Find companies:
University of Phoenix
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
838 reviews

University of Phoenix Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work!
Instructor (Current Employee), Cedar Falls, IADecember 15, 2014
There have been times when communication from above has been lacking. That has definitely improved in the last few years! This makes the university a much better place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the focus on student achievement
I work as an online instructor (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZDecember 13, 2014
Pros: you learn a lot interacting with students.
Cons: frequent policy changes.
I Love my work. A typical day is spent reviewing student postings and assessing performance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company ever
Corporate Education Liaison (Former Employee), Merrillville, INDecember 11, 2014
Pros: fun on campusevents and opertunities to bond with staff and faculty off site.
Cons: very high standards
University of Phoenix is an awesome company to work for. I wish I was still there. The position, as any like it is very challenging. I did enjoy working with students and helping them see there is a way to complete their degree.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits of the job
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CADecember 11, 2014
Pros: work schedule
All around excellent company to work for and the benefits are excellent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big on customer service
Education Counselor (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZDecember 11, 2014
Pros: team builders and tuition reimbursement
Cons: slow internal internet
University of Phoenix employees are mostly counselors. They have different titles like enrollment, academics, finance and specialist.

A typical day is answering phone calls , emails and reaching out to students to follow up and check on students to remind them about their requirements. The frequency can range from daily to quarterly depending on where – more... the student is in with their classes and program.

I have learned that it is better to listen and gather information than to just give suggestions and or advice based on the typical student model.

Management is very supporting.

Co-workers are you family since we all encounter the same concerns with different students.

Hardest part of the job is giving bad news to student who tries so hard.

Most enjoyable part of the day is explaining and answering a question and having the student understand. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace Summary
Supply Chain Management Distribution Clerk (Current Employee), Poway, CADecember 10, 2014
A day at Delta Design is a good work environment, leadership all the way to the person walking into the door displays an positive attitude. The three years working at Delta I learned working at a major Corporation can be challenging at times. It is not the Navy, so learning the civilian standard way of operations is all business, nothing personal.
My – more... co-workers are hard working people, I believe some of the people to people skills of some of them can be better, but this is the same in all corporations.
The hardest part of the job, is managing expectations, but to be a good leader, it something I have to master. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting new opportunities to prove yourself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Numerous Requirements, Little Pay
ONLINE INSTRUCTOR (Current Employee), CADecember 8, 2014
Pros: allows students in remote areas, or those with work and family to earn a college degree.
Cons: low pay, inconsistant work
UOP has a very strict time schedule for faculty. They do not care if their site is having issues, or if there is a power outage at your home, there is no forgiveness if feedback is even one minute late. If you become ill and can not go into your classroom for two or three days, you may be fired. They have very unrealistic guidelines for course approval. – more... They want the faculty to be well rounded and an expert on a topic, but the person who qualifies the faculty for those positions, does not understand that in management, you are often responsible for many components, all of which make the faculty member very qualified to teach. I always find it ironic that your teaching experience at UOP does not count toward your experience. This said, how do they qualify their faculty who teach education. They teach for UOP, but it "does not count". They may not give you a class for months, then you are suppose to be able to jump right in there, in an efficient manner and perform as though you do the job every day. They need improvements and I am hopeful the new president will take a good look at all these issues. They rely heavily on your work experience, but it is not enough when having classroom discussions or providing feedback. Instead, you are to copy quotes from the weekly reading and/or include additional material, which has been found online. I think adding websites is a nice add, but should not be required for feedback. The time commitment averages the pay out to about $10/hr. Why am I still there? I enjoy teaching, that is the only reason; working from anywhere helps greatly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Online Facilitator
ONLINE FACILITATOR (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZDecember 4, 2014
I facilitate many online education and English courses as an adjunct online faculty member on an as needed basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment with encouraging advisors
Elected as team leader (Current Employee), Memphis, TNDecember 3, 2014
I would like to continue learning and evolving, reaching my potential and giving back by inspiring others.I feel the University of Phoenix has helped me become more responsible and independent, however I do intend to study intensively and transfer, working to get more hands-on experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It just wasn't for me.
Admissions Counselor/All Campus (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZDecember 2, 2014
Pros: good pay & good security
Cons: questionable ethical & moral standards with regards to enrollment procedure & required matrix.
I'm sure this is a wonderful organization to work for, for some. The way that they chose to do business with regards to enrolling students just wasn't for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great structured organization
Senior Enrollment Advisor (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZDecember 1, 2014
Pros: benefits, salary, advancement opportunities, education waiver, atmosphere, structure, training, overtime opportunities
Cons: long days and working in front of a computer 40+ hours a week.
A typical day at the University of Phoenix consisted of data management, multitasking and setting appointments to do applications for admissions. Following up with current students and showing them support was also a daily task. I learned a lot from working at the University of Phoenix. I learned what corporate structure was and how a large corporation – more... ran on a daily basis. I also learned about post secondary education, financial aid, and building relationships over the phone. Management was well structured and motivational conversations happened daily. My co-workers were more that just co-workers they were my friends. We were at work more than we were at home so we helped each other out to reach our goals. The hardest part of the job was keeping the students motivated. It was 100% online which makes it difficult for some students to achieve their goals. The most enjoyable part of my job was the atmosphere. There were 10-15 people on a team and our teammates became close almost like family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Striving for Excellence
Academic Counselor (Former Employee), Orlando, FLNovember 27, 2014
Hard working environment by counseling students to achieve degree completion. Using probing and student centric focus to assist student needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UoP
Online INstructor (Former Employee), Phoenix AzNovember 24, 2014
Attended and worked at UoP from 2002-2013. Great school for the online community. Top notch instructors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved being at home focusing on my family and school, but I am wanting to go back to work.
Full-time student and Homemaker (Current Employee), Murfreesboro, TNNovember 21, 2014
Pros: home
Cons: no pay
I enjoyed being at home and preparing my daughter for school. She just turned 4 last month and is already ready for kindergarten. My son was carried, born, and raised for his first year at home. That is something I cherish.

I had time to spend with my children after school and summer time. My co-workers would be my children. I managed the household. – more... I learned while I thoroughly love my children, I need a real job with actual performance goals and praise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part-time job
Academic Counselor (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZNovember 17, 2014
Pros: teaching kids something new
Cons: more work than i initially realized
I coached kids and met a lot of great people. I was responsible for coaching on Saturdays, and would collect payment from parents and would turn in all money to the company's office during the week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality Educational Programs, but some internal challenges
Director (Current Employee), West regionNovember 14, 2014
Pros: good pay, great benefits, good people to work with, good facilities
Cons: very demanding, frequent lay offs, and unclear strategy for the future
Good quality products and programs. Has been restructuring for several years and this has resulted in many lay offs and very unhappy people left behind. Hopefully they can turn it around as they offer very good degree programs and provide quality education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people...managerial culture is challenging
Director (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZNovember 14, 2014
Pros: tuition benefits, varying department cultures
Cons: work-life balance issues, technology not utilized as much as it could be
I worked for the University for over 10 years and saw things change for the worse over that time. Due to changes in the economy and government regulations the "golden years" of the company seem to be gone forever. Promotional opportunities that used to help keep people positive and excited dwindled and after several rounds of layoffs most people are – more... fearful and competitive. The individual departments vary greatly and there is a true dedication to the students there which is intrinsically rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Higher Educations
Student Service Coordinator (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PANovember 13, 2014
Pros: staff
Same reveiw and periously stated. everything i menitioned before this applies to the same company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in Teams
Full time Student (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZNovember 11, 2014
Pros: accepting own mistakes and finding ways to change mistakes of mine.
Cons: finding other revenues to working with dishonest team mates.
Well as a full time student with UOP we also had to work in groups of three to six teams. Some days depending on who was assign to your teams could be more challenging. Responsibility were to either be the team leader or the follower along with other members of your assign team. What I learn while working in teams is how to work on a job site and to – more... adapt to a more diversity role play to adapt to all pro's and cons that come on a daily basis and how to communicate verbally, written in a manner accepted by any other teammate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is my summary of working at the Univ of Phoenix for the past 3 years.
Enrollment Advisor (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZNovember 11, 2014
I enjoyed working at the Univ of Phoenix, the atmosphere was one of excitement and professionalism. The management was awesome, allowing each member to be themselves working to their strengths. The most enjoyable part of the job is to visualize the smile on the face of the student you helped achieve the goal of a college degree while thousands of miles – more... apart. You feel so close to them. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About University of Phoenix

University of Phoenix Online is the online division of University of Phoenix, Inc., which is an accredited, private institution – Read more

University of Phoenix Photos