Find companies:
University of Pittsburgh
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
139 reviews

University of Pittsburgh Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Research assistant (Former Employee), Oakland, PAJanuary 8, 2014
Everyone was extremely cooperative and helpful. The work was frustrating at times but with the aid of coworkers, it was manageable. Overall was a great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MD doing research in Human Genetics
Post-doctoral Fellow (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PANovember 21, 2013
I used to do research in Human Genetics in many diseases which are hereditary and looking to the mutation.
doing pcr ,genotyping,sequencing and DNA extraction and purification.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace with outstanding colleagues
Professor (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PANovember 16, 2013
A nurturing and collegial place for a scientist to realize his/her dreams, provided he/she works extremely hard and has the good fortune of having his/her grant proposals funded.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was an undergraduate RA. I learned how to program stepper motors via MATLAB
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PANovember 11, 2013
Programmed stepper motors to move in predetermined directions for test setup.

Professor and PhD student were both very friendly and helped a lot with questions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Spent most of my day in a Pitt van
Transportation Specialist (Current Employee), Pgh and surrounding areaNovember 8, 2013
Once I scheduled the pick up time with my appointments I would pick them up and drive them to their designated location. When their time was up I would pick them back up and take them home.

Traffic was often and issue and the occasional subject not following the schedule

I enjoyed interacting with the senior citizens
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dead End, Low Pay, Flexible hours
Assistant Coach (Current Employee), Oakland, PANovember 1, 2013
Pros: team issued gear
Cons: total lack of professional development opportunities, poor management on any level.
My typical day starts early in the morning and ends in the late afternoon. I've learned that even if you work harder than the rest of your peers, take the time to do things the right way, and try to develop yourself professionally the University does not value what you do. The University of Pittsburgh has a massive problem with employee retention in – more... my department because they refuse to pay people what they are worth. You can work here for your whole career but don't expect to make anything more than what your starting salary is. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
See below
Grants and Contract Officer (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAOctober 29, 2013
Pros: it is very satisfing when a difficult contract is signed and all parties are happy.
Cons: very stressful when there are many proposals to submit, time is running because i do not have all the correct information, i must wait on others to product the proper paper work before i can submit on sponsor's website
The work of a Grants and Contracts Officer is very detailed and private information. The day varies by what deadlines are current. It can be a day of review and submitting proposals for research funding from federal, non-federal, state, local, for profit companies or foundations. Or review and finalizing of contracts or subcontracts of all kinds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
took bone density scans in a research based facility
Densitometry Technologist (Former Employee), University of PittsburghOctober 24, 2013
Pros: i had the opportunity to work with wonderful co-workers, salary and benifit package was wonderful
Cons: worked for "soft money" in research.
I performed bone density scans for multiple research studies. I was in charge of all maintenance both preventative and existing issues that would come to light on a Hologic densitometry unit. Quality control was performed on a daily basis to assure proper calibration. I worked with mulitple pharmacuetical companies in their search for data in accordance – more... with the effects of their product on the density of bones. I worked with a prominent Endocrinologist in her clinic for osteoporosis treatment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fantastic work environment
Various paraprofessional positions (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAOctober 10, 2013
Pros: fantastic place to work
Pitt is a great place to work, learn and live. I would return to the University at any time, if possible. Even though my professional life has taken me far afield I will always call the Steel City home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and can meet deadlines but also can pull you up on a bad day
Payroll Administrator II, Biological Science (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAOctober 9, 2013
Pros: always meeting new students from all over the country
Cons: hours i work 8:30 - 5:00
I am very self-organized. I have the day planned when I step into the office. I am very manageable with time and set time limits for myself. For my job I really have to take it day by day because there is always something that comes up and I have learned to just roll with it and no matter what I will make it through and with that learning, I move on – more... to the next task that comes my way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very pleasant and relaxed place to work. Super nice co-workers.
Office of Child Development, Administrative (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAOctober 8, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: some aspects of job not very challenging.
Child Development is an awesome department as far as friendly, helpful staff. I appreciate the mission and hear of great impact our staff have with the community.
My position is more computer/financial. I know the importance but would like a position involving more direct interaction with those of need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Study Abroad Office Intern (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAOctober 1, 2013
Challenging at times, but rewarding. Differs from one business unit to another.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Program Coordinator for Experimental Pathology (Former Employee), PittsburghSeptember 30, 2013
Great place to work and great place for career advancement. Held many positions within the department simple because I was always willing to learn and would always meet dealines
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place for personal growth
Research Specialist and Lab Manager (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PASeptember 19, 2013
Pros: professional relationships, lab lunches, state of the art facilities and equipment
Cons: down time
My job consisted of performing molecular biology work in West Nile virus research, and managing a lab facility which included people and inventory. This was a great first job for me as it allowed me to build on the research foundation I had gained as a graduate student. The results I got from my bench work have contributed to a publication in preparation, – more... for which I am most proud of. I have a fantastic boss, as he has been instrumental in my professional development. He goes above and beyond answering any questions I have, and always is there to show me how to perform new procedures. The best part of my job is the people around me, which includes my boss and others who work in the department. They push me to better myself. The most difficult part of the job is that I have a lot of downtime. I would like to have more projects to work on, but the funding is not there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides great experience
Athletic Trainer / Adjunct Faculty (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PA.September 19, 2013
Overall Pitt is a great place to work. There are plenty of opportunities to gain experience to numerous aspects of the Athletic Training and healthcare setting.
The staff works very well together and truly believes in one another. We get along well professionally as well as personally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefits and location
Secretary II (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAAugust 29, 2013
Pros: excellent location
Cons: monthly pays
Highly Stressed at this department, kind co-workers. Excellent, central location. Excellent benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable place to work but no room to advance
Receptionist and Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAAugust 29, 2013
Pros: flexibility and time off, health benefits
Cons: lack of advancement
A typical work day involves a wide range of activities:
- data management
- communications with parents, students, staff and faculty
- coordinating department events

I learned much of the operations of higher education

Management is the biggest issue I've had but my coworkers are largely good people

Hardest part is lack of respect from my work

The – more... most enjoyable part is working with students – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place for research
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAAugust 23, 2013
Lab work and paper work of research during a typical day.
I learned how to run a research project from start to the end.
management is fine.
I collaborate some projects with my labmates.
The hardest part is to solve the problem that no clue can be found elsewhere.
When the breakthrough in my research achieved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work.
Computer Technician (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAAugust 21, 2013
Productive place to work. Has excellent benefits for full time staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional and caring place to work
Processor (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAAugust 13, 2013
Very fast paced office with great staff from front office to billing

University of Pittsburgh Photos