University of North Carolina at Charlotte Employee Reviews

Showing all 90 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to study and work
Research Scientist (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMay 8, 2017
I like the people in this university, glad to learn and teach. Studied a lot of knowledge and skills. Thanks to my advisor and all the people who helped me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well rounded University
Sports Marketing Intern (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMay 8, 2017
Great collaboration with all members of the UNC Charlotte senior teams. The university is growing into a powerhouse of an establishment. Great experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Teaching Assistant for Dr. Tyrell Moore (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMay 4, 2017
I enjoyed working at the school as an undergraduate research assistant for multiple professors in my department. I do miss being at this fine academic institution.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching at UNCC
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMay 3, 2017
There is a need for more teachers at this institution but overall the work conditions are great as well as the job stability. The salary is fair but the organizational aspect could be handled better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely love the team I work with.
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCApril 29, 2017
As a Research Assistant I am able to produce content analysis, and brainstorm marketing ideas for a new organizational communications textbook. The freedom is what I enjoy the most!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ga
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCApril 20, 2017
Good place to work, nice environment. Most of the staff and faculty are incredible. There are a few bad eggs, but that is everywhere. Overall, I recommend working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace culture
Resident Advisor (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCApril 7, 2017
Productive and fun work place with awesome supervisors. Great way to interact with residents on campus and help them explore their college career. The environment is very welcoming.
Pros
Free housing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Technology Support Technician (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCApril 4, 2017
Technology support for my department, everyone is friendly and great to work with, the work isn't back breaking and is steady paced, loved helping professors and students alike. It is a government job, so salaries aren't very competitive, but I am currently paid fairly.
Pros
Laid back work environment, friendly coworkers
Cons
Few raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging environment
Associate Director of Undergraduate Admissions (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 26, 2017
University is growing at a rapid pace and it's an exciting time to be there but with growth comes change. Policies, requirements, and databases changed frequently during my time here. Becoming more progressive and innovative is a positive change.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace is a platform for collaboration with others
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 24, 2017
A good interaction with the students.
Understanding their doubts made me think more innovative.
And other than class timings ,office hours are very good timings for collaboration with my colleagues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Learning Environment for Precision Engineering
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 22, 2017
The university of north carolina at charlotte was th ideal place to learn about precision engineering. It housed the number 1 institute, nationally, for precision engineering. World-renown experts are available at every oppurtunity.
Pros
Graduate Students were treated as staff and thus got better benefits
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 16, 2017
I enjoy my position at UNC-Charlotte. The school is extremely flexible with my school schedule. The enjoy working with the undergraduate students and enjoy helping them obtain their academic success.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State supported
Parking Control Officer (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCFebruary 28, 2017
Good Starting salary, State benefits, lots of opportunities within multiple departments, relaxed days while classes are not in session
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCFebruary 4, 2017
Fosters the cultivation of new research techniques and possibilities. Great team of professors who are always available to help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for aspiring college professors
Teaching / Graduate Research (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCFebruary 2, 2017
I taught business communication courses in the Belk College of Business for two years while completing my Master's Degree. The department I worked in was great and so were the other people there. Teaching can be a rigorous career but UNC Charlotte is a great place to be.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJanuary 3, 2017
I enjoyed working at the University of North Caroline at Charlotte. The professors are nice and work with you to help you succeed in your role as a professor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful learning experience for research and data collection
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 10, 2016
I worked for a professor in the Public Health department of UNCC on her study of Refining the DASH Diet Scale for Hypertension Self-Care.
I was responsible for recruiting participants, scheduling interviews, collecting data and conducting interviews, and data entry and analysis.
Through this experience, I leaned the essentials that go into conducting research. The knowledge I gained helped guide me through the completion of my thesis.
After working with this professor, I chose her to be my thesis chair.
Pros
Stipend, research experience
Cons
Taking time away from graduate course work to conduct interviews on campus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced
Junior Software Developer (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCSeptember 11, 2016
Academia life in the engineering programs are very stressful but completely worth it. Professors are typically very available to come and speak with.
Pros
Professors are typically open door policy people
Cons
Politics of school is no fun
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working enviroment with good management
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJune 20, 2016
My job mostly included building and programming different modules or long distance education engineering labs. I also helped build and network a server rack for the lab modules. I had two other co-workers that were very knowledgeable and always a pleasure to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMay 23, 2016
It was a great experience where I helped undergraduate students learn programming. This in turn helped me become clear with my concepts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of North Carolina at Charlotte. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 90 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1

University of North Carolina at Charlotte Reviews by Location