Find companies:
University of South Dakota
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10 reviews

University of South Dakota Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Research Focus
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee), Sioux Falls, SDFebruary 18, 2014
The GEAR Center with USD is where research happens. The environment allows students to flourish in their research.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun work environment, but can be a lot of work
Community Advisor (Former Employee), Vermillion, SDJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: learn and experience a lot, meal and housing plan
Cons: exhausting, low pay
This is a great job for developing a lot of skills, especially social.

A CA is in charge of an entire floor of residence hall students with a co-CA.

This job usually involves getting students involved in their campus and helping them form relationships with other students. The job also includes things like enforcing discipline with the no drinking – more... policy and helping prevent suicide and overdoses.

This job can teach someone a lot. This is a great work experience, but can be very taxing over time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for we are a family
Custodial Worker/Crew Leader (Former Employee), Vermillion, SDSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: pay was good, vacation and sick leave builds quickly and all the holidays
Cons: expensive health coverage for the family
a great amount of cleaning area to get done
a routine made it much more time efficient
my coworkers were a lot like a family, worked well together and did a lot of group projects
summer camps were the toughest only because there are several back to back camps and all rooms must be cleaned before new camp moves in and getting 600/1220 rooms done in one – more... day with 10 custodians makes it difficult yet always got them done
best part were the students, each year you get to meet new students who are exciting young adults out on there own for the first time. watching them grow through there 4 years of college how they have changed and grown into the great people they are. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Academic Advising Intern (Former Employee), Vermillion, SdSeptember 7, 2013
I had the opportunity to make an impact while also learning a lot about the various dynamics of higher education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worst places I've ever worked.
Sr. Building Maintenance Worker (Former Employee), Vermillion, SDAugust 7, 2013
Pros: campus itself is nice place to work.
Cons: management doesn't care about how they treat staff.
I worked in Facilities Management in the HVAC shop. The people I worked with were good at what they did, but had no support from upper management. We were treated like a commodity (If you don't like it, we'll hire somebody else). I got terminated because they said I didn't fulfill the terms of a Work Improvement Program that was not handled properly – more... even by their own rules. I was originally put on the program because I had an accident and hurt my shoulder. It was supposed to be for 30 days in which the supervisor was supposed to meet with me once a week and evaluate my progress. The supervisor that put me on it quit and it was several months before a new supervisor was hired during which nothing was done on the WIP. When they hired a new supervisor he resumed the WIP and we met every week as required, and he reported that I was doing well, until the last week when he told me that I failed the WIP and my employment was terminated. Everyone I met with in an appeal seemed to have reservations about the termination, but I was fired anyway. This told me that they had orders from upper management to cut back and this was their way of doing it. Even the State of
South Dakota agreed when they granted me Unemployment Benefits because in their judgment, I was terminated without cause. After my termination, 3 other members of the shop quit because they got tired of all the upper management manipulation of our jobs. Unless upper management is changed this is a lousy place to work. No loyalty to staff! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tutoring great while in school
Personal Tutor in Disability Services (Former Employee), Vermillion, SDJune 23, 2013
Pros: flexible
Tutoring is a great way to earn money at the university and still be able to focus on classes. It can be difficult because not everyone is able to relate to other students and earn their respect. Tutoring is especially rewarding when students succeed and that is probably the best part of working with students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
Assistant Strength and Conditioning Coach (Former Employee), Vermillion, SDJune 17, 2013
Great Team of people. Diverse. Employers and Supervisors are very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate school: Hard work, indentured servitude, exciting research
Lab Lead, Human Computer Interaction Lab (Current Employee), Vermillion, SDAugust 30, 2012
Pros: near total independence
Cons: no pay
Highly independent. No time clock, no set hours, no supervisor. Requires high levels of self motivation and time management.

A typical day may include some or all of the following: 10 to 14 hours of literature review. Carpentry. Impromptu lectures in front of up to 100 undergraduate students. Computer programing. Supervision of junior research partners. – more... Public defense of research findings. Knowledge of wine making.

Management is knowledgeable and helpful becoming intentionally less involved as research progress in order to foster independence in graduate students.

Co-workers (fellow graduate students) are highly motivated and enthusiastic about their work.

The most difficult part of being a graduate student is motivation. Projects are often so massive that it seems like they will never reach completion.

The most enjoyable part of graduate school is the research. Few things are more rewarding than seeing a research project to its conclusion or seeing a research paradigm you designed in action. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Desk Work!
Desk Worker (Former Employee), Vermillion, SDAugust 2, 2012
It was a decent job with decent management. Management changes each semester though, and that can provide for a ever-changing problem.