University of South Carolina Employee Reviews

Found 187 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCFebruary 21, 2017
i did not like working there they cheated me out of my money the mangers were rude but the students are really nice but if you have a atitude problem i should suggest you should not work there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Fairly Good Department
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCFebruary 17, 2017
The Engineering department at USC is very well structured. Updates to policies are always easily found and distributed. Work in the research labs is safe and efficient.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fine environment and challenging
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCFebruary 13, 2017
good place to work, enthusiastic people who always motivates towards their goal. Best working environment which motivates you or energetic you for your work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No problems with the University
Computer Operator (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCJanuary 30, 2017
I had no problem working for the University, However I left there because the salary was somewhat low, and did not always have any pay raises. The job was not hard at all. The workplace was work driven based on student grades and employee payroll which was steady. You knew what needed to be done and had an idea of what you would be doing each day.
Pros
Sometime companies donated free lunch
Cons
Low Pay with little pay raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace that encouraged learning and improvement on circuit design and construction
Teaching Assistant/Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCJanuary 29, 2017
As a TA and lab assistant a typical work day would involve anything from helping students work on labs that involved circuit design to working on small scale projects for orientation week or EE conventions. Working as a TA came with the responsible of describing circuit design and implementation on a deeper level that the students could understand. This could range from breaking a circuit down to the component level or showing the relationship and understanding from going from a schematic to building a small scale circuit. Working in the labs provided extra time to fully work with various sets of lab equipment including; oscilloscopes, function generators, power supplies, and digital multi-meters. The most enjoyable part of either job was the close relationship between peers and students, getting the chance to reacquaint myself with previous labs and having the chance to teach upcoming sophomores. The EE department at USC is tight community of engineering students and professors and being a part of overall system at work there truly was something I felt honored to be apart of.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a lot from this Ph.D. program
Research Assistant & Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCJanuary 25, 2017
Professors are so nice to help you and give you valuable insights during your research. Meanwhile, I really enjoyed the culture of our department, ENHS family.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work and study
Full Stake Developer - Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCJanuary 24, 2017
Individually Developed a complete Web Application for creating and publishing Key Artifacts (Reports & MIS) for Provost Office
from scratch in Agile Methodology.
Liberal Place with freedom to think about new concepts & implementation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Usc
Student Loan Accounting (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCJanuary 12, 2017
Department could do better
Many departments are ran by autocratic leadership and play the politics game with raises and jobs advancement.
Too many personal relationships preventing good employees from being successful.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with
IT Assistant, Desktop and Server (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCJanuary 12, 2017
Good experience learning more and more about the world of IT. Learned more being relatively new to the IT world. Learned more about domains, active directory, servers, and operating systems.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity
Building Attendant (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCJanuary 12, 2017
*Great Atmosphere
*Awesome Management
*Adequate Training
*Great Scheduling
*Fun workers
*Opportunity for Career advancements
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Economical shortfall in the state for administrative pay
Administrative Assistant I (Current Employee) –  1300 Greene St. Columbia SC 29208January 9, 2017
Entering a new phase of my life and am looking forward to challenges and changes. The numbers puzzles are still my favorite, but customer services is always nice to interact with the actual users
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working as an assistant to a professor.
Project Assistant: On-TRACK Grant (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCDecember 31, 2016
The College of Education provides graduate students with an opportunity to assist professors while completing their studies. The hours were flexible and allowed me to focus on my work, as well as provide assistance to a professor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very cozy for studying and living
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCDecember 30, 2016
Very nature environment and cozy climate. People are very nice but in somewhat conservative. One of my biggest cons is about the bureau's efficiency in which there is a lot of room to improve.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Media Services Rep.-Customer service (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCDecember 23, 2016
Good Director and the people are fun to be around. You learn alot of good technical terms and its one of the best places to be to learn about cameras and equipment you will need to use in your everyday career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great professor, mentor
Assistant Audio Engineer (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCDecember 22, 2016
A great in environment and great acess to knowledge.i leaned a great amount of information from my professor and he was also my internship supervisor. Taught me a almost everything i know about digital workstations, inner and outer workings of a mixing boards and a great amount of microphone situations and scenrios.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCDecember 15, 2016
Everyone at the University of South Carolina is engaging, excited about their jobs, and inclusive of new members of the community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Believes in professional development
First-Year Academic Advisor (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SC 29208November 9, 2016
Strives to have great relationships with students, faculty, and staff
Young co-workers
Open-minded staff
Good leadership into the years to come
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job to learn a lot in college
Resident Mentor (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCNovember 7, 2016
It is a perfect job for college student to get knowledge of the work environment and learn skills that will make them valid candidates for future jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good places
Lab Manager/Associate Director (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCNovember 6, 2016
Good places for PhD level scientists to be a professor or researcher. Friendly job culture. Colleagues are usually humble.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work
Outreach Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCOctober 20, 2016
A typical work day consist of providing counseling and housing to individuals who are homeless and the presents a disabling condition.
Pros
Huge caseload, very fulfilling.
Cons
Huge caseload and there's no room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of South Carolina. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 189 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.9
Culture
4.0

University of South Carolina Reviews by Location