Find companies:
University of Rochester
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
172 reviews

University of Rochester Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancing and Growing
Senior Analyst/Programmer for CPN and Agility (Current Employee), Rochester, NYDecember 15, 2014
Typical day - review CPN charts and keep the units "clean"; running reports from Agility; building in Agilty to provide better documentation for the providers; troubleshooting issues as needed
I am most familiar with CPN but have learned EPIC and Agility
The hardest part of my job is learning a system without any formal vendor training
I enjoy providing – more... end users with what they need to document more accurately and faster. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad school
TEACHER'S ASSISTANT (Current Employee), Rochester, NYDecember 12, 2014
I went there for four years. Costs too much. Great experience Ta'ing and working with the students. I have to get to 20 words minimum so this should just about do it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work experience
Physician Assistant and Liaison (Current Employee), Rochester, NYDecember 10, 2014
I have been able to shadow and assist attending emergency doctors for one of the largest trauma centers in the area, it has been eye-opening and rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Research Assistant in Microbiology/Immunology (Current Employee), Rochester, NYNovember 20, 2014
Pros: good colleagues, friendly atmosphere, interesting and intriguing research
A typical day at work constitutes coming in early and being prepared to work hard.
Usually, I have my work week planned out so that I can be most productive while at work.
This requires good organizational skills so that when I get to work I can tend to various tasks and set up assays, etc.

The most enjoyable part of the job is working for a good purpose – more... and doing what I love most, Research.

The hardest part of the job is the fact that sometimes your experiments and timepoints require you to be at work during some odd times; perhaps late at night or even weekends. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have worked at the University 20 years
Lead Collection Specialist (Current Employee), Rochester, NYNovember 3, 2014
looking for remote coding positions from home. Work with great people in a good location.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working at the University of Rochester
Secretary IV / Obstetrics Gynecology (Former Employee), Rochester, NYOctober 21, 2014
Pros: great place to work.
Cons: flexability with hours and seniority are not always conducive to work hours.
I would give the U of R a 4 star rating.
Started work at 7:00 had conference/meeting rooms set up by 7:30
Sorted and distributed mail
made appointments for new hires to meet with Administrator
computer work: Handled disability claims, assisted other depts. with work overload detail. I worked standard hours of 7:00 to 3:30 which was conducive to my family – more... obligations. Able to do that due to the fact they needed someone there for early morning meetings without paying overtime. I worked well with my co-workers the hardest part of my job was keeping busy when the work load was
slow.

While working at the University of Rochester it gave me an opportunity to learn and improve my secretarial skills. I advanced quickly in my career.

The new ICare Values that are being promoted for patients as well as for staff are excellent!

One of the best things working for the U of R was that co-workers work together to make sure that everyone is crossed train and able to assist each other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Solid Company
Finance Accountant (Former Employee), Rochester, NYOctober 20, 2014
Pros: focus to detail. good for and mba student.
Cons: not a strong challenge
Strong Job with not much of a challenge. Needs focus to detail.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits, Diverse Community
Technical Associate, Chemistry Department (Current Employee), Rochester, NYOctober 15, 2014
Pros: tuition benefits, health care
University of Rochester has great tuition benefits for employees. The educational programs offered at the University of Rochester can greatly further your career. I enjoy the diversity within the University of Rochester. Working with people from various parts of the world have given me more global awareness of the different cultures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is good place to work
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Rochester, NYOctober 8, 2014
people are nice, and friendly. however, pays little. I like the benefits because they let me audit classes for free. I really liked it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversified job opportunities
Patient Services Representative (Former Employee), Rochester, NYOctober 6, 2014
Pros: multi -locations
Cons: pay for parking, lot of walking
Fast paced, busy environment. Must be able to multitask and exercise the "I Care" philosophy of the organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place, job securtiy, and great benefits
Office Manager/Secretary of Medical Office (Former Employee), Rochester, NYSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: great benefits, flexible, job security and there are some great people there as co-workers
Cons: short breaks
Greeting clients, answer multi-phone lines, scheduling appointments, transcriptions, correspondences, organizing and setting up meetings with doctors. Most part of job enjoyed doing the meeting setup and meeting the different departmental doctors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University of Rochester
Clinical Diet Technician (Current Employee), Rochester, NYSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: little opportunity for growth
University of Rochester offers great benefits but very little opportunity for job growth or advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rated the #1 employer in the Upstate New York region for a reason
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Rochester, NYSeptember 19, 2014
A typical day of work at Pulsifer Medical Group was one far from easy; in fact it was extremely busy without much downtime. Which is what a typical day at any medical office very well may be. However, I feel as though since we all worked so well together as a team we were able to overcome many of the obstacles that one might face in an internal medicine – more... office. Although short lived, I really enjoyed working for the University. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 Hour Science
Clinical Lab Support Tech II (Current Employee), Rochester, NYSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: fast paced, interesting, patient care
Cons: paid parking, budget cuts in lab
24 hours lab, located in Hospital.

Received , processed, and ran samples for inpatient and outpatient labs.

Assisted healthcare professional in test requirements.

Fast paced work atmosphere, multi tasking a must.

Working knowledge of computers and phone systems.

Hardest part of work seemed to be constant restructuring and trial implements of new – more... systems and protocols.

Most enjoyable part was the lab setting, patient care on a secondary level, co-workers we very enjoyable to work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong academic environment
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee), Rochester, NYSeptember 12, 2014
Amazing faculty members
No. 1 funded musculoskeletal center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportuities
Internship (Former Employee), 910 Genesee St.September 9, 2014
Pros: alot to do
Cons: alots to do
• Supports the vision and goals of the Office of HR – Organizational Development and Staff Diversity by providing administrative support to the HR Department Director and Manager
• Prepare, organize and maintain applicant files; coordinate the completion and updating of applicant documents and forms
• Support the hiring process by attending career fairs, – more... sending response letters, tracking applicants, verifying references and arranging pre-employment assessments
• Enter applicant data in a correct and timely manner into the HRMS system
• Manage and update reports as needed (i.e. job board reports, request for payments, phone lists, community directories) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun,Busy Place to work
Financial Counselor (Current Employee), Rochester, New YorkSeptember 8, 2014
Cons: parking
Nice working atmosphere throughout University. Large organization with Job Security
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Visting Nurse Service
Director HR Engagement and Integration (Former Employee), Rochester, NYSeptember 7, 2014
Community based services that help people remain healthy and independent in their homes. Makes a difference for patients and families.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Currently working as a PhD student in Chemistry Dept.
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee), Rochester, NYSeptember 1, 2014
At the peak of my career as a PhD student I have amassed extensive knowledge on semiconductors, organic electronics and lasers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse and Cultural
Ambulatory Technician (Current Employee), Rochester, NYAugust 29, 2014
Pros: flexability
Cons: i have none.
A typical day in the workplace involves meeting with patients before they see the Psych Doctor. Taking their vitals and searching the NYS database for controlled substances. Since working for this company I have learned many different operating systems which lead me to become a superuser for the latest Electronic Medical Records charting system.

1 2 3 4 5

About University of Rochester

The buzz about the University of Rochester is music to some ears. While the private, upstate New York research university is nationally – Read more