University of Rhode Island Employee Reviews

Showing all 66 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kingston, RIJanuary 26, 2016
Amazing research opportunities and gives the ability to work independently on an assigned project. Would recommend every student to apply for research opportunities if it applies to your major.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning and growing confident as a researcher
PhD student (Current Employee) –  Kingston, RIJanuary 18, 2016
A typical day at work consists of reading relevant research papers from peer researchers and carrying out experiments. Managing the time and coping with success and failures of experiments is key.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adjunct
adjunct instructor (Current Employee) –  Kingston, RIDecember 19, 2015
Excellent work life balance, limited promotion, disorganized management. Very little ability to move forward due to union structure and no incentive for raises.
Pros
Work-life balance
Cons
Poor compensation and promotion
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
project
Global Marketing Consulting Project (Former Employee) –  Kingston, RIOctober 17, 2015
Project with other members to gather information needed.

Learned how to deal with time management issues with other members
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resident Advisor
Resident Advisor (Former Employee) –  Kingston, RISeptember 25, 2015
Great teamwork values. Very supportive staff in the Residential Life. Easy to establish relationships and network with others. Learned the value of teamwork.
Pros
free housing
Cons
on calls can be dangerous.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work.
Graduate Chemistry Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kingston, RISeptember 20, 2015
Enjoyable place to work which has a lot of room for learning and being able to teach. Overall a very positive experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work with lots of opportunities
URI Biological Control Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kingston, RIJuly 30, 2015
A typical day of work consists of either lab or field work that could be for any one of numerous research projects that we are working on. The most enjoyable part of the job is definitely the feeling of really making a difference- the work we do helps control invasive plant and insect pests and has a really positive impact on the environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School
Senior Capstone Design project (Former Employee) –  North Kingston, Rhode IslandJuly 26, 2015
School consisted of multiple classes each day, with 10 minute breaks in between; to get from class to class. Ive learned a lot from the two years I spent at the University of Rhode Island including most of the engineering aspects that I currently know.
Pros
Classes merged well
Cons
Some long walks to and from classes
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly place to work
Research Scientist (Current Employee) –  Kingston, RIJuly 23, 2015
Flexible work hours.
You can learn whatever you want.
They don't force you at all.
Friendly coworkers.
The most enjoyable part of work was my PI.
He is really nice person.
In short he was perfect.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated teachers; low pay
Lit/Writing Adju7nct (Former Employee) –  Kingston, RIApril 6, 2015
Favoritism is part of the culture, and adjuncts aren't highly valued.

There is office space, and there are always some highly committed students. The teaching is enjoyable, but the sense of being devalued is not.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1

Want to know more about University of Rhode Island?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teaching and field work
Trail Crew Leader and Assistant Farm Manager (Former Employee) –  West Greenwich, RIMarch 22, 2015
I worked as an environmental educator during the school year and then as an assistant farm manager and trail worker. I learned about self motivation, figuring out my own jobs and what needed to get done. It was a great lesson!
Pros
beautitful work setting
Cons
seasonal work
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exploitive Compensation
Teaching assistant (Former Employee) –  Kingston, RIMarch 16, 2015
Exploitive Compensation: Lacking in benefits, summer funding not guaranteed, hourly wage offset my large amount of unpaid hours. By maintaining student status workers are not eligible to humane employee treatment. Compensation is not enough to be self sufficient and additional employment is strongly discouraged.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits but low salary and very political
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Kingston, RIMarch 12, 2015
Working at this public university you get good benefits and time off, but low salary levels. Most positions are union positions (for better or worse).

I find the politics, egos and bureaucracy at the university to be frustrating.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This university is great
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kingston, RIMarch 10, 2015
I have been here for more than four years. I obtained my PhD. My divisor is a great professor. I like live here, close to the sea, small state, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work and job steady
Professor and Department Chair (Current Employee) –  Kingston, RIMarch 7, 2015
Teach a couple of hours, write manuscripts or grants, organize meetings or discuss with faculty or leadership. Direct students. I am enjoying the job here. But I am looking for more challenging environment.
Pros
job steady
Cons
not very stimulating
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review URI
Assistant Director of Athletic Development (Current Employee) –  Kingston, RIJanuary 18, 2015
The University of Rhode Island provides an atmosphere of growth and potential. They provide tremendous benefits and treat employees well.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working and fun school
Member of The Sports Medicine Club (Former Employee) –  Kingston, Rhode IslandJanuary 8, 2015
URI provides fun and hard working atmosphere among their students.
Pros
learning environment
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfectly Comfortable
Staff/Receptionist for Golds Gym (Former Employee) –  North Kingstown, RIJanuary 7, 2015
Working at URI as a student receptionist:

I was able to study and get school work done while working. It was such a quiet enviornment and very slow that my day to day tasks were completed within a few hours of me clocking in for the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kingston, RIDecember 16, 2014
. Sometimes overload works
. Great to research
. Very supportive faculty members
Pros
tuition
Cons
low stipend
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Japanese Language Coach
Japanese Teacher's Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kingston, RIDecember 16, 2014
Assisting and teaching students in a foreign language is always a great experience and allows for me to building upon a large array of skills, including the basics of that particular foreign language.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 66 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture