Find companies:
University of South Alabama
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
35 reviews

University of South Alabama Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ideal workplace for students!
GRADUATE ASSISTANT (Current Employee), South Alabama, NYSeptember 29, 2014
My experience working for the University has been a good one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great and fun people to work with
Work Study Student (Former Employee), Mobile, ALSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: great job
Cons: it was a workstudy job
Great job to have. I loved this job, but it can be boring at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close to home
Student (Current Employee), Mobile, ALSeptember 3, 2014
I've enjoyed being a student at USA because it is close to home (less than 15 miles), it was large but not overwhelming, and its potential growing rate was exciting to be a part of.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work or Intern
Graduate Assistant Coach (Former Employee), Mobile, ALSeptember 1, 2014
Great Place to learn about baseball and how a program is run. Wish i could of been there longer
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assists in your healthcare and educational needs
Clerk III/Data Manager (Current Employee), Mobile, ALAugust 7, 2014
Pros: great educational benefits
Cons: pay salary is minimum
Good co workers and working environment with the ability to advance in certain areas and departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits are excellent.
Electronic Resources GovDocs Librarian (Current Employee), Mobile, ALAugust 7, 2014
The USA is an excellent place to work. I have learned a plethora of skills since I began employment at the University.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University of South Alabama JagSuccess
Supplemental Instructor (Current Employee), Mobile, ALJuly 31, 2014
A great place to work. Gained valuable experience learning how to teach as well as sharpen skills in my chosen field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place of learning
Senior Test Engineer (Former Employee), South Alabama, NYJuly 3, 2014
A good place for fresh graduates to work with more learning environement and team building activities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College Job With Great Benefits
Resident Advisor (Former Employee), Mobile, ALMay 30, 2014
Pros: free campus housing, free meal plan
Once or twice a week I was the Resident Advisor on Duty and I was responsible for the safety and well-being of 220 residents at a 24-hour period. The Resident Advisor on Duty is the go-to person if there were any type of emergencies, power outages, or a campus crisis. I learned very quickly how to separate my personal life from work life. I also learned – more... the importance of integrity. My co-workers were always willing to help me out, which was great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good jobq
Graduate Teacher's Assistant (Former Employee), Mobile, ALMarch 27, 2014
Had fun working at USA for 3+ years. Great staff and coworkers. Miss it alot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, Friendly environment
Lab Supervisor (Current Employee), Mobile, ALDecember 22, 2013
- Answer phone calls, check out/in equipment, office job
- English, team work, communication, write formal letters, office job
- The best manager Ever, have every thing planned, teach everything an employee need to know
- Nice co-workers, helpful
- communicate with students who are not on time
- having a great manager and co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better to work on the campus side
Residency Program Specialist (Current Employee), Mobile, ALNovember 12, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: as mentioned above.
After being hired as a campus employee and recently being reclassified to the medical side has made a great job become disappointing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Review
Office of the Registrar (Current Employee), Mobile, ALOctober 4, 2013
Working at University of South Alabama has allowed me the opportunity to cross train and learn many jobs in the Registrar's Office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment at a University Campus
USA Facilities Project Management (Former Employee), Mobile, ALAugust 27, 2013
Pros: numerous extra benefits and a good work environment
Cons: state employee pay scale and management focused on higher education.
Excellent working environment with many extra benefits and facilities available for staff. Changing priorities made for a fast paced challenging workload. Education was the primary focvus and supportying student life was a driving factor in all projectas. Sometimes difficult to get management to understand the complexities and challenges of facility – more... engineering, design, and construction. This employment was during a major facilities expansion and construction period ($400 Million in 5 years) with a challenging work load. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active workplace with 100-500 people
Southbound Orientation Leader (Current Employee), Mobile, ALJuly 13, 2013
My typical day at work would start at 7 A.M. and usually go until about 8 P.M. It involves a lot of social interaction and networking and keeping the incoming students and parents happy and satisfied. There are various things to do throughout the day such as giving oral and Powerpoint presentations, giving tours of the campus, leading and assisting – more... in the registration processes. What I have learned from this experience is how to adapt to each individual's needs, as long as how to manage time and work. My co-workers were great, because we all had the same goal, which was to make sure each person was taken care of and to make sure that they had an enjoyable experience at the university. The hardest part of my job would have to be the long hours and constantly being on my feet and being ready to go. There weren't many rest periods. The most enjoyable part of the job would have to be seeing the satisfaction on everyone's face. You can't really please everyone but as long as I can say that I tried, I will take it! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for.
Math Tutor (Current Employee), Mobile, ALJune 10, 2013
I learned a lot at this place.Since it was my first job there was a lot of room to learn new things.I tutor freshmen students in Algebra and Precalculus for around 4 hours everyday.
One has to be very patient in this job.Students often get frustated and you have to keep your calm.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping Students help themselves.
Communication Center Recruiter (Current Employee), Mobile, ALMay 16, 2013
I love this job because I love helping students who would like to come to my university.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company with great potential
Clerk III (Current Employee), Mobile, ALMay 5, 2013
Pros: opportunities for employment promotion, a company on the grow
Cons: slow hiring process, slightly behind on technology
USA has great potentials to be a successful educational and healthcare facility. I am a firm believer that you are only as strong as your team leader or co worker.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment with fellow academic leaders, but looking to advance at a different location.
Peer Academic Leader (Current Employee), Mobile, ALJanuary 25, 2013
- Excellent Staff and Crew
- Great opportunity to help those in need
- Overall C/C+ with regards to multiple variables
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security, however no advancement, no pay
Staff (Current Employee), Mobile, ALJanuary 12, 2013
Pros: job security, health insurance, tuition reimbursement
Cons: pay, staff shortage, tuition reimbursement, respect, degree snobbery
The one positive thing that can be said about positions at South Alabama is is that they provide job security. Staff are almost at poverty level and there is practically no room for advancement. The University expects their employees to have advanced degrees just to pay them $30,000 a year. It's laughable!!! Departments are short staffed and people – more... are having to do the work of several positions. But if you can find the time to go to school, the University will reimburse you for 'almost' 2 classes per semester. – less

January 27, 2013

Organization sucks. Bunch of butt kissers, no respect for employees, low employee morale, and keeps butt kissers around to agitate good workers. God forbid anyone who works at this place. I did for 20 years, glad to have got my retirement and finally left......