University of North Georgia Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 22 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
Passport & Visa Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Dahlonega, GAJuly 1, 2016
I logged in passport and visa information. I mailed out the passport and visas along with applications. I talked to the state department on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with!
Office Administrator - Commandant of Cadets (Current Employee) –  Dahlonega, GAJune 13, 2016
Wonderful people to work with. Long days, hard work, compensation does not fit work load. Opportunity for advancement.
Pros
Advancement opportunities, free lunches, great benefits
Cons
Long days, overworked, low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worth he time!
Cadet Chaplain (Former Employee) –  Dahlonega, GAJune 1, 2016
Wonderful place to work with wonderful people! Hours are continuous, but the service you provide to the cadets is worth every hour! DISCLAIMER: Must be a UNG Cadet and appointed from a Cadet Chaplain Board- You DO NOT need a seminary degree, only a servant's heart!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Military Leadership CenterMay 15, 2016
I attend UNG and will start the Nursing Program in August. I worked at the Military Leadership Center and it was an amazing job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full-time student
FULL-TIME STUDENT (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, GAMay 7, 2016
As a full-time student and full-time work employer I learned how to manage my time and balance my priorities. The University of North Georgia had flexible class schedules for me to be able to work and maintain a steady income as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
IT Student Worker (Current Employee) –  Watkinsville, GAMarch 22, 2016
They'll work with your class schedule, test your current technical knowledge and then teach you a few more tricks. It's fairly easy going most of time. I've enjoyed my time here.
Pros
Flexible hours, lunch breaks, nice co workers
Cons
Low Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fun and leraning center workplace
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, GAMarch 16, 2016
Follow insttruction and practice safety at all times, I learned to be careful when it came with practical and theoretical science, especially with micro scale. I worked with fun and professional people.
Pros
good environment and practiced what I studied for.
Cons
pay was not great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant budget cuts for adult education.
Teacher/Tutor for Reading/Language Arts/ESL (Current Employee) –  Adult Ed Center.February 1, 2016
Jittery management style .Most employees eking out life until retirement. Best teachers leave early under high stress.
Pros
The sometimes great students.
Cons
No appreciation. Too many students from penal system who interrupt classes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching is Nice but Job Advancement is Hard
Instructor (part-time) (Current Employee) –  Watkinsville, GANovember 18, 2015
I teach part-time, so the benefits are negligible. Advancing into a full-time staff position has proven impossible so far, but I keep trying. On the other hand, working with students has proven to be quite rewarding. I hope to advance in a different industry, hopefully working with or in the vicinity of college students.
Pros
College students are nice.
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great location
Staff person (Former Employee) –  Dahlonega, GASeptember 24, 2015
Beautiful campus, great students, nice location, dedicated faculty,
Nice gym.

Supportive Students. Nice location,
Pros
campus
Cons
administration
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun - simple student work
Math Tutor (Former Employee) –  Oakwood, GAJuly 15, 2015
This was just a student job in the math lab. It was good, but not a career opportunity. The director, Hieu Huynh, was awesome.
Pros
Low stress, fun
Cons
Student job
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working for a college
Accounting Tutor (Current Employee) –  Gainesville, GAMay 19, 2015
Working for a college has its ups and downs. The reward is having students finally understand a concept to which they didn't before they sat down with me and I explained it. There is something about seeing that light go off in their eyes.

A typical day of work would be having students waiting on me as soon as I walk in the door. They have questions about homework or a certain concept they don't exactly understand.

My boss is a lot younger than the rest of us in our department and at times it seems as he can't really get a grip on the reality of his position. But he is a very nice person.

Co-workers here are for the most part nice people. We all get along very nicely.

Hardest part of the job is having to deal with students and teachers at times that are rude. But that is not an every day thing. Thank goodness for that.
Pros
meeting nice people
Cons
not really counting if you are part time
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment while in school
Student Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Dahlonega, GAApril 30, 2015
This position offered me a student-worker position in which I assisted the Undergraduate Admissions office in the recruitment process of prospected students. This job required personal communication skills as well as the ability to assist students and parents in what ever way necessary
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Supportive
English Lecturer (Full Time) (Current Employee) –  Dahlonega, GAMarch 22, 2015
I continue to enjoy working with the students and the faculty. I wish to continue my employment here. I'm only applying for a part time job as an adjunct for the summer.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and Innovative Lab setting with Students
Teacher/Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dahlonega, GeorgiaJuly 16, 2014
• Assisted in astronomy lectures and in-class labs
• Taught and graded outdoor labs at local observatory
• Helped with research and data collecting at observatory for Astrophysics
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized, dysunctional
Public Services Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Oakwood, GAJune 10, 2014
The culture of consolidation has caused isolationism and ridiculous amounts of bitterness and departmental autonomy.
Pros
competetive salary
Cons
the worst administration i have ever encountered anywhere.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative and driven workplace perfect to gain further experience
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dahlonega, GAFebruary 14, 2014
As a research assistant I came in several times weekly to conduct experiments and maintain our sample population in order to further the research of my supervising professor. I learned several microbiological, microscopy, and sample storage and collection techniques. I also gained knowledge in the operation and maintenance of laboratory equipment such as centrifuges, dissection microscopes, immunofluorescent microscopes, and incubators. The most enjoyable part of the job was simple achieving the desired results and furthering my experience.
Pros
new facility, high quality equipment
Cons
compensation for my position purely experience based
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I absolutely loved working and studying at this university.
Arabic Tutor (Former Employee) –  Dahlonega, GAJanuary 25, 2014
UNG allowed me to expand upon my language capabilities while directly interacting with aspiring language students. The faculty at UNG have diversified academic upbringings and experiences which enhance the learning experience for any student. It has a beautiful campus and surrounding area and affordable tuition.
Pros
i would recommend this university for any student and/or potential faculty
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So far so good
Adjunct Faculty Instructor (Current Employee) –  Gainesville, GAAugust 27, 2013
I have just begun and everyone has ben kind and professional so far.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Job, Good Benefits, Low $$$
Mathematics Instructor (Current Employee) –  Oakwood, GAAugust 5, 2013
An enjoyable job that gives me flexible time constraints and low stress. Salary is very low for my educational level and level of knowledge needed for the job,
Pros
flexible time and excellent benefits
Cons
low salary, low growth potential
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 22 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.9
Culture
3.9

University of North Georgia Reviews by Location