Find companies:
University of North Florida
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
52 reviews

University of North Florida Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Research Analyst (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJuly 12, 2014
Pros: great for data analyst
Cons: none.
Typical Day include gathering data.
I've learned to apply and strengthen the use Statistics and Excel
Management was involved.
Co-workers were ver supportive.
The hardest part of the job was my weak won't.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marketing Intern
Athletics Marketing Intern (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJuly 8, 2014
I was a volunteer intern who was interested in learning what goes on in the sport world. This was a great learning opportunity that allowed me to gain knowledge to further my working experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the University environment and staff,faculty
Event and facility coordinator (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJune 21, 2014
Pros: opportunity to learn additional skills
Cons: salary scale
Enjoyed the challenge of meeting the needs of faculty,outside business groups.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
intern campus recreation
Intern (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJune 16, 2014
learned day to day operations of managing a recreation facility. event promo, event coordination, planning, etc..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUn
Web Master (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLMay 16, 2014
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Student Assistant (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLMay 12, 2014
Learned many office clerical environment skills. Typical day at work was just like any other day in college, you never know who would walk in with what interesting story or lesson to learn. My office manager was very patient and helpful always willing to give advice for my future. Co-workers were other university students and professors. Hardest part – more... of the job is when the student assistants were on their own while the office manager was out or the department chair would be out of the office. Most enjoyable part of the job would be the people I worked with and the projects we worked on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun College Job
Park Ranger/ Assistant Camp Director (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLApril 29, 2014
Great Job opportunity for a struggling college kid. Learned a lot about nature, as well as interacting with kids.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff but poor pay and no advancement
Coordinator, Research Development (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLMarch 22, 2014
Pros: great insurance, relaxed atmosphere, no problem getting time off if needed
Cons: low pay, no room for advancement, poor parking
I worked at UNF for 11 years. In that time, we rarely received raises but the cost of parking and insurance kept going up. The president is not an academic and that affects how UNF is viewed outside of Florida. The staff is 98% great with the students' welfare in mind, but management tends to be bad. I had to work long hours with no extra pay and finally – more... had to quit when I got a boss who insisted on calling me late at night (after 10 pm) with work questions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Requires patience and hard work
International Student Program Recruiter (Current Employee), International CenterMarch 5, 2014
Working at UNF provides some incredible opportunities for you as an employee. However, it is an ever changing landscape and every department is different. Some departments are more focused on work, life, balance than others. My review is reflective of my current office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inconsistency
Usher (Former Employee), JacksonvilleFebruary 14, 2014
Been at the job since May 2013, and to be honest, there are some bright sides to the job. For instance, the selection of shift, work/school balance, and the $9/hr pay is solid, if you are seeking opportunity. However, the negative things that stem from the people that work there are the managers that have no order with the vendors, the patrons in the – more... theatre, and no communication skills with their employees. They rarely give you a phone call in regards to attending a shift or have to call out due to personal matters-they prefer it via e-mail. Always understaffed because there is truly no control in management because there are times when the employees, themselves, don`t know who is truly under control. And what makes it so sad is that I got fired days ago for incidents that took place months ago that should`ve been handled months ago. In closing, for those attempting to pursue this job, apply with CAUTION. Incompetence will be derived in the workplace, but as long as you have good associates to converse with, you will ve fine.

Sincerely,

A former employee, ya heard me! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great institution of higher learning
Academic Advisor (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, holidays off, free tuition.
Cons: no opportunity for growth, low financial compensation, lack of communication
My place of work has great potential in being a powerful force in higher education. The faculty are knowledgeable and the opportunity for students and research are endless. I work a typical 8-5 pm with the opportunity to work a flex schedule if i need to. I feel as if i make a difference in my position. My supervisors are caring and understanding as – more... it pertains to life events and personal time. My co workers are willing to help out when needed for the greater good. The hardest part of the job is not being able to assist students more or getting them to truly take your advice as it pertains to their future. The most enjoyable part of the job is talking to students – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for students
Administrative assistant/ Game room Assistant (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: very accommodating
Cons: not enough hours to work
We are involved in hosting a lot of events during the semester. We work with professors, student, faculty and clubs. They worked around our class schedules and we get the chance to buid relationships with the people who come in everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great non-paying internship experience
Department of Physics Office Intern (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: gaining valuable office experience
Cons: no pay nor benefits
I learned some valuable office techniques. I learned how to make several types of spreadsheets to keep track of professors, classes, and class times. The professors and administrators in the physics department were very friendly and helpful. The hardest part of the job was finding a place to park. The most enjoyable part of the job was occasionally – more... getting to talk science with the professors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Visiting Instructor (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLJanuary 3, 2014
Very specialized syllabus that was designed to promote understanding in accordance with Florida Department of Education regulations, comfortable working atmosphere, quick resolution of issues from upper management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Internship (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJanuary 1, 2014
This place is a great place to work!! I love it here! It is a great environment built around creating a brighter future for our college aged children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An ideal Career
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLDecember 4, 2013
Pros: helping students with the scholarships we gave
Cons: not being more engaged with people
A day at the office in the financial aid and scholarship department was an enjoyable experience. When I arrived, I checked and responded to all messages and inquiries, mailed all recruitment paperwork, input sensitive information into the database, filing, made PowerPoint presentations for any luncheons and meetings, and assisted my director with any – more... additional duties. I learned how to handle sensitive information, how the scholarship and financial aid offices work, and gained computer skills. My manager was nice and we never had any issues. I mainly worked by myself in my office, so I did not interact with most of the people in the other offices. from the ones I did encounter they were nice. The hardest part of this job was learning all the codes for the computer system, which was not hard at all. I really enjoyed everything about what I did there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed meeting new people at the Women's Center at UNF.
Women's Center Chair and table massages (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLNovember 11, 2013
Pros: the pros were meeting new people with the possibility of getting repeat business.
Cons: most of the girls didn't make much money; therefore, could not afford additional massages
The women were very grateful for a discounted massage. This was a one time visit to UNF.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable environment
Office Manager (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLOctober 28, 2013
Pros: free lunches, public relations on all age levels and get a fitness workout.
Cons: salary is low compared the job title and duties.
I am the "go-to" girl. There is no typical day as anything can come up and I would have to be the one to help the situation. Whether it is based on an unsatisfied customer to a facility operations not functioning well, I would be the main person of contact and get the right people to do the job or if I can fix it, I would too.

The job is demanding – more... and very multitasking but, I prefer to keep busy as it makes the day go faster.

I am diligent with my job and very responsible so, my co-workers depend on me for support. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work for
Library Assistant (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLOctober 27, 2013
This is the best job I had.My supervisors are great and the staff there is very friendly. I really enjoy working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Student (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLAugust 22, 2013
I enjoyed my time at this school as a student. Teachers and facilities are great quality.

1 2 3