University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 36 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Underwhelming
Communications Manager (Current Employee) –  Chapel Hill, NCFebruary 5, 2016
State Job - subject to whims of the legislature
Underwhelming pay, benefits, chance for raises and advancement
Academia is purposeful, but dry and slow
Pros
Good Work/Life Balance
Cons
State job Underwhelming pay, benefits, advancement opportunity and you really have to love academia
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Application Analyst (Current Employee) –  Chapel Hill, NCFebruary 23, 2016
I went to UNC for undergrad and started working full-time after being a student employee for two years. It's a great atmosphere and I can't imagine being anywhere else.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thankful for the Opportunity
Business Service Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Chapel Hill, NCOctober 9, 2015
Thank you for the opportunity but there is no growth or opportunity. Budgetary cut backs will always be the excuse for low pay.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
low pay and over works.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The University works well with its employees
Building Environmental Services Technician (Current Employee) –  Chapel Hill, NCDecember 16, 2015
There are opportunities to advance with temporary and permanent employees. Conflicting attitudes with coworkers can be difficult when working together.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A high quality research environment.
Postdoctoral Research Fellow/Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Chapel Hill, NCMarch 16, 2012
UNC is an excellent research institution, but compensation and benefits for its research staff could be better. Support and career development for postdoctoral researchers could be greatly improved by increasing the availability of training in transferable technical skills, for example in areas such as advanced computing skills and the use of statistical software.
Pros
good support for your research projects.
Cons
weak support in other areas of career development.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going and fun workplace inside the Bowman Grey Pool on UNC campus.
PADI SCUBA Instructor (Current Employee) –  Chapel Hill, NCJanuary 7, 2015
A typical day at work for this job begins with a collaborative planning session with two other professional SCUBA instructors. We then get our equipment together and put it by poolside. The students come in and gather their equipment with our assistance and put things together for the water instruction. We then all enter the pool and proceed with SCUBA instruction for about an hour.
We begin at 3:30 and have 3 different sections (class periods) every Tuesday. We teach the sections back to back ending at 8:00 pm.
I really enjoy working with college students. They are optimistic and fun to teach and talk with.
The hardest part of the job is getting cold from being in the water for such a long time. The very best part of the job is traveling with the students to Key Largo, Florida for open water training at the end of each semester.
Pros
travel to key largo, florida twice per year.
Cons
long hours in the water at a time= cold!
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front Desk
Front Desk (Current Employee) –  ObstetricsAugust 10, 2015
8-5
Operation of office equipment
filing, faxing, taking calls
Outlook management for faculty
Schedule meetings and book venues
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative, flexible environment.
Statistician (Former Employee) –  Chapel Hill, NCAugust 14, 2013
Great research, challenging work and friendly staff. University benefits are great but state budget cuts created some challenges.
Pros
flexibility. staff encouraged to take/attend courses for career development.
Cons
very large and decentralized. experience varies a lot with supervisor/manager and team.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work, good work-life balance, friendly environment.
Planning Engineer (Former Employee) –  Chapel Hill, NCNovember 12, 2011
Very interesting projects to stretch your skill set. Education opportunities abound. Salary was below private sector jobs
Pros
good work life balance, pleasant work environment
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Conference and Events Specialist (Current Employee) –  Chapel Hill, NCJuly 31, 2014
Great place to work with great benefits if you are a permanent employee. Work typically stays at work allowing a good work/life balance.
Pros
free lunch occasionally.
Cons
no benefits if temp employee.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace to be able to create exprience.
Summer Painter (Former Employee) –  Chapel Hill, NCSeptember 30, 2015
A typical day at work deals with painting dormitories and apartments on the University of North Carolina of Chapel Hill campus. Great Environment with great co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not terrible for a State Institution
SBA Accounting Tech (Former Employee) –  Chapel Hill, NCMarch 24, 2012
Can be fun at time...work hard and usually it gets noticed. Management and staff truly care
Pros
people here try
Cons
state rules and regs...useless
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunity to use and increase my technical skills in Research Computing applications
Graduate Student Assistant Research Scientist (Current Employee) –  Chapel Hill, NCMay 25, 2013
Wonderful management, personal development environment both technically and in client management.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great University to work for. Very progressive and forward thinking.
Senior IT Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Chapel Hill, NCFebruary 24, 2013
I think there are many opportunities for growth and advancement. Various types of training opportunities are available, especially in the areas related to healthcare.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and Productive Research Environment
Research Intern (Current Employee) –  Chapel Hill, NCJanuary 12, 2015
A typical day was mostly spent on research, but departmental and lab meetings and seminars were very frequent. It is a great way to meet with colleagues while learning about cutting edge research. My co-workers were without exception some of the friendliest people I've encountered. As a researcher I was given relative freedom in my hours while still being expected to get a lot done.
Pros
diverse lunch options nearby and many meetings, seminars, and events to attend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UNC is a wonderful educational experience.
Full Time Student (Former Employee) –  StudentMay 4, 2015
I could be a scholar for the rest of my life, and UNC is a great place to learn. They challenge you every day, demand that you think and require that you give one hundred percent of yourself to your work. I will miss my time there.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work while going to school.
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chapel Hill, NCMay 29, 2013
I participated in research the last two years of my college career. It was a fun and exciting opportunity. I was able to learn a lot and gain some valuable experience.
Pros
flexible hours, great experience, and comparable pay.
Cons
no real cons.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People to work with!
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chapel Hill, NCJune 10, 2015
Worked in the Department of Allied Health Sciences preparing Graduate Students for their chosen Allied Health Profession.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good as a state job
Research Technician (Former Employee) –  East campusApril 16, 2012
UNC is a great place to work at. Excellent benefits. Transportation around campus is reliable.
Pros
diverse environment, benefits
Cons
traffic is horrible around campus, lack of decent parking
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job!
Director, Housekeeping Services (Former Employee) –  Chapel Hill, NCJanuary 20, 2012
You get to meet so many different cultures of people at UNC-CH. The employees are great for the most part.
Pros
the people
Cons
politics on campus
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 36 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Reviews by Location