Find companies:
University of Pennsylvania Health System
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
36 reviews

University of Pennsylvania Health System Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energizing and innovative work environment
Outpatient Financial Counselor (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMarch 8, 2014
I enjoyed interacting with patients and gaining conflict resolution skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start.
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJanuary 11, 2014
The hours are flexible.
Helps me develop my lab skills along with management skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
U of P was my turning point
Trainer/Consultant (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 6, 2013
U of P was my defining moment when after almost 3 years, the IT department was taken over by some corporate consulting company. That's when more than a few of us left to continue our mission, working for a hospital.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place but...
Medical assistant (Current Employee), Lumberton , njOctober 6, 2013
Pros: pay and benifits
Cons: the doctors
The amount of managers my job goes through is ridiculous . The doctors are divas and thats being nice. They always run excessively behind and expect it to be ok. The doctors do not care that you have a life outside of work. They think they can talk to you anyway and if you defend your self you are being disrepsectful. They eat management alive to the – more... point they get ran out of the position. Some of the staff is nosey and sneaky, you would think they are getting paid extra to be spies. This place would be great if you got rid of half the doctors and if people would focus on their own work instead of yours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Admissions Representative (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PASeptember 8, 2013
Good place to work, I got alot of good experience. It can get very busy and pressuring. The coworkers are okay for the most part. The hardest part is dealing with change.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Medical Assistant Department of Gastroenterology (Current Employee), philadelphiaSeptember 6, 2013
I love what I do. I've learned a lot from our diverse patient population.
The benifits a good but the pay stinks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non Technical Position / Call Center - This is a terrible job
Service Desk Analyst II (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 21, 2013
Pros: the benefits are solid
Cons: the director of this department is the absolute worst manager i have ever had, we started with 30 techs and when i left we were down to 17.
Let me start by stating that the manager for this position is not a technical person in any way shape or form.

I worked close to a year in this position watched the revolving door of techs enter and leave as fast as the possibly could.

The work is non technical - you will not learn anything new.

Your job will be to take a call - where you will be – more... complained to about how terrible the IS department is run.

You will take their name and information - then route a ticket to another team.

Within 10 seconds you are to get onto the next call.

They are incredibly under staffed to the point where you are begged to work shift after shift.

This is not the start of a career.

This is where techs go to die. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IS Management Team Lacking
Epic Analyst (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 2, 2013
Pros: public transportation
Cons: no merit increases, swipe in and out like hourly employees but not paid overtime, difficult to advance, micromanagement
The doctors and nurses at the hospitals are great.

Unfortunately the IS department management team does not match up to excellence of the doctors and nurses. Management team is not flexible and does not encourage growth within. Fact: outside people hired above those who work there.

Employees are not acknowledged and not rewarded for their hard work. – more... Fact: There is no merit raises. You get same raise for working self to death as someone who is not competent.

Leadership thinks IS employees should be slaves to their jobs and work more than what is standard. Rather than hire more people you are expected to work above 8.5 standard hours and make up for the management team's inability to staff open positions. Fact: open positions not filled and rest of team has to take on more. You take work home but cannot use it for comp time and still expected to be in office for 8.5 hours each day. No overtime pay.

Most unhappy group of IS employees ever encountered. Fact: people do not smile and complain all the time.

Fact: Leadership does not acknowledge employees when he passes them. Makes you feel like insignificant and not liked. If he doesn't like you he doesn't say hello and ignores that you are even his employee even though you worked there for years and years unless he likes you which is unfair and rude.

Leadership not trusting of employees. Fact: Snow Policy-when it snows tells people not allowed to work from home but come in. People work from home anyway cause need to keep systems running but have to use vacation day cause of his policy. Consultants get to work from home when planes cant come in because of snow but own employees who keep systems running are not trusted. Fact: salaried employees expected to swipe in and swipe out like hourly employees. No extra pay for extra hours but good talking to if you leave early.

Fact: employees given 10 sick days each year but if you call out more than 3 times in a year you are given warning and next time written up.

Lots of good people left recently and others are looking to leave. No attempt by management team to care or do anything for those who they find out are leaving since only interested in warm bodies to fill chairs.

Wouldn't accept position with this IT department. If you are going for different kind of job in the hospital, then you will enjoy Penn. If IT person, you will not be happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing organization!
Human Resources (CORP) Program Coordinator (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 1, 2013
Pros: tuition reimbursement
University of Pennsylvania Health System is an amazing organization to work for. I have learned so much here than I have learned in any other previous job. Penn Health Systems really cares about their employees and their professional development. By this being a teaching hospital they encourage their employees to take full advantage of the $8,000 tuition – more... reimbursement to further our education at any college/university of our choice. The Penn Medicine Academy is a small sect of the hospital that has impacted thee most change on employees. This department encourages growth, helps retain employees, identifies top talent internally, and trains and develops new leaders. In my opinion, PENN is the top employer of choice in the region. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for learning new things and meeting new people.
Lead Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 28, 2013
Pros: working for the #3 top ranking hospital in philadelphia area
Cons: they work you until there is nothing left to give before they appreciate you.
Penn is a very fast pasted industry that is ways growing bigger and better. I love the teaching and training opportunity they offer there employees. Management is all about who you know, co-works are life friends, the hardest part of the job is penn love there patients more then there employees. The most enjoyable is learning new things and creating – more... new patient and physicians relationships. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Penn Medicine is the BEST
Department Clinical Secretary (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJune 15, 2013
Pros: compensation, benefits, support
Cons: wonderful
Fun/organized professional place to work. I recommend Penn as top 10 in the nation..Great plce to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Patient Access Representative (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJune 4, 2013
The University of Pennsylvania Health System is a great place to work. A typical day at work would be servicing patient calls for registration and scheduling concerns. Patients can also have other inquires such as medication request and or want to speak with their physicians. I am currently front line to intercept any calls that can be resolved in my – more... area. Management can be pleasant and great to work with. I enjoy the job their are no difficult parts. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping patients meet their medical needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unmatched Toxicity
Patient Access Representative (Current Employee), 1500 Market Street, Philadelphia, PAApril 9, 2013
Pros: initial ignorance of truths and lies
Cons: realization of truths and lies
The HUP Patient Scheduling and Registration Call Center at 1500 Market Street, in Philadelphia, is a concentratedly toxic environment that practices all of the required nuances to establish a racial, gender and educational divide among its staff. This philosophy was eagerly embraced and implemented by the department's new supervisor and cronies immediately – more... upon assuming administrative authority, and is supported by the University of Pennsylvania's Human Resources Department via its position of neutrality to such an extreme that the Human Resources Department is nonexistent. A typical day consists of answering a work queue that is diverse, desperate and disheartened because each caller is persistently manipulated to believe their medical condition is of the highest importance, when in fact the patient is being placed in a cookie cutter system of ambivalence. It's Ground Hog Day, everyday in HUP's Call Center. It is painful to be a part of. The everyday citizen is simply unaware of the charade until the 3rd, or 4th, telephone call for help. It's the old American adage, and practice, of "who you know" that applies to both patient and Call Center Representative that defines daily encounters.

Literally, no one is minding the store. Representatives have responded to these circumstances by becoming increasingly detached, e.g., personal phone calls with the patient on hold, going into auxiliary mode to text family and friends, or simply lying to a patient to shorten the call for statiscal goals. Toxicity has never been more professionally practiced than at the HUP Patient and Registration Call Center, 1500 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA. The best of luck, regardless; as here you are nothing more than a minion. – less

neuro84 – July 10, 2013

I was part of the Call Center as Rep for internal medicine. I couldn't even stomach it after 9 months of pure greedy ignorant managers at the top. It was all about expansion and micro management it came to the point that I was servicing 5 different offices, protocols after protocols for a system that was rather aggrravating both staff and patients. May I mention just how toxic it was. It was soo toxic it was becoming hard to focus on school, and put my relationship into gutter. Thankfully Im still in love with my babe. Not to mention I would get there mentally charged and 30 mins later I was drained and ready to punch someones. OMG never again.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily Work Flow
Supervisor (Current Employee), 1500 Market StMarch 19, 2013
I am a supervisor for Patient Access. My day starts of by reviewing the daily call volume and current unserved rate. It is my responsibility to make sure we have adequate staff available to support the incoming call volume. I love working with people and being proactive. The hardest part of my job is trying to balance the total number of people between – more... two queues to maximize support. – less

– April 20, 2013

I'm trying to get a job with Penn... Currently work in a cal center environment but I'm also in school for Medical Administration and would appreciate working in a medical environment to assist me in my educational goals. Can anyone give me some tips on applying for this position.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a pleasant experience
Medical assistant (Current Employee), Woodbury heightsMarch 8, 2013
Pros: tuition reimbursement, pay
Cons: incompetent management, poor work ethics
My experience with penn has been very displeasing . When you hear the name Penn Medicine you think of a very prestigious hospital and work environment, I can't speak for any other dept I just know that where I work is horrible. It's a constant party where happy hour up the street is the hangout spot the practice manager as well as the office manger – more... get drunk together on weekends along with the "nurse" who isn't actually a nurse but a medical assistant who is the office managers best friend and neither one have a degree by the way did Mention that the office manager and the practice manager are also close friends. It's like high school and in order to be liked you have to join the "clique" or else you are criticized for everything you do rules only apply to those that are non friends of management. To sum it up I've learned one thing from Penn it's not about what you know it's who you know and how much brown nosing you do. Management is incompetent, there really is no formal training besides the few classes they send you to and those are only for epic care which is their ems company. Everything else is learn as you go and GOD forbid you make a mistake because no one in management knows how to fix it you have to call out for help. I would say Penn is not the place for me :( – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
can speak for other hospitals and departments in the health system but mine sucks
tech (Current Employee), philadelphiaFebruary 26, 2013
Pros: pay is good thats what keeps you here
Cons: everything
IF you like being treated like a child and micromanaged to the point where your head will explode by unqualified management and directors who dont know a thing about you or what you do but can tell you how to do your job then pls apply if not run away fast ive been in shackles trying to escape for sometime now

PreviousTech – March 7, 2013

Too funny, but painfully true. I know who and what your are talking about and referring too. You have a devious supervision who is an unqualified, and a compulsive liar. You have a manager who failed his certification 4x and a director who is clueless. All both of them are spineless and do not take care or stand up for there staff even when they are right. That department is a joke. Yes the histology at U of Penn the dermpath.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not happy at my present job
Communications Specialist (Current Employee), Philadelphia, Pa.January 30, 2013
currently not happy at my present job....currently looking to transfer or leave the health system in general.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company to work for
Supervisor Patient Reg and Scheduling (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PaJanuary 22, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: short breaks, management
Within my last roll at my past job there was no typical day at work. Everyday was a different challenge and a new task. During my time at this job I became an expert at all types of reporting systems. I learned how to analyze data and rate employees based on data. I didn't not have the best management however, that also helped me to become a self stater – more... and helped me with following through. I really enjoyed my co-workers and subordinates they were the most enjoyable part of the job. The hardest part of the job was the office politics was a straight forward type of person and was not use this aspect of the job. Overall i would say this was a good place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Administrator Departmental Secretary (Former Employee), philadelphiaDecember 27, 2012
I loved working here. Too bad my department was letting people go. I would work here again
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good pace enviroment.
Patient Service Representative (Current Employee), philadelphia, paDecember 17, 2012
Working at UPHS has been a great experience. My co-workers were fabulous. as well as my boss. I did not have any problems at all fitting in. However I am looking for a job that rotates my schedule.

About University of Pennsylvania Health System

The University of Pennsylvania was founded by Benjamin Franklin when he had a little down time between establishing a country – Read more