University of North Carolina at Charlotte Employee Reviews

Showing all 82 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Learning Environment for Precision Engineering
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 22, 2017
The university of north carolina at charlotte was th ideal place to learn about precision engineering. It housed the number 1 institute, nationally, for precision engineering. World-renown experts are available at every oppurtunity.
Pros
Graduate Students were treated as staff and thus got better benefits
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State supported
Parking Control Officer (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCFebruary 28, 2017
Good Starting salary, State benefits, lots of opportunities within multiple departments, relaxed days while classes are not in session
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for aspiring college professors
Teaching / Graduate Research (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCFebruary 2, 2017
I taught business communication courses in the Belk College of Business for two years while completing my Master's Degree. The department I worked in was great and so were the other people there. Teaching can be a rigorous career but UNC Charlotte is a great place to be.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful learning experience for research and data collection
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 10, 2016
I worked for a professor in the Public Health department of UNCC on her study of Refining the DASH Diet Scale for Hypertension Self-Care.
I was responsible for recruiting participants, scheduling interviews, collecting data and conducting interviews, and data entry and analysis.
Through this experience, I leaned the essentials that go into conducting research. The knowledge I gained helped guide me through the completion of my thesis.
After working with this professor, I chose her to be my thesis chair.
Pros
Stipend, research experience
Cons
Taking time away from graduate course work to conduct interviews on campus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging environment
Associate Director of Undergraduate Admissions (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 26, 2017
University is growing at a rapid pace and it's an exciting time to be there but with growth comes change. Policies, requirements, and databases changed frequently during my time here. Becoming more progressive and innovative is a positive change.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training for an entry level position post grad
Resident Advisor (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 12, 2016
UNC Charlotte is a great place to be employed. Your superiors are always there if assistance is needed. Co workers are considered family. The hardest part of the job is meeting aggressive deadlines and the best part is meeting new people.
Pros
Free housing
Cons
No monetary compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace is a platform for collaboration with others
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 24, 2017
A good interaction with the students.
Understanding their doubts made me think more innovative.
And other than class timings ,office hours are very good timings for collaboration with my colleagues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 16, 2017
I enjoy my position at UNC-Charlotte. The school is extremely flexible with my school schedule. The enjoy working with the undergraduate students and enjoy helping them obtain their academic success.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCFebruary 4, 2017
Fosters the cultivation of new research techniques and possibilities. Great team of professors who are always available to help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJanuary 3, 2017
I enjoyed working at the University of North Caroline at Charlotte. The professors are nice and work with you to help you succeed in your role as a professor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced
Junior Software Developer (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCSeptember 11, 2016
Academia life in the engineering programs are very stressful but completely worth it. Professors are typically very available to come and speak with.
Pros
Professors are typically open door policy people
Cons
Politics of school is no fun
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCAugust 25, 2015
Fun and productive work place.
I was not experienced in this field and being a Research Assistant at UNC Charlotte I learned a lot about embedded systems & wireless sensor networks and Internet of things.

Had a great experience overall.
Pros
learned a lot
Cons
Salary was less compared to the work done
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work!
Student Services Call Center Representative (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCApril 11, 2012
There is plenty of room for advancement, and the benefits are great if you are a full time employee. Holidays and weekends off is a great addition, too! Although the workday can become stressful, you feel fulfilled at the end of the day. Very laid back work environment.
Pros
lots of help, guaranteed breaks, state employment
Cons
budget freezes can affect your position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Culture
Student Linux Systems Administrator (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJanuary 25, 2015
Work Culture at my current workplace is amazing.I can work with freedom of my thoughts and process work.My co-workers especially my Boss is very understanding and always encourages me.I have good learning from here to stay calm in panic situations.
Pros
Free Trainings
Cons
Monthly Salary not biweekly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working enviroment with good management
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJune 20, 2016
My job mostly included building and programming different modules or long distance education engineering labs. I also helped build and network a server rack for the lab modules. I had two other co-workers that were very knowledgeable and always a pleasure to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's not a good fit for me
Rather not say (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCApril 18, 2016
Long days, cubicles, hence, no privacy, can hear people's loud conversations, while working. Some co workers are nice and friendly. The most enjoyable part is 5:00 pm
Pros
It's a job
Cons
Extremely High parking fees, very high medical co pays, poor management, cubicles, low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and nice people
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCFebruary 9, 2016
Get to learn and earn. You can manage your studies and learn more about the subjects you are TA/RA of. Good work life balance
Pros
Learn and earn, learn time management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good school job, with ability to gain good experience
Motorsports Assistant (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMay 17, 2016
The job gave me valuable experience that I can use for the future, was a good workplace with great coworkers. The only disadvantage was the pay was very low.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working on my Research
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCApril 30, 2016
The research work was really interesting. It was fun working with my Team lead. The work environment was very friendly and all the team members contributed to the successful completion of the project.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMay 23, 2016
It was a great experience where I helped undergraduate students learn programming. This in turn helped me become clear with my concepts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of North Carolina at Charlotte. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 82 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.9
Culture
4.2

University of North Carolina at Charlotte Reviews by Location