Find companies:
University of South Carolina
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
77 reviews

University of South Carolina Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great University!
Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee), Columbia, SCOctober 12, 2012
Worked in a lab. I learned lab techniques and organization. Management was instrumental in my career development. Co-workers were nice. The hardest part was finding time to study. The most enjoyable part was sampling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportuntites
Career Peer Educator (Current Employee), Columbia, SCOctober 11, 2012
The opportunites presented to me through the University have been substantial. I am able to hear about plenty of job opportunties and go forth to achieve them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting work environment with excellent co-workers.
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Columbia, SCOctober 8, 2012
My job as research assistant has allowed me to work on a variety of economic reports ranging from impact analysis on a local business incubator to a study on the clean energy industry in South Carolina. It has also allowed me to gain valuable experience using statistical analysis packages such as IMPLAN and STATA.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
PhD candidate (Former Employee), Columbia SCSeptember 27, 2012
Great management, and high level research

Great location with nice weather.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peer Tutor while attending college full-time
Accounting Peer Tutor (Former Employee), Bluffton, SCSeptember 16, 2012
Pros: flexible work schedule, flexible hours, great manager, great people, great learning experience, great for full-time college students
Cons: challenge to appeal to everyone who needs your help
I helped students achieve academic excellence in accounting courses. I developed so many great skills that have helped me in my professional career, such as presentation skills, public speaking, learning to adapt your approach to different types of learners, and managing time. The manager was awesome and really encouraged all the tutor to focus on their – more... studies first, their wellness second, and the students they tutor third. My co-workers were mostly full-time college students. I enjoy teaching others and helping them achieve academic success, plus I tutored a subject area I love, accounting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to study and experience.
Graphic Designer and writer (Former Employee), Columbia, SCSeptember 11, 2012
I love the university and professors and staff are friendly and accessible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Senior Financial Aid Assistant (Former Employee), Lancaster, SCJune 20, 2012
Pros: everything
Wonderful people to work for and work with. Very understanding. A typical day at work was helping many students with their financial aid to attend college. There really wasn't anything hard about this job and everything was enjoyable.....well, with the exception of filing for 1600 students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment
Peer Counselor (Former Employee), Columbia, SCMay 12, 2012
Supervisor allowed leeway in how we handled job duties. Learned how to handle difficult students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challanging place to work
Director of Columbia's Cooking! (Current Employee), Columbia, SCApril 4, 2012
Pros: the work is very enjoyable
Cons: no opportunity for pay raise, no advancement with in the department, work load is out of balance, basic administrative support is lacking, no goal setting or reviews with management
Duties vary from teaching nutritionally focused culinary classes to research on the link between diet and health. Working with students to expose them to the feild of dietetics is very rewarding. Research into health benefits of foods as it relates to cancer and chronic disease prevention is fascinating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USC-COP PharmD.
student (Former Employee), columbia, scMarch 8, 2012
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
I enjoyed my time at the University of South Carolina College of Pharmacy as well as my pre-Pharmacy program years. It has made me the pharmacist and man that I am today.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Adjunct Faculty (Current Employee), Columbia, SCMarch 7, 2012
I've been an adjunct faculty member at USC's School of Journalism twice and have enjoyed it very much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working with the students everyday.
Director (Former Employee), South CarolinaFebruary 16, 2012
Pros: loved working with the students.
Cons: anything differnet was not fully accepted.
Wonderful four year college, Somewhat negitive vibes when you are considered different by the employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great university to work in
Postdoctoral research associate (Current Employee), Norman, OKJanuary 30, 2012
I love to work in this university, and Norman is a great place to stay in. Very peaceful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience.
Supplemental Instruction (Former Employee), Columbia SCJanuary 11, 2012
Pros: flexible schedule, personally rewarding.
I was able to share my knowledge of business calc with students who were struggling in the class. It provided me a great chance to lead a classroom of students and better understand how each student learns.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good with right people
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Columbia, SCDecember 14, 2011
Find the right people to work with and you will have a great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to learn
Data Analyst (Current Employee), Capital City StatisticsJuly 2, 2014
Continued opportunities to learn and work on a wide range of projects.