Find companies:
University of South Carolina
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
75 reviews

University of South Carolina Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Repetitive/degrading. Do not recommend.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Columbia, SCJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: if you are permanent, the state benefits
Cons: low wage, no room for advancement, lack of respect from management
I can not say that I like to work for USC Columbia. I was brought in as a temp hire expecting there to be some sort of movement after the first year, but I have not had an opportunity to do so. I also did not receive any raise to my wage after the first year despite being an hourly worker with no benefits. The only way to move in the system is to know – more... someone at the top well and just move laterally. The work feels trivial and unnecessarily repetitive. Despite assisting several of my co-workers and supervisors on tasks they were assigned to do, I am still treated as I were an intern and no clue what I am doing. I do not recommend working for USC Columbia unless you already know a Director or you simply NEED a job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational atmosphere with knowledgable staff
Student Systems Analyst (Former Employee), Aiken, SCJanuary 13, 2014
A typical day of work was making sure that campus computers were up to date and troubleshooting any software issues that may occur.

I learned many different programming styles and gained knowledge of different operating systems.

Management was relaxed allowing me to work and learn at a steady pace.

My co-workers were helpful and supportive.

The – more... hardest part of the job was prioritizing which task needed to be completed first.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the feeling of satisfaction after successfully completing an arduous assignment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and laid back setting
Student Employee (Former Employee), Columbia, SCJanuary 7, 2014
As a student employee I was able to communicate with University staff, students, and visitors. I enjoyed this work very much. I was required to answer phones, deliver mail, and handle other administrative paper work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Allendale, SCDecember 29, 2013
Pros: dedication
great company
set schedule
excellent people person skills
very kind
hard work pays off at this company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN WORK PLACE
Assistant Shuttle Operations Coordinator (Current Employee), Columbia, SCDecember 4, 2013
WE ALL WORK TOGETHER AS A TEAM TO GET THE JOB DONE.
I'VE LEARN HOW TO COMMUNICATE, COMPUTERS ALL CLERICAL STUFF. SOMETIMES HARD TO WORK WITH BUT I MANAGE IT AND GET MY JOB DONE.MY CO-WORKERS ARE VERY EASY TO WORK WITH WE ALL GET ALONG. FINDING DRIVERS TO FILL MY TRIPS. GETTING TO KNOW NEW PEOPLE THE ONES THAT REQUEST OUR BUSES FOR TRIPS.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Projects assigned during curriculam
Projects (Former Employee), Columbia, SCOctober 23, 2013
Had to project with team members. Lot was learned using the software to design the dry cask for storage of spent fuel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational institution with talented people and professional environment
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), Columbia, SCOctober 9, 2013
The teachers and administration in the School of Music are generally personable and helpful.
My time of instruction and assistance there received much helpful support and guidance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starter job
Digital Darkroom Technician (Former Employee), Beaufort, SCOctober 6, 2013
Pros: up-to-date equipment
Cons: not always populated
A typical day at work consisted of helping people with more than just how navigate the programs, it also consisted of collaborating to help in the design process of their work. It was a great experience to be able to work with people and learn more about what sparks creativity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Priductive and fun workplace
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), Columbia, SCSeptember 27, 2013
Power electronics group at USC is very active and productive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning experience
Assistive Technologist (Former Employee), Aiken, SCSeptember 3, 2013
Meet a lot of useful people that can help you along the way. They are always there to help one as needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate Student
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Columbia, SCAugust 15, 2013
Good job atmosphere, pushed hard to publish papers. Worked about 55 hours a week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work in a close knit atmosphere
Math Tutor (Current Employee), Columbia, SCAugust 13, 2013
Tutor high school students in various math subjects. Great to be a counselor to the students and give them that extra push and along with helpful advice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good circumstances to work!
Linguistics Research Assistant (Former Employee), Columbia, SCAugust 11, 2013
Pros: good people and management comfortable for employees.
Cons: a little low payment!
There are many open minded people in working with. I enjoyed working with them at this school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trademark and Licensing
Student Assistant (Former Employee), Columbia, SCJuly 1, 2013
Approved and disapproved any product with any University of South Carolina logo or verbiage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Data entry
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee), Columbia, SCMay 13, 2013
Pros: paid every week
Cons: too many lay offs
surveying over the phone for different research things such as DHEC and SCDOT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and intersting job with amazing co workers
Student Worker (Former Employee), Columbia, SCMay 13, 2013
At the University of South Carolina Moving Image Research Collections, I performed two jobs. I identified, inspected, and repaired film reels, and I recorded information on the content of the films and created records for each item. I also performed Colorist duties which included transferring and capturing film to digital formats, building timelines – more... using video editing software, and creating access copies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning opportunities
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Columbia, SCMay 2, 2013
Great learning, a lot of work for the compensation.
In touch with great professors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this was a nice place to work.
Custodial worker (Former Employee), Columbia, SCApril 22, 2013
Cons: short breaks
the job wasn't hard at all once u got use to everything in all your buildings. it was like a piece of cake. loved the environment as well, my co-workers were pretty cool people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and productive place
Statistics consultant (Current Employee), Columbia, SCApril 11, 2013
I took a comprehensive range of courses in my last three years and now I am working on dissertation research. Those courses laid a solid foundation for knowledge in both theoretical and many application fields, especially biomedical sciences. My research trained me to learn by myself and to innovate upon existing methodologies. Besides research and – more... study, I enjoy my job: teach Statistics class and cooperate with researchers in the consultant lab. The hardest part of my experience here is research and yet fruitful as it turned out. Overall, I appreciate the much experience I have acquired here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and research orientated environement
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Columbia, SCApril 9, 2013
- Great opportunities to work as a independent researcher.
- team working environment.
- Professional and good management