Find companies:
University of San Diego
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

University of San Diego Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Paralegal Instructor (Current Employee), San Diego, CAMay 20, 2014
Pros: great assistants!
Cons: no benefits!
Each class is 3 hours which makes it difficult to maintain attention. Friendly atmosphere. Can plan the entire curriculum.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Hours and nice work
Calculus II Homework Grader (Current Employee), San Diego, CAMarch 20, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: no set amount of homework to grade
This was a great job to work at, flexible hours that worked well with my hard academic schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nicest people I ever worked with.
Human Resources Assistant (Temporary) (Current Employee), San Diego, CAMarch 8, 2014
Cons: temp assignment :(
Nicest people I ever worked with. Clear direction, no unpaid overtime, no screaming, no abuse, just calm pleasant work the way it should be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school experience
Staff Attorney (Current Employee), San Diego, CAMarch 4, 2014
This internship provides a lot of learning opportunities since it's the first time for many students that they get to interact with clients in a more real-world setting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Casual Worker (Current Employee), San Diego, CADecember 12, 2013
Good Company To Work For. There is advancement of work. Good benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with good benefits
Office Manager (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 30, 2013
Pros: beautiful campus, a great place to work
Cons: lots of overtime
Good work environment with friendly people. Work was challenging and sometimes stressful. Learned an great deal and accomplished a lot. I enjoyed working with a variety of different people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardwork and excitement with opportunity to learn on the job
Library Assistant (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJune 5, 2013
Pros: opportunity to study and access to a desk computer
Cons: night shifts were difficult to go through
As Library Assistant my general responsibility was to reshelf books, provide information to students regarding books and other related materials. I also performed other duties as necessary and assigned by my supervisor. For a typical day, I worked five hours with different shifts. The hardest part of the job was the part dealing with cataloging the – more... books and the enjoyable part was that we had time to study; particularly, when there was not much work to do.

My co-workers comprised of both students and graduates of the University who were permanent employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding benefits, great pay, paid Christmas break...
Library (Current Employee), San DiegoApril 6, 2013
Pros: paid christmas break, benefits package, employees, campus
Cons: politics
Interesting culture. Lots of friendly, kind people. Beautiful campus. Lots of opportunity for professional development and cultural activities. More work than is possible to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, strange corporate ethics
Banquets and Catering (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMarch 18, 2013
Pros: free lunches for auxiliary staff members
Cons: scary executive director
Loved my co-workers, middle management is competent although everyone is scared of the Executive Director of Auxiliary Services!
Expect to get free meals, Christmas/New Year off and some of the summer. Learned to improvise due to lack of equipment and mediocre culinary standards.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USD: A great and creative working environment
Line Cook (Current Employee), San Diego, CAJanuary 3, 2013
I have learned quickly adapt to menu and staff changes and still provide excellent quality product and service. I create daily specials for lunch and or dinner, prepare meals daily for up to 1600 students, requisition products, and create operation manuals for stations. The hardest part of my job is working through a service even when I do not have – more... all products/tools desired to serve my customers. The most enjoyable part of my job is the satisfaction that I am doing what pleases my managers, making my customers day that much more memorable by creating a delectable dish for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active environment for children to learn and have fun
Assistant Camp Coach (Former Employee), San Diego, CADecember 16, 2012
A typical day at work involed the assesment of campers physically and mentally, the planning of camp activities, dorm checks to ensure the campers were safe in their beds each night. I learned how to adjust on the spot when things were not going according to plan and taking instruction from superiors to implement in a positive way. I enjoyed the director – more... of the camp as their goal was to ensure the best experience possible for each camper. The hardest part of the job was giving individual attention to the particular campers that needed it, while maintaing the group dynamic and keeping my focus on them as a whole. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the excitement of the campers at each skill they achieved. It is truly rewarding to impact their success in that way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ready to work
Sr. Cognos Consultant (Current Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 26, 2012
Every day was a learning day, It was really great working with the client
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ork day at the university was interesting because you got to talk to so many different cultures.
Telephone Operator (Former Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 25, 2012
Pros: the pros of the job was the company picnics, the health fairs and the extra days during the holidays, benefits are really goodworking
Cons: working on the weekends, 30 min lunches, some of the comunications in different departments
Being a telephone operator, I got to talk to so many different people, and I got all the complaints before they reached the departments. I learned a lot about problem solving and good customer service. the peple were good to work with,very helpful.hardest. The hardest part about the job was helping the parents find the right people to talk with to get – more... them help. The most enjoyable part of the job was when a phone call came through I was able to help and I had satisfied person. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic experience and gained significant leadership skills
Resident Assistant (Current Employee), San Diego, CAApril 22, 2012
Pros: great upper management, gained excellent skills in conflict resolution
Cons: not a very cohesive staff
As a Resident Assistant, I have gained practical experience as a mediator. Moreover, conflict resolution is a skill set that I acquired through an intensive training process beginning in August 2011. Looking after 64 sophomores, I have settled several roommate arguments, ranging from a student taking someone’s food to one as severe as assault against – more... a fellow roommate. In handling volatile conflicts, I have learned the importance of diplomacy, pragmatism, and objectivity. My job requires that I make decisions and recommendations by enforcing the university’s student conduct policy, not simply based on my opinion. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USD is service centric with friendly staff and amazing benefits
External Programs Manager (Current Employee), San Diego, CAMarch 22, 2012
Pros: great benefits: health, tuition, retirement, vacation; atmosphere/location; culture of learning
Cons: non-profit wages
Rated one of the most beautiful campuses in the U.S., one can't help but be proud of working at USD. In addition to taking their values based roots very seriously, they push sustainability and internationalization of the campus as far as possible. I work in the international business center on campus; the department is a cohesive group that genuinely – more... care about advancing the international education of students, faculty and the community. I've learned how to work with divergent personalities, agendas and expectations, yet still achieve my tasks. The most enjoyable part of my job is the company I'm surrounded by, the learning culture and the working flexibility. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved this job as a college student
student assistant (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMarch 1, 2012
Pros: get to work with my hands
Cons: sometimes overbearing boss (no longer there, btw)
I got to work with my hands and fix data projectors, overheads, do check-out of items and even get to do construction in our school's classrooms installing new equipment. It would have been a dream job to do full time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean and Healthy work environment
Cashier at Dinning Room (Former Employee), Campus Dinning RoomDecember 20, 2011
Pros: meals provided
Cons: dinning room
Informing guest of the daily menue and special, perform the check in and collect payment from patron.

About University of San Diego

Our diverse educational community is dedicated to developing the whole person: intellectually, physically, emotionally and spiritually. While – Read more

University of San Diego Photos