, MESeptember 6, 2013
Would punch in the afternoon and get things set up for dinner rush for the college students. Stock dishes, soda, switch out food, wipe down tables and chairs.
Learned how to better multi task on the job
Management was good they cared a lot about the safety of there employees and students.
Coworkers were fun to work with they enjoys there job and liked to have fun.
Hardest part of the job was trying to do it all six months pregnant.
Getting to work with and meet the students.
Pros
free food
Cons
can't think of any
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful academic environment
Assistant Registrar (Current Employee) –  Portland, MEAugust 21, 2013
UNE is growing rapidly making for very busy and full workdays.
Students and faculty are a pleasure to work with.
Lack of technical infrastructure can make the job difficult.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!!!
Coordinator of Student Involvement (Former Employee) –  Biddeford, MEAugust 20, 2013
Great university that is growing with the addition of the College of Dental Medicine and continued innovation.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New UNE Program; Fun and Exciting
Administrative Assistant/Staff Assistant (Former Employee) –  Portland, MEJuly 22, 2013
UNE College of Pharmacy was a new program that recently graduated its first class this past May. As an administrative assistant, it was a very exciting position to be in. Everyone worked as a team including the Deans and Directors.

I would have to say the hardest part of my job at UNE was creating the policies and procedures for the new program. Even though it was a little difficult, it was also very exciting to be a part of it.

The most enjoyable part of my position at UNE was working with such dedicated and friendly co-workers. All of our hard work was so worth it when we were able to watch that first class graduate.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great College to pursue your profession
Student (Current Employee) –  Biddeford MaineJanuary 31, 2013
I am learning all about the human anatomy. I am learning how to treat people with muscular problems from a osteopathic mind frame. I get to take exams and quizzes from a proctored site.
Pros
great lectures
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work study program.
Work Study Student (Former Employee) –  Biddeford, MENovember 28, 2012
I worked as a work study student for the academic IT department, and I loved it!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grant-funded research
Laboratory Manager (Current Employee) –  Biddeford, MEJune 13, 2012
A typical day at work is training undergraduate students in basic lab skills, conducting various tests. I learned more about HPLC and microdialysis in this position and how to work with a diverse team of scientists.
Pros
good work/life balance, ongoing education/lectures
Cons
i am allergic to my job (literally)
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2

See more University of New England reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 21 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture