University of South Alabama Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 60 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace in an academic environment
Cashier/Library Assistant (Current Employee) –  South Alabama, NYJanuary 11, 2016
Assist students/staff with library concerns
Make cash/credit sales
Operate cash register
Balance cash transactions and prepare deposit slips
Take inventory and order supplies
Interact with customers and vendors as required

Management is good and considerate of personnel and their needs.

Enjoy meeting students and learning their interests and progress in school.

Position is part-time with no benefits and I need a benefits and a position in my career field.
Pros
Good, academic environment
Cons
No healthcare or other benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job bad pay
data entry coder (Current Employee) –  South Alabama, NYOctober 22, 2015
good place to work with employees. pay compensation does not match experience. I code and process claims prior to transmission to insurance companies. I work the back end for coding and processes.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work environment with opportunities to grow
Tutor for South Alabama Athletics (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALJuly 18, 2016
I Was tired as a temp. I enjoy the environment and the people. On a typical day I would turn on my computer and handle work comp claims. I have been trained in 4 different areas in these few months. So i can work where they need me. I answer questions and use my best judgement to accommodate the needs of the physician, patient, and adjuster/ workers comp company.
Pros
It is not to far from home and it is very peaceful
Cons
I cannot use my full potential to change patient's lives while leaving an impact on their lives.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and encouraging place to work
Standardized Patient (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALMay 21, 2016
I loved working here and it allowed me to gain valuable knowledge in the healthcare field and make connections. There was always something going on with different medical professions so there was always something new to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A beneficial experience
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALJuly 5, 2016
The position as a lifeguard was not a very demanding one as far as duties. Although, there was an unnecessary demand to network within management to secure your position. Effectiveness was not a small factor in placement.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Mobile, ALApril 25, 2016
Instructors are excellent and the hours are flexible. The only real downside is the lack of hours as we are limited to 15. This job is an assistantship while I'm finishing out my Master's. Co-workers are students in similar programs.
Pros
Flex Hours
Cons
Limited Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant to Housing Coordinator
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALJuly 13, 2016
USA was a great place to work. However, I had to leave to be caregiver to my parents.

I would have loved to retire from the position.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Some difficult people to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Development Officer (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALJune 23, 2016
Great place to work but low pay compared to other University's in the state for the position of Development Officer. You are working for the state so the benefits are great.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My opinion
CNA (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALJune 4, 2016
It was a ok place to work at times me personally I would never go there to be treated for anything just from things i seen working there
Pros
good hospital
Cons
They were not good to certain patients
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Mobile, ALJune 6, 2016
I love being able to make a patient smile because at this office our patients are critically ill and you may not see them again.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Assistant (Current Employee) –  Mobile, ALJune 6, 2016
Great work Environment! The students are great and the teacher are always willing to work with you no matter what. The campus is also beautiful and well taken care of.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice school
ESL Instructor (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALJuly 8, 2016
I liked my coworkers and director but the program was poorly run and very poorly financed. I had 70 students and could only pass 14 of them.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment at a University Campus
USA Facilities Project Management (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALAugust 27, 2013
Excellent working environment with many extra benefits and facilities available for staff. Changing priorities made for a fast paced challenging workload. Education was the primary focvus and supportying student life was a driving factor in all projectas. Sometimes difficult to get management to understand the complexities and challenges of facility engineering, design, and construction. This employment was during a major facilities expansion and construction period ($400 Million in 5 years) with a challenging work load.
Pros
numerous extra benefits and a good work environment
Cons
state employee pay scale and management focused on higher education.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great office to work in, Very Fun atmospherer for the children.
Billing / insurance clerk (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALNovember 11, 2015
Very fun place to work with a supportive management team. Not about how many patients it was all about the care we provided our patients.
Pros
working with children and helping the children that was hurting
Cons
not being able to help all the sick children
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A basic easy job for a student looking for part time work
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALJune 29, 2012
Working for your university is probably the best way to balance school and work. The pay is lousy and there are no benefits and advancement to speak of but you're literally right there at the school.
You get to see what the inner workings of the university are all about and having a job like this on your resume does help later on. Tasks range from answering phones and typing letters, to delivering packages and proctoring exams.
Pros
easy, close to school
Cons
little pay or benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALJanuary 19, 2015
I was dissatisfied. I work there for eight years and never got a raise. The mangers harasses you while you work and talk to you in a disrespectful manner.
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?Yes11No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A mix of productive and relaxed
Cleaning Technician (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALJuly 13, 2015
The working environment was exceptional to say the least. The gentlemen that were in charge of the Mechanical Engineering department were very accommodating to my needs as a student worker. As long as I cleaned the designated areas, they allowed me to work on my school work as needed. I did not have any co-workers to interact with, my supervisors were my constant companions.

A typical day on the job consisted of spending a few hours at my desk while the students did their work, using the equipment to manipulate metals and make ATV's. After this, I would go to my classes and return in the afternoon to clean up the mess that had accumulated throughout the day.
Pros
Able to work on my school work
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CLinical Faculty
Clinical Instructor (Current Employee) –  Mobile County, ALNovember 18, 2015
Rewarding working with students of a variety of ages as they study for their MSN in psychiatric nursing at USA in the final stags of their program
Was this review helpful?Yes12No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Medical Records Clerk (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALJanuary 16, 2015
Great company. Pay and benefits suck but I enjoyed working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assists in your healthcare and educational needs
Clerk III/Data Manager (Current Employee) –  Mobile, ALAugust 7, 2014
Good co workers and working environment with the ability to advance in certain areas and departments.
Pros
great educational benefits
Cons
pay salary is minimum
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 60 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
4.1
Culture
4.0

University of South Alabama Reviews by Location