Find companies:
University of South Carolina
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
75 reviews

University of South Carolina Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for student
Office Coordinator (Former Employee), Columbia, SCJuly 16, 2014
Pros: few hours
Easy going job with few hours. Great with balancing with school work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is interesting interacting with different people.
Library Technical Assistant II (Former Employee), Columbia, SCJune 11, 2014
Pros: helping people
Cons: slow times
A typical day I help out at the circulation desk. I answer the phones and do various circulation duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and professional place to work in an academic environment
Assistant Director/Studio Classroom Manager (Current Employee), Columbia, SC 29208June 3, 2014
University is an enjoyable place to work.

I have learned the principles and skill sets of becoming an more affluent manager.

Management here is encouraging and supportive of development.

My coworkers are/were simply awesome to work with...we all felt like a extended family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school and excellent professors
Teacher Student Assistant/Research at SRS (Former Employee), Aiken, SCApril 21, 2014
At USCA, I was required to maintain the animal lab, greenhouse, and be a teacher student assistant. I had learn a great deal with lab equipment and and and the proper techniques, also I learned how to be independent on task and make sure everything was going accordingly. The job was enjoyable and i have no complaints, I enjoyed working with the animal, – more... plants, and students. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun!
Assistant to Director (Former Employee), Columbia, SCApril 17, 2014
So much fun.
Friendly staff.
I enjoyed coordinating events.
Research.
Design.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Infrastructure and mentorship
Graduate Instructional Assistant (Former Employee), Columbia, SCApril 10, 2014
Serving as the Graduate Instructional Assistant was an enriching experience for me. I learned a lot about teaching, lab management, curriculum design, exam conduct and student management. I was under a very capable management and mentorship. The working hours were manageable. My co-workers were very helpful and I enjoyed a friendly environment. The – more... hardest part of the job was preparation of the lab classes. I really enjoyed teaching the students and helping them with their studies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for new college students
Student Office Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Columbia, SCMarch 27, 2014
Pros: work at school
Cons: low wages
Loved the atmosphere, basic admin duties. Management was professional and courteous.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
approve credit sales
Accounting Technician (Former Employee), Columbia, SCMarch 25, 2014
Approved sales for credit purchases when the customer was over their limit, or close to their limit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Columbia, SCMarch 25, 2014
Every week I give lectures to students, answer their questions after class, reply emails from students regarding different situations and questions, set up dropbox for them to submit assignments, and grade part of the exams.

I keep trying to improve my teaching and making the tough concepts easier for the students to understand, by giving examples, – more... draw pictures and so on. I have 3 or 4 Ph.D. students help me with grading and answering questions from the students in the lab. I communicate with them time to time to understand what parts are difficult for the students to understand. The hardest part is to get all this working smoothly and ensure the students understand what's taught in the class. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cozy work environment like a family
Research Associate (Former Employee), columbia,scMarch 18, 2014
Pros: good work environment, nice professors
Cons: no cons
good place to work, respect to the family first. The professors are nice and willing to help
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment
Research Associate (Former Employee), columbia,scMarch 12, 2014
good place to work. the working pace is slow compare to other university but full of love
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self-enforced job, own room, own desk and computer.
Writing Lab Assistant (Former Employee), Union, SCMarch 5, 2014
Pros: managed self and time, easy job, set own hours.
Cons: had a max hour cap, sometimes had problems getting hours approved before pay.
Very easy job, just handled essays from other students, largely left alone; allowed to make own hours/schedule and handle lock up and reporting by myself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
active and productive in cutting-edge research areas
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Columbia, SCMarch 3, 2014
Very compact day work and productive atmosphere. You will learn how to analyze problem and solve them quickly. Team workers are very cooperative and helpful. Brainstorming is quite often and communication plays an very important role in our daily life. Sometimes, you will feel like time is not enough.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people to work with
Building and Grounds Specialist II (Current Employee), Columbia, SCFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: benefits are ok
Cons: dont pay enough
start around 8:00 pulling trash out the buliding then clean all the hallways. after that sweep all the steps in the building that should get you to lunch time after lunch mop all the steps then clean bathrooms and laudry room
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Columbia, SCFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: n/a
I learned valuable life lessons here like time management and how to get along with co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Arden B
Receptionist/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Columbia, SCFebruary 20, 2014
Good retail job but because prices are so high, business was very slow at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experinece
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Columbia, SCFebruary 18, 2014
I had a chance to work with friendly co-workers and great professors with great opportunities to work as an independent researcher.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
BOOKSTORE ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Salkehatchie, SCFebruary 10, 2014
In the mornings I would fix the coffee, then stock the drinks. I would answer questions about books and some classes. I would talk to the customers about their day, or what they needed to do to register for classes. My co-workers were awesome. We would rotate who would have to get the books at the beginning of the semester.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great TA Position
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Columbia, SCJanuary 24, 2014
It's a lot of work - going to class, and homework - but it's challenging and we're given all the tools to succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Repetitive/degrading. Do not recommend.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Columbia, SCJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: if you are permanent, the state benefits
Cons: low wage, no room for advancement, lack of respect from management
I can not say that I like to work for USC Columbia. I was brought in as a temp hire expecting there to be some sort of movement after the first year, but I have not had an opportunity to do so. I also did not receive any raise to my wage after the first year despite being an hourly worker with no benefits. The only way to move in the system is to know – more... someone at the top well and just move laterally. The work feels trivial and unnecessarily repetitive. Despite assisting several of my co-workers and supervisors on tasks they were assigned to do, I am still treated as I were an intern and no clue what I am doing. I do not recommend working for USC Columbia unless you already know a Director or you simply NEED a job. – less

1 2 3 4