Find companies:
University of South Carolina
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
74 reviews

University of South Carolina Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to study and experience.
Graphic Designer and writer (Former Employee), Columbia, SCSeptember 11, 2012
I love the university and professors and staff are friendly and accessible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Senior Financial Aid Assistant (Former Employee), Lancaster, SCJune 20, 2012
Pros: everything
Wonderful people to work for and work with. Very understanding. A typical day at work was helping many students with their financial aid to attend college. There really wasn't anything hard about this job and everything was enjoyable.....well, with the exception of filing for 1600 students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment
Peer Counselor (Former Employee), Columbia, SCMay 12, 2012
Supervisor allowed leeway in how we handled job duties. Learned how to handle difficult students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challanging place to work
Director of Columbia's Cooking! (Current Employee), Columbia, SCApril 4, 2012
Pros: the work is very enjoyable
Cons: no opportunity for pay raise, no advancement with in the department, work load is out of balance, basic administrative support is lacking, no goal setting or reviews with management
Duties vary from teaching nutritionally focused culinary classes to research on the link between diet and health. Working with students to expose them to the feild of dietetics is very rewarding. Research into health benefits of foods as it relates to cancer and chronic disease prevention is fascinating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USC-COP PharmD.
student (Former Employee), columbia, scMarch 8, 2012
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
I enjoyed my time at the University of South Carolina College of Pharmacy as well as my pre-Pharmacy program years. It has made me the pharmacist and man that I am today.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Adjunct Faculty (Current Employee), Columbia, SCMarch 7, 2012
I've been an adjunct faculty member at USC's School of Journalism twice and have enjoyed it very much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working with the students everyday.
Director (Former Employee), South CarolinaFebruary 16, 2012
Pros: loved working with the students.
Cons: anything differnet was not fully accepted.
Wonderful four year college, Somewhat negitive vibes when you are considered different by the employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great university to work in
Postdoctoral research associate (Current Employee), Norman, OKJanuary 30, 2012
I love to work in this university, and Norman is a great place to stay in. Very peaceful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience.
Supplemental Instruction (Former Employee), Columbia SCJanuary 11, 2012
Pros: flexible schedule, personally rewarding.
I was able to share my knowledge of business calc with students who were struggling in the class. It provided me a great chance to lead a classroom of students and better understand how each student learns.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good with right people
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Columbia, SCDecember 14, 2011
Find the right people to work with and you will have a great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Infrastructure and mentorship
Graduate Instructional Assistant (Former Employee), Columbia, SCApril 10, 2014
Serving as the Graduate Instructional Assistant was an enriching experience for me. I learned a lot about teaching, lab management, curriculum design, exam conduct and student management. I was under a very capable management and mentorship. The working hours were manageable. My co-workers were very helpful and I enjoyed a friendly environment. The – more... hardest part of the job was preparation of the lab classes. I really enjoyed teaching the students and helping them with their studies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State Government
Fiscal Analyst I/Accountant (Current Employee), Columbia, SCJanuary 25, 2013
Pros: great flexibility
Cons: low pay
I love the flexibility but it is government and the opportunity for advancement is not great unless you totally change jobs. They do not give too many raises either.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
PhD candidate (Former Employee), Columbia SCSeptember 27, 2012
Great management, and high level research

Great location with nice weather.